We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised by others' bad reviews.”
Review of Villa Varos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Varos
Ranked #24 of 195 Split B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 August 2009

We recently stayed at Villa Varos and are quite surprised by some of the bad reviews we've seen on here. Our only problem was it was quite hard to find if driving (but that was mainly down to poor maps).

The location (despite our difficulty in finding it) is ideal: Villa Varos is in a quaint back street in a picturesque residential area, away from the tourist hub, but still only a few minutes' walk from the delightful Diocletian's Palace area of the city.

Our room was basic but quiet, clean and spacious. The staff were friendly and helpful, even if not proactively so. The girl at reception, for example, did call our next destination for us to confirm our booking.

We would definitely stay here if ever we were to pass through Split again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2009

I really feel that I have to defend the Villa Varos, particularly from the most recent review.

Yes, the hotel and surrounding area are a little bit noisy. We were on the second floor so we didn't have any noise from above but could hear other guests on the landing, doors closing etc. We couldn not hear guests in other rooms however and there was practically no noise from outside. Yes, you are very close to your neighbours (this is a working city after all, not a tourist resort), but we weren't overly bothered by their noise, and enjoyed listening to someone nearby practising piano! It was really atmospheric. The air-con is the only way you would be able to stay cool anyway, as the air outside is hot, and I think that locals are more than entitled to 'yap all night' if they choose to do so!

The television in our room worked perfectly well but to be honest we hardly watched it - we were on holiday after all! And the bathroom was spotless with soft towels.Showers in Europe tend to be hand held, unlike ours at head height so you just have to adapt. The only minor criticism I would have is that the hot water doesn't last very long, but it was enough for 2 of us to have a decent-length shower.

The member of staff we met (I think her name was Antonia) was one of the friendliest Croatians we met and couldn't have been more helpful, before and during our stay. Yes, Croatians can come across at first as quite blunt but I don't see the problem with that - Brits aren't always the most friendly either!
Overall, I WOULD recommend Villa Varos. It was clean, spacious, in a great location, had nice staff and has really good restaurants nearby, as well as being barely 10 mins from Diocletian's Palace and around 20 minutes from the ferry port. Yes, there are some minor gripes but that's all they are and it's pretty good value for money.

We loved it and can't wait to visit Split again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic7510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We stayed at the Villa Varos for 5 days during a very hot July, from the start of my initial enquiry it seemed to take a while to receive booking confirmation and the reservation, the place is run by an american woman, who is married to a croat, the villa itself is ok, in a what seemed at first to be a quiet typical croation backstreet, but dont let that fool you! this place is very very noisy and if you want to sleep, then choose somewhere else - really

The neighbours are literally less than an arms length on each side of the villa, and they are very noisy, being so hot, it is better to keep the windows shut and use the air con to keep cool whilkst trying to sleep, this at least drowns out the constant noise of the locals yapping away all night and morning, although you then have the constant noise of the A/C - so a no win situation

it is also worth noting, that we asked for Champagne on arrival (they took this as a hint that we were on a honeymoon - althoug we were not), I would certainly not stay in a 3 star place if on my honeymoon- what planet are these people on) whilst they gave us a complimentary bottle of wine (thanks), there were no glasses, nothing to open it with, no fridge to store it, and even when we eventually got glasses, we had to wash them out ourselves - plain lazy

The TV in the room, was of no good quality, only had 1 working channel, but even after that no volume and most channels are scrambled on the sat dish - so useless really

There is no breakfast inc at the Villa Varos, as you can see from some other reviews on here, you have to go to "Leut" - a cafe down the road and pay for it and its rubbish!, although you do get a discount, by the time you have had cofeee and OJ (extra) to make up for the rubbish you would be better of just choosing anywhere else in the town and perhaps having better quality food - Black Cat Bistro is the best place for brekky by the way!

I have taken the time and effort to learn croation/serbian phrases and find the croats are a very blunt nation, the woman who met us a reception on arrival was very blunt and did not really welcome us in the slightest, i found this strange as she was enquiring about our booking and it seemed that Joanne had not passed on info of our reservation to her staff, very slack indeed, in fact the whole place is just dam lazy! Faulty Towers springs to mind and I might send them a copy of how NOT to run an hotel or B&B

In our room, we also discovered a broken toilet seat, loose doorknob, hard bath and hand towels, a shower with the head at knee height (all the rooms had the shower like this) and I cant think of why, except disabled access, but then you would not get someone with disabilities up the stairs in the first place, conclusion, the place is run by midgets?

Villa Varos - more like "vile various" due to the problems here! you would be mad to stay here, I have stayed at better hostels and the service really sucks!

it is very unlikely that we will stay here again, if you are a student, then this might be ok for you, but other than that - forget it

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
4  Thank timfisher27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

The location is good (although should I go back to Split I would look to stay at the other end of the Riva - although this wasn't a big issue), it's only a couple of minutes walk to the start of the Riva and about 15 minutes to the ferry terminals, the nearest beach Bracvice is about 20 minutes.

The villa is up a rather dirty alleyway in the Varos district, and is the noisest hotel I have ever stayed in! You can hear everything from the people in the room next door to people walking (or in our case) stamping on the floor above. We were up early so it didn't really bother us but we were greeted most morning by guests shouting at other guests to keep the noise down! The rooms were clean, but are very small, although the bathrooms are fairly large. We only had one small window, which didn't lock and could have done with a shutter to keep the light out in the early morning.

They don't do breakfast, but recommend a cafe a couple of minutes away were they give a discount if you are staying at the villa. We went the first morning, but the breakfast was terrible, there are plenty of other places where you can get breakfast for not much money that I would assume is edible so I would avoid this place.

We don't spend much time in our rooms so it was ok, but in all honesty I wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rh1576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

If you want a good night sleep DO NOT stay here. Entering the reception we were greeted by a young girl who seemed confused with our reservation, we also requested champagne in our room on arrival we got a bottle of red instead! She advised us of a beach to use near the town which turned out to be the worst dirtiest beach on the planet, glad we didn’t ask her opinion on restaurants!

The building is very noisy, wooden floors and concrete walls you can almost hear every movement from other guests, and the neighbours are just a stones throw away and they like to get up early. The rooms are very basic, an old TV that didn’t work properly, sachets of shampoo etc..which looked like freebies from a magazine, the toilet seat moved when you sat on it, the hot water was scolding, so be warned while taking a shower, the air condition unit was noisy so couldn’t be left on through the night.

For the whole duration we were woken up between 6-7 every morning making us tired and groggy, which is the last thing you want whilst on holiday. What with the cleaner, the delivery of fresh linen being dumped which seemed from a great height and the slamming of doors. My partner did complain to the owners who in return basically said go some where else. No apology or want of feed back to help the situation, the last thing we wanted to do was spend our holiday looking for somewhere else and re-packing. So we tried to get on with our days forgetting about the lack of sleep and the dire hotel. O and breakfast is at a cheap café where you are given discount we only ate there the once!

When we went to pay, we had to wait while the son of the owner (who never smiled and didn’t seem to give two monkeys about the way he was with guests) showed another couple to their room, leaving the reception door wide open which leads to the street, and all passports from guests within easy reach in their pigeon holes, this is where they were kept for the duration of our stay, why they didn’t just photo copy them like most hotels or even put them into a safe? And what with a sign saying the hotel is not responsible for any loss or damages, I wonder what they would have done if our passports went astray?

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manderiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Villa Varos is in a perfect position, near to most of what you want to see in Split, but without street noise. We stayed in an upstairs room, after reading some other reviews saying that the downstairs ones were too close to reception - and it was fine. The room was basic, but has everything you need. The bathroom was great - clean and modern.

The staff were particularly worthy of note, being all friendly and informative. We also had to adjust our booking length whilst staying there, and they were more than happy to help us.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edinburghopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

The Villa Varon is just outside the old town, a short walk down a small alleyway. The room was very clean and of modern decor. We were in room1 which is on the ground floor (as is room 2) and is right next to reception so you can hear every word while they are on the phone,etc. it also had only one window which looked onto a brick wall! The rooms were lovely with nice bathrooms and a short walk from town but I would recommend asking for an upper floor.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerry9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.2 mi away
B&B Kastel 1700
B&B Kastel 1700
#27 of 56 in Split
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique St.Luke Residence
0.0 mi away
Zephyrus Boutique Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peruzovic Rooms & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Guesthouse Villa Scalaria
0.1 mi away
Split Inn Apartments
Split Inn Apartments
#12 of 507 in Split
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Varos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Varos

Address: Ulica Miljenka Smoje 1, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Split
Price Range: £58 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Varos 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our villa is located just a minutes walk from the city center. In the area you have an array of local restaurants which offer all kinds of menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Villa Varos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Varos Hotel Split
Varos Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing