We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine place to stay in Split”
Review of BASE Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BASE Rooms
Ranked #44 of 186 Split B&B and Inns
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“A fine place to stay in Split”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Location is great. It's within the Diocletian palace next to the Temple of Jupiter and close to the square where lovely music is often performed. Restaurants abound nearby. The owner is very friendly and helpful. He met our taxi in the plaza and helped with luggage and finding the hotel. In all regards he is very helpful and speaks excellent English. The hotel is small, but each of the three rooms has a modern bath, air conditioning, wifi, and television. I like a firm mattress and find the bed most comfortable. On a return to Split I would certainly want to stay here.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    44
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
75
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Very helpful owner, very good location, very nice rooms.
We were a company of six, so we had all three rooms, and sometimes the building to ourselves =)
We stayed her for two nights.
The owner helped us book a transfer to the airport, and it was worth the money not to take the bus.
(350 KN for 6 people with luggage.)

The only thing making us give 4 instead of a 5 is the mattresses & pillows.
They were Ok for a couple of nights, but not more. Needs to be changed in our opinon.
If you have the chance. Avoid the left mattress on the first floor...you can feel some of the springs against your body ; )

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy_from_sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Base Rooms could not have a more memorable location inside the palace walls in Split. It is absolutely worth the experience to stay central here and experience navigating the old palace streets on a daily basis.

Ivo, the owner, came to our rescue late one night when our reserved space was not available. He came right over to let us in and we had a tremendous room on the top floor. It was comfortable and quiet. We also saw him frequently when walking through town. He was always warm, friendly and truly a gracious host. We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kori O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just spent my 7th long weekend staying here over the last 10 years and it was excellent as usual, location is fantastic (down the alley to the left of Luxor and it's on the right beside the temple of Jupiter) the rooms are cozy, and the owners are plesant, accomodating, and leave you to your own devices. Can't imagine wanting to stay anywhere else when I visit Split.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennie_Hero_McCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh,PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This review is way overdue. We stayed at Base Rooms June 2013 and found it to be a perfect location for a short stay before catching a ferry to Hvar. We arrived by bus from Plitvice and the Base Rooms were only short walk past the vendors and through the market in the Palace walls. We had difficulty finding the place but once there we were greeted by the owner who was very friendly and helpful. The room was not large or fancy but it had charm and everything we needed. Being within the Palace walls was wonderful. Shortly after we arrived we heard church bells ringing and townspeople outside our window singing as part of a religious celebration. Beautiful. The owner was a true champ. My daughter left some clothes in the closet and while we were in port on the ferry waiting to depart he ran all the way from the inn onto the boat to deliver the clothes. Now that is service!! You can't beat this location.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bliss8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

These smallish rooms are inside Diocletian's Palace between the Bell Tower and Temple of Jupiter. Due to the labyrinthine nature of the Palace, we struggled to find it the first night, but a quick phone call to the owner, Ivo, quickly helped us locate it. Ivo and his daughter Tina both speak excellent English and were quick to offer suggestions on activities. If we return to Split, we hope to stay in these same rooms again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Can't get better than this location. Base Rooms is just as others have described--central to everything, especially the central Peristill square with nightly music and festivity. Three simple rooms, one to a floor with the 3rd floor a little hike with luggage, 1st floor with charming stone wall. Comfortable bed, modern bath (small shower), even a complimentary computer in each room! Outside noise can be a problem with window open, hit or miss. If you are not real fussy and like a bargain, you can't do better than this, plus pleasant helpful ownership. We were well satisfied. Worth noting, dragging luggage across cobbled walks in this pedestrian only area is a little hastle. At our request, the owner arranged for a small motorized transport of the luggage for all 6 of us on departure--well worth the minimal cost.

Room Tip: First floor has more charm. Third floor a lot of steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetFtMyersFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.0 mi away
Jupiter Heritage Hotel
Jupiter Heritage Hotel
#27 of 55 in Split
320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage Hotel Diocletian
0.1 mi away
B&B Kastel 1700
B&B Kastel 1700
#26 of 55 in Split
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Varos
Villa Varos
#21 of 186 in Split
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banica Accommodation
Banica Accommodation
#1 of 490 in Split
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Split Inn Apartments
Split Inn Apartments
#10 of 490 in Split
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BASE Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BASE Rooms

Property: BASE Rooms
Address: Kraj Sv.Ivana 3, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms are situated in the hart of the Diocletian palace just next to 1700 old Jupiter temple, 10 minutes walking distance to the nearest beach.In addition each room has floor heating in the bathroom for winter stay as well as cattle pot in each room. Free parking can be arrange just 5 minutes walking distance from the property.Airport shuttle avaliable on request and price EUR 30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BASE Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Rooms Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing