We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, a little pricey in $”
Review of Villa Matejuska

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Matejuska
Ranked #63 of 194 Split B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This is a lovely apartment building. The living space is nicely apportioned (or at least was in my one bedroom) the bathroom is small and basic, as it is in most of Europe, but immaculately clean and well stocked. Unlike most 'Apartamenti' this place is cleaned daily, like a hotel, so that was great since we stayed for 3 nights. I booked this place online and didn't really get to survey the prices closer to the main center. I feel like there might have been better places at lower prices with better views. However I have no complaints about the place it self. The apartment was really clean, the view from the window was charming in it's own way and the rooftop was great to enjoy a glass of wine at the end of the night. The Wifi signal was strong and free. The restaurant downstairs is also great. You could buy a cafe and bring it up to the room or a bottle of wine or a snack, which was a nice amenity to have, especially if staying a few days. The owner, his son and all the people who work there were really nice. I'd recommend this place, especially for families and those who want to be a little bit farther away from the madness of the palace and the Riva. For those paying in dollars at around 109 E it was a little pricey for off season, but if being shared by a couple of people it might be OK. There was a day bed in the living room that could have been used by another person.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZeeZee666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Villa Matejuska
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

Great room complete with a tv, kitchenette, air conditioning and a block or two from the main promenade. Clean, comfortable and really friendly staff - I'd highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oconnor_jpoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at Villa Matejuska for 3 nights. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The room we had was lovely, with a small living area, I don't think the photos on their website do it justice. It was clean, with A/C and even though we didn't order breakfast, there was some juice, milk, fuit & yoghurt in the fridge.

The location is really good, right in the heart of Split and is a perfect place to stay for a few days. There was a bit of noise from outside, but that is to be expected considering the location and was never loud enough be intrusive.

The only negative I would give is that they only accept cash payments.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K5689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Very clean, well equiped hotel. It was extremely comfortable place to stay. Staff were friendly but quite. It is situated at the end of the Riva but is centrally located to all the main sites. The building itself was beautiful and in excellant condition. The room had a contintental style breakfast which suited me as I had to be up early in the morning. Strongly recommend you to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmsthe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel for one night. The location was perfect, at the end of the main seaside boulevard. It was very clena and the staff was just great. The building is also beautiful. The only negative thing I can say was the air conditioning. It was there, but at least in our room it was not in the bedroom but in the livingroom area, so it got hot during the night. Also there was some noise. Oming in as our windows were facing the street where the small bar was. But all in all this was just the right place for our short stay.

The hotel was really clean and rooms were big. Breakfest was just some bisquits and tea in our room, so we rather went to the cafe nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidifromfinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this clean and charming inn, in a rooftop room all of wood, with a peaked roof, and balcony area outside with table and chairs, though the balcony was not exclusive to us. The inn is around the corner from a laundrette and a small supermarket, as well as several restaurants, one of them owned by the hotel keepers and one called Sperun, comfortable and with good food. The room had everything we needed. Breakfast comes to the room at exactly the hour it's ordered and includes powdered coffee-sugar-milk, breads, butter, fruit, ham, cheese, and juice drinks. We warmly recommend this if you can climb stairs; there are no rooms on low floors. Google maps mislocates this hotel, so to find the hotel on its small street, starting at the inter-city bus station or the port: Walk across the whole seafront promenade. You'll see a l9th century church, Sv. Frane at the far end. Walk gently uphill on the street on the church's right side. Past the laundrette and food market, turn left . The hotel is halfway down the street. This may be a l0 minute walk, quite easy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Nice Villa very close to old town 5 min walk, but far enough so you don't hear any noises at night. Room was fine and the staff was more than helpful. The owner and staff are very nice people.

Recommended by Rick Steves.

At first, hard to find and parking was almost impossible.

We loved Split. We did a walking tour and ate at a great restaurant, Apetit. We ate there twice it was that good. Went to Hvar for a half day.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerOrangeCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.2 mi away
B&B Kastel 1700
B&B Kastel 1700
#27 of 56 in Split
243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boutique St.Luke Residence
0.1 mi away
Split Inn Apartments
Split Inn Apartments
#10 of 504 in Split
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Varos
Villa Varos
#20 of 194 in Split
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riva Apartments
Riva Apartments
#45 of 504 in Split
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Urbi et Orbi
Villa Urbi et Orbi
#237 of 504 in Split
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Matejuska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Matejuska

Address: Tomica Stine 3, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in Split
Price Range: £59 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Matejuska 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Matejuska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Matejuska Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing