We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - would recommend.”
Review of B&B Kastel 1700

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
B&B Kastel 1700
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location - would recommend.”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed in one of the private suites for two nights. Location couldn't have been better, right in the heart of the picturesque city centre.

Staff were super friendly and helpful, and the room was furnished to a high spec. Was advertised with WiFi, which wasn't available in the suite, but it's possible to connect to the city-wide WiFi from the room anyway. Could have done was a few more creature comforts like milk, too, given the price. Otherwise, great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fruitandnutcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    116
    42
    10
    3
See reviews for
32
107
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Lovely little hotel in an absolutely perfect location. I had a really nice smart room, which was really quiet despite overlooking the square (double glazed windows and good air con). I felt really safe there as a lone female traveller and the staff were really friendly - including the lady at reception offering to carry my suitcase up the four flights of stairs because I'd done my back in! Breakfast was simple, but overall I was really happy with my stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkapeBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Love this hotel. Staff is friendly, location is perfect. Inside was very clean and up to date. Noise was not even a problem, as some others have stated (but we did have a 4th floor room). No elevator.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KNDLafayette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Fifteen minute walk to the bus station area (not really a bus station in the classic sense; more of a series of kiosks associated with each of the various and numerous bus companies) and the ferry docks, B&B Villa Kastel is just off the promenade and right up against the old walled City. We had a corner view room (of an adjacent plaza and to the promenade); one queen bed and one single for the 3 of us. The roomiest room of the entire trip. Good beds, reasonably quiet, effective air conditioning (it was in the 90s outside F). Lots of closeby dining options. They arranged a cab for us for the next morning's trip to the airport; about a 3 minute walk to the nearest street where vehicles are allowed. All in all, a good deal and recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CK2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I stayed here with my friend for three nights having come from debrovnik where we had a wonderful apartment. B&B Kastel was disappointing on a number of levels. We booked in may 2011 and requested separate beds. We were offered a room with seaview and required to pay for an extra bed. They charged extra for the seaview ( a vague view of some water), extra for the bed (even though they kept suggesting that there were three people in the room and there are twin rooms) and a bathroom with a faulty toilet and shower. When we went to pay that charge an extra 10% for using credit card and each person on reception was surly. I would definitely look for an alternative in split at this price! Very disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Campariandsoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 4-5 days. Kastel is located right on the waterfront in the old city a short walk from Split airport's shuttle-bus drop-off point.
We were given a small room with a sloping floor and a tiny double bed 3 flights of stairs above reception - having booked nearly a year before. We were offered a proper room after the first shocking night, more spacious with a proper width bed and a small kitchenette, which suited our needs properly. The view of the harbour was great, but Friday night thumping techno music* even through double-glazed windows kept us awake till 2am next morning. The room had airconditioning. Our room rate included a good breakfast, and wireless internet was provided, but was unreliable at the time - only one staff member knew how to restart the modem. We enjoyed our stay in Split and Kastel's location in other respects was very good.

* When I complained to the cafe on the Riva about the loud music (nothing to do with Kastel by the way), the cafe manager said; "We have a licence. Come in winter if you want to sleep." So I'd recommend asking the Kastel people at booking time for a quiet room, perhaps facing away from the Riva so you can get a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you value sleep after a busy sight-seeing day.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gragra_downunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We prebooked triple room for July 2011 (€130.00 according to price table on they're website). We needed a good sleep after crossing all Italy by train the day before and when arrived at hotel receptionist advised that room is available but third bed will be placed later when available. So our friend slept on blankets on the floor until they brought foldable bed few hours later. Air conditioning was hardly cooling the air and pillows were rock hard. We were to tired to say anything and we booked on budget so didn't expect luxury. On check out a different receptionist told us that the price is €136 and extra bed €27. Total €163! total rip off in non Euro zone. Don't stay there! There are a lot of other hotels and private apartments offered by locals near ferry port. Enjoy Split!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unhappyexperienc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Slavija
Hotel Slavija
#13 of 55 in Split
352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Apartment Hotel
Garden Apartment Hotel
#23 of 55 in Split
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartments Gajeta
Apartments Gajeta
#20 of 55 in Split
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vestibul Palace
Hotel Vestibul Palace
#15 of 55 in Split
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Split Apartments - Peric Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Kastel 1700? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Kastel 1700

Property: B&B Kastel 1700
Address: Mihovilova Shirina 5, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Kastel 1700 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B&B Villa Kastel 1700 is located in Split top center at the most attractive location in town, southern part of 1700 years old Diocletian's palace with beautiful sea view, islands and the medieval square. Outstanding location, affordable prices and the thirty years old tradition will make your stay safe and pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your B&B Kastel 1700 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bed And Breakfast Villa Kastel 1700
Kastel Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing