We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”
Review of B&B Kastel 1700

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
B&B Kastel 1700
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
kastela
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The best sea view room on our honeymoon trip!room was very nice, clean and big.Staff so friendly and nice, always with the smile on the faces.breakfast also very good,price was also excelent, we had 10% discount on cash payment,location the best in this city!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank namovas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    118
    45
    10
    3
See reviews for
34
109
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Loved this hotel in a great location in the old town close to everything and especially the port where our boat was leaving from. Was impressed when we received an email a few weeks before our departure offering pick up from the airport at a fee but worth it after a 30 hour flight we just wanted to get to the hotel. The rooms were very clean, windows were double glazed so you could not hear the noise from the Riva and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Depending on where your room is located there can be a lot of stairs. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth the extra money, there are a lot of stairs if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sueher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The desk staff was extremely helpful and had maps of Split ready for pointing out the sites we were trying to find. There is a laundry within close walking distance, near the church (the desk staff can show you on the map). There are no elevators but they put is in a first floor room so we only had to drag luggage up one flight of stairs (the flight that goes to the front door of the B&B). The room was comfortable and pretty big - roomy enough for three adults (family). Located right off a main gate and overlooks the Riva (main promenade) and harbor. It gets noisy at night. The windows shut out much of it but there are a lot of revelers on the squares. Excellent location though! 10% discount for cash (in Euros preferred but can also be in Kuna) - the desk staffer also helped us set up a ride to the airport through the hotel for 35 euro - sure beat trying to get a cab at 5am and the driver was very nice!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This B&B is really all about location. You can't get any closer to Diocletian's Palace than this. Our room overlooked the Riva and the sea, but was surprisingly quiet with the windows shut. Walk out the door, and you are in the heart of the old town.

The staff was friendly, breakfast was typical (nothing hot) European style breakfast, but good. The rooms were average sized, but on the low end as far as furnishings go. If you are looking for 4 star accomodations, this probably isn't the right place. But if you are looking for an affordable, clean B&B steps away from all the action, then check them out!

Room Tip: The entrance can be hard to find, since it's not on the Riva (promenade). You have to go around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveler9076127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had a triple room right on the reception floor and had a great view of the promenade and sea. Not next to the reception counter but directly across from it and down a step or two. The only sound we heard was life from the promedade (giant cafe outside with relaxing people) and the ocean. I was so happy with my choice! The check in is a little confusing - you have to walk to the back. The entire building has B&B Kastel rooms so you have to find the right steps up.
Also there is no taxi to the room becuase it is in old town. Not an issue - the streets are easy to navigate but just know if you have luggage, you will be toting. Did not eat the hotel breakfast - it seemed a little pricey compared to what was available at the cafe outside.

We took a late ferry out of Split and they graciously kept our bags and even took the small bottle of wine we left in our frig out and placed it with our luggage.

I would easily stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Great location right in the heart of Split. Step out the front door and restaurants and sights are right there. Staff are very helpful. Breakfast has variety and is served in a lovely room. No elevators, and the best rooms are three flights up. Rooms are on the small side but very comfy. Would definitely return to this B&B.

Room Tip: Sorry, there is no fitness center, but can't delete rating. Ask for a sea view room as it is wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pgholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at Villa Kastel for two nights. We had a great view from our room of the sea and the promenade. The room was nice and spacious and clean and tidy. We left our bags at reception and just took what we needed upstairs. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was centrally located and a close to everything. The shutters and double-glazed windows were great to shut out all the noise/light of the busy promenade below.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Slavija
Hotel Slavija
#13 of 55 in Split
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Apartment Hotel
Garden Apartment Hotel
#23 of 55 in Split
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marmont Hotel Heritage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Peristil
Hotel Peristil
#15 of 55 in Split
418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vestibul Palace
Hotel Vestibul Palace
#17 of 55 in Split
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Kastel 1700? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Kastel 1700

Property: B&B Kastel 1700
Address: Mihovilova Shirina 5, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Kastel 1700 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B&B Villa Kastel 1700 is located in Split top center at the most attractive location in town, southern part of 1700 years old Diocletian's palace with beautiful sea view, islands and the medieval square. Outstanding location, affordable prices and the thirty years old tradition will make your stay safe and pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your B&B Kastel 1700 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bed And Breakfast Villa Kastel 1700
Kastel Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing