We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very helpful host” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BASE Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BASE Rooms
Ranked #30 of 164 Split B&B and Inns
Maple Ridge, B.C.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“very helpful host”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We had a great experience during our 3 day stay here in Split. the room was comfortable, the price was very good and the location excellent. One of the best things about our stay here was the extremely kind and thoughtful host, Ivo. I had left something valuable behind in our Sobe in Korcula. Ivo phoned our host in Korcula (LENNI and Pero of Apartment LENNI) and arranged for the item to be sent via the ferry to Split. Ivo picked it up for me the next morning. What service!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    43
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
73
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
byangum
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

ivo and daughter tina were great hosts. most helpful with suggestions re sightseeing and eating places. room was excellent- clean and comfortable. air con a bonus. within diocletian's palace it was a buzz being so central. having caught the o'night train from budapest a 10 minute walk from the station was no drama. tip- go through the market stalls ( a pathway there) to the central gate on the eastern wall as this will save stair fatigue with baggage ( one will encounter such fatigue if one enters from the southern or port side gate) . great hosts and great place. regards chris and jane.

Room Tip: first floor room is best for luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

In making our reservations, they first said one price then gave us another. When challenged, they admitted the lower price. Its a gift shop with rooms above. When we checked in, admittedly we were very tired and paid the amount they told us in cash. Later, we realized that they had overcharged us by 40 euro. Also the room was dirty, mold in the shower and the heat did not work. We were freezing. We tried emailing them about the lack of heat and the money issue, we got no response. Rather than freeze all night we went to another hotel. So glad we did. Continued to send emails, and walk by the place (also a gift shop on the main floor, which was closed the entire time) with no response over the next 2 days. Our final attempt to contact them,we actually ran into the owner on the street. He was very very surprised to see us as we had told him we were leaving early. He admitted the money issue as soon as we brought it up. But would not refund the first nights cost. He said we should have called him from the bar next door. How should we have known that. Very disappointed. Rick Steve's recommendations have never disappointed, but this was horrible.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, B.C.
Level Contributor
183 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We rented the top floor room which put us above the street noise for this location. This is a great location if you want to live right in the heart of Diocletian's Palace. It is next to the Temple of Jupiter so many tour groups frequent the front of the hotel on the street, below the room windows. You can lean out and listen in to the tours. The owner was extremely helpful and will give you directions to free parking, a big plus near the center of Split. The room was very clean and internet was provided. The double pain windows when closed helped with the noise factor. Except for the noise factor, which was not huge I would give this hotel a 4 1/2 star rating. It is good value; the price was right, with an exceptional host.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor room and book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doreenandneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, BC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We quite liked the Base Rooms located, as they are, in the heart of the Diocletian Palace. The room was more than adequate in size and comfort. They provide both WiFi and a desk top computer in each room. The room is close to bars and restaurants and is next door the Jupiter temple.

The host is a very helpful fellow who also runs the souvenir shop on the ground floor. A wonderful and comfortable stay in Split at a very reasonable cost.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burnabytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

I could not believe our luck to stay at The Base Rooms!! I had no idea where it was actually located. It's literally in the Diocletian Palace! The rooms are lovely and the host, Ivo even more wonderful. Ivo came out to the street to help us with our luggage and ended up driving our car to a parking lot where it was free to leave the car for a couple days. The space of the parking lot was excruciatingly tiny and it seemed a miracle to me that he could drive the car there without knocking it into another one. He parked facing out so it would be easy for us to leave there when it was time to go. The location of the Base Hotel is literally a few steps away from nightly entertainment in the palace square. There was a singer name Dale (Dali) who sang all the songs I loved on the first night - I was absolutely in heaven. The moon was full, the sky dark blue - the cafe was serving drinks to people who were sitting down. It could not have been better. The next morning we ate around the corner from the Base Rooms - 100 feet away - and heard the Acapella singers right there. Another amazing experience. LOVED the Base Rooms - accommodation, hosts and location.

Room Tip: My room was on the top floor. Just perfect with a fridge, computer and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, CO
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this wonderful room right in the Diocletian palace area - attached to the Jupiter temple which is 1700 years old. Ivo is a wonderful host who speaks perfect English - he was a ship's captain who traveled the world. The room was very clean with good Wi Fi but also a desk top computer - nice to be able to see things on a full screen after many days of looking at an I Phone screen! He gave us good information on restaurants in the area and was helpful with directions to all the sites. It is very easy to find - just inside the gates after you pass through the shops in the walk through of the wall. Ivo directed us to a free parking area -a little hard to find- you have to wait until someone pulls out but it was safe here for the time we stayed. The price was about $80 US per night which did not include breakfast. There is a small refrigerator in the room and we did fix breakfast and some lunches in the room to eat along the way. Be sure to visit the Mestrovic museum. It's about a pleasant 25 minute walk but there are also buses. We would definitely recomment the Base Rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveandMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.0 mi away
Heritage Hotel Diocletian
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vestibul Palace
0.1 mi away
Guesthouse Palace Inn
Guesthouse Palace Inn
#27 of 164 in Split
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Banica Accommodation
Banica Accommodation
#4 of 439 in Split
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Varos
Villa Varos
#23 of 164 in Split
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartments Malena
Apartments Malena
#54 of 439 in Split
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BASE Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BASE Rooms

Property: BASE Rooms
Address: Kraj Sv.Ivana 3, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms are situated in the hart of the Diocletian palace just next to 1700 old Jupiter temple, 10 minutes walking distance to the nearest beach.In addition each room has floor heating in the bathroom for winter stay as well as cattle pot in each room. Free parking can be arrange just 5 minutes walking distance from the property.Airport shuttle avaliable on request and price EUR 30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BASE Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Rooms Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing