We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 Star Price but More Like a 3 Star B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jupiter Heritage Hotel
Ranked #27 of 55 Hotels in Split
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“4 Star Price but More Like a 3 Star B&B”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

First off try finding it, a tiny doorway off a restaurant (that should have been my first alarm bell). Reception is a desk near the front door and you lug your own bags to your room - which I found small and a bit pokey. There are only 3 rooms per floor, 3 stories high, and to me it is a modest bed and breakfast not a hotel.

The major issue - and for this alone I would NEVER EVER stay here again (and certainly not with a partner) - is with the toilet and bathroom combination. In trying to be all modern they stupidly decided that a door would not be needed to the toilet/bathroom - I was luckily travelling alone - I'm not into the idea of having to use the toilet whilst your companion sits a couple of feet away!!!

There is also a major design problem with the bathroom/shower area in that it floods out to the hall everytime you have a shower, so I was constantly putting down towels and dealing with that mess.

Staff (particularly receptionists) were friendly and fairly helpful , it was clean and it was located in the heart of the old Spilt heritage area (Palace of Diocletian). If I had booked this as a three star hotel and paid three star prices it would have been ok - but calling this place a 'luxury' hotel is an absolute stretch.

Room Tip: Ask if your bathroom has a door!! And if you are claustrophic probably don't say on the thir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CzechSkippyMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    109
    40
    27
    20
See reviews for
48
141
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We booked Jupiter at last minute and weren't expecting much. However i was overwhelmed with the service and style for a hotel in this price bracket.

Jupiter's has been recently refurbished and the hotel combines contemporary design with the classic sandstone walls of Split. Our room had a spectacular sandstone wall running down one side. The room was small but very stylish. I loved it.

Five mins after arriving in our room we recieved a knock on the door with a basket of fruit and a couple of ice-teas. I was so impressed and just what we needed.

The hotel staff were really friendly and great to talk to.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dragana e, Manager at Jupiter Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Robbie!

Thank You for Your positive comment! We're very happy to read that our hotel made your vacantion even better than You expected! I'll pass this positive comment of Yours to the rest of the staff!
Wishing You all the best, and hoping one day we'll have an honor to host You again!

Best Regards,
Dragana Eterović
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

Before we came we saw bad rating in some guides but some websites mentioned that the hotel has been totally renewed few month ago. And indeed, we had a nice small room with stone wall and modern setup. The location is perfect In the middle of the historical center close to the port and all the restaurants.

The only drawback was the breakfast. Real coffee and fresh orange juice would make a difference.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissFx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dragana e, Manager at Jupiter Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear TripAdvisor User,

Thank You for Your positive comment!

We're really happy You liked the room, and Yo've enjoyed during Your stay in LH Jupiter!
Also, thank You for showing up on our deficiencies- it means a lot to us. It's easier to improve something whan You know where to start!

I hope You liked Croatian, and I hope You're going to visit us (at least) one more time to check our new, improved breakfast with real coffe and squeezed juice!

Best regards,
Dragana Eterović
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

My friend and I booked this hotel as a treat at the end of a 5 night holiday on Hvar. We were looking forward to a bit of 4 star luxury but ended up disappointed.
The rooms have recently been refurbished and look very clean and modern..... this is where the 4 star quality ends.
Our room was a twin on the top floor and very small. The beds weren't even full singles in size. The TV was fixed on the wall at one end of the room and not visible from either bed unless you crained your neck. Not usually a problem but we were wanting to watch some Olympic highlights! The tiny sofa was facing the door at the other end of the room so no veiw of TV from here either. Very badly thought out room plan.
The other issue with the room was the bathroom.... trying to be all modern and cool they decided that a door would not be needed! Imagine having to use the loo whilst your companion listens!!! We had to ask each other to put in headhones while we went!!!
The bathroom/wetroom also flooded into the bedroom everytime we had a shower as the drainage angle was not steep enough so we had to put towels down and ring them out constantly. Of course we tried to allert reception to get help with this but the reception phone was engaged for the whole duration of our stay. Finally a cleaner came to help us but was very eager to tell us it was not her problem.
I would also like to tell you about the roof top jacuzzi.... ewwwwww it was disgusting. The water was grey and there was a thick line of brown scum all around the sides. We'd booked it for an hour (free of charge before 8pm) but didn't even get in it. Use it at your peril but ask if the water's been changed recently first.
Breakfast was very basic for a 4 star hotel, just cereal, bread chese and ham. No cooked options offered to us which would have been nice.
It wasn't all bad - the receptionists were friendly and fairly helpful (apart from never getting through to them on the phone). It was clean. Location is excellent and we got a 'free' glass of wine and snack on arrival.
If we had booked this as a three star hotel and paid three star price we would have been reasonanly happy (apart from the filthy jacuzzi) but it was a lot of money for us and therefore left us really disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TamTam73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2012

First off all I would like to say a few things about this new hotel...............well I am from Dallas,Texas USA and my friend from Washington D.C. told me about this new hotel in Split.....first I was a little bit sceptic because I read lot s of bad thing about Jupiter but........I WAS WRONG.....man this is somethin beautiful.......old town new hotel.....city center.....rooms everything.......and those girls at the recepcion,uuuuuuuuuuhhhhhhuuuuuuuuuuu.............would like to invite them to my ranch in Texas........smile every morning,smile in the afternoon,smile in the evening.........I felt like at home......and the restaurant......beautiful,tasty,quality.......fish is great.....the chef he is a Emperor in the hotel,,,but those girls they are queens sorry boys in the restaurant but they are something................However, I am not at all sorry that I was here and my recommendation to everyone is .... If you want to be like a drop of water on hand, go to Jupiter Luxury Hotel will not go wrong ...........

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cordell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dragana e, Manager at Jupiter Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Mr. Cordell!

Thank You for Your feedback!

I have to tell You; girls are still talking about You, so we're hopeing You're coming back! :-)

Also, thank You for all the nice things You have written!

Missing You, and sending You sunny and warms Croatian regards!

Hvala!

Dragana Eterović
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Having heard of the renovations this year, we were optimistic and looking forward to a comfortable stay in the centre of Split Old Town. Unfortunately this hotel is punching above its station - the service was awful, none of their facilities were working and there seemed to be a communication break down between th staff who were incapable of helping with anything. Even getting breakfast was a struggle and involved us hunting down our own china and cutlery, plus waiting for half an hour to get any food at all. As for the rooms, they were nice enough but the finish is not great, so I don't expect they will stay looking nice for very long. We stayed for just one night, a blessing in disguise!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank colstar26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dragana e, Manager at Jupiter Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Mr. Colstar,

We are very sorry to read a review like this, especially since we didn’t received any complains from You during Your stay, on the contrary You were satisfied with room and the staff.
I have to tell You, that Your review affected all of LH Jupiter’s staff, because we have tried our bests to make You and all of our other guests, happy during the stay. I guess, sometimes You succeed, sometimes You fail, no matter how hard You try.
Although, when I think about it now, it seems to me that we had some “12,00 € parking issues” which You refuse to pay? Maybe that was a “trigger” to Your dissatisfaction by our hotel?
Nevermind,
I’m sorry again, and I hope that dissappoinment in our hotel didn’t ruin Your vacantion or Your opinion about Croatia.

Best Regards,
Dragana Eterović
LH Jupiter****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lausanne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The hotel was completely remodeled in the summer 2012, we stayed there 3 days, 3 weeks after its reopening.
The hotel is small, and the room was a pleasant surprise (although we had a standard room): modern furnishing, really nice bathroom with jacuzzi, preservation of the old city walls inside most rooms.
The service was simply perfect with a helpful and efficient crew.
The must-do is the rooftop hot tub, with white wine and fruit, very romantic, but reservation is required.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the original city wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dragana e, Manager at Jupiter Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear TripAdvisor User,

Thank You for Your positive feedback!

We are really happy that we managed to make Your stay as nice as You wanted! Also, I have to say, with Your kidness- You made our job much easier! :-)

Thank You again for taking time to write this wonderful comment, it means a lot to us!

I hope You liked Croatia, and I hope we'll meet again at LH Jupiter!

Warm regards,
Dragana Eterović
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.0 mi away
Heritage Hotel Diocletian
0.0 mi away
Hotel Slavija
Hotel Slavija
#10 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vestibul Palace
Hotel Vestibul Palace
#11 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#7 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.4 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Palace Suites Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jupiter Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupiter Heritage Hotel

Property: Jupiter Heritage Hotel
Address: Grabovcheva Shirina 1, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 55 Hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jupiter Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Trip Advisor Users!We are happy to inform You that we opened NEW boutique hotel, named Jupiter Luxory Hotel in May 2012.!Hotel is situated in the heart of Diocletian Palace, in the center of Split- old city.Hotel consist 14 beautiful, tastefull decorated rooms. Standard and Superior rooms are with double / twin bed and walk in shower tub. Deluxe Rooms are with king bed and luxurious bathroom with massage bathtub. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, direct telephone line, LCD set with cable channels, high-speed internet connection, vault, mini bar, and all bathrooms have large fluffy towels, robes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jupiter Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing