We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”
Review of Villa Matejuska

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Matejuska
Ranked #46 of 195 Split B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Very friendly staff. Great location. We stayed here prior to our cruise on the M S Eden. Little supermarket and the best laundromat just around the corner. As stated in previous reviews there is a bit of noise at night...but you are located in a prime location, so close your lovely shutters and windows, put on the air con and eventually the town goes to sleep. We found a great little bar/ cafe overlooking the harbour where we would sit and have a cold beer, it's located up the steps, left hand side on the way to Marjan hill lookout.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lulutingle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Just checked out of the villa this morning and it was perfect. Wish we could have stayed longer to be honest.

We had a car which we needed parking for when we arrived, and the staff member who was working when we arrived took us to where he had parked, and gave us his parking spot, then helped up with our luggage to the villa. We were on holiday, in a rush to see all we could and everyday when we got back, the bed was made, with fresh towels, and one morning we had left some laundry out in our room to dry and when we got back everything was placed on a clothes line on the shared terrace. They even got us reservations at the restaurant below which was by far the best meal we had had so far while in Croatia.

The location was perfect, just a little outside the popular promenade, but far enough away to help with the noise of the busy tourist section, with two small grocery stores near by to get basic items like milk, bread, water, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backowitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed for 10 nights. The location is fantastic - close to some of the best restaurants in Split but just outside of the busy "old town" centre (5 mins walk).
Not a hotel but basic & clean apartments, and very helpful staff who were regularly available at the reception desk
The rooms have powerful aircon which was much appreciated in 30C+ and a seating area outside each room - which does overlook a local restaurant and the back of other houses but I thought added to the character !
Their own taxi service is recommended - a much better price than airport taxis (and better driving!)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Villa Matejuska is centrally located and has friendly staff but that is all that is positive about this place. It is above a fish restaurant so is smelly and very noisy. The hot water tank was only 5 gallons for 3 adults and was the smallest size we saw in our travels. The bed for one of the adults was the size of a child's cot...not in the least comfortable. Think twice before staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This hotel was great! Feels very much like your staying at a persons apartment. Its just close enough in town that you can walk anywhere in five minutes, but feels slightly removed and tucked away as if your in the residential part of town.

Staff was great, very attentive and informative.**Note, they do not have overnight staff, so if arriving late, call ahead and they will wait up for your arrival. We were greeted warmly at midnight! Rooms were spacious and VERY clean. Bed was perfect, we both had incredible nights sleep. The kitchen was perfect, allowing for a nice glass of wine and some relaxation before we headed out in the evening.

Only issue is that the showers were built for little people. Luckily my friend and I are both quite trim and fit, however I know many people who are only 5-10lbs over weight that wouldn't have fit through the shower door. There was no showing without bumping the shower walls many times.

If I am ever able to visit Split again, I would stay here in a heartbeat. Loved the city and loved the hotel!

Room Tip: Upper floors have direct access to the roof deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed here for four nights in July 2012, and LOVED IT. The rooms were spacious, and beds comfortable. The kitchen was great for us, allowing us to enjoy a glass of wine and some relax before heading out for the evening. it is tucked away from the noise and chaos of late night Split, but close enough where we could walk and enjoy the city whenever we wanted. Perfectly located on a small side street. Staff was excellent, extremely friendly and nice. Hotel is not staffed 24/7, so if your arriving late, call ahead.

My only concern is that the bathroom was tiny, even as European standards go. Luckily my friend and I are both fit and trim and could manage, but we bumped in the shower walls every time we showered. While trim, my friend is 6'3 and was much more uncomfortable than me at 5'6. I know many people stateside, that just wouldn't fit through the shower door.

With that aside, if I am ever lucky enough to visit Split again, I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Love it :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndependentHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Very centrally located, clean, not far from the centre. Rooms not very big but beds are very comfortable. Friendly and helpfull staff. A lot of usefull informations about where to go and what to visit. A bit too expencive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleksa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Slavija
Hotel Slavija
#18 of 58 in Split
380 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apartments Matic
Apartments Matic
#224 of 512 in Split
15 reviews
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Ark Beach Apartments
Ark Beach Apartments
#1 of 1 in Stobrec
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Private Accommodation Raspudic
4.5 mi away
Pansion Epetium
Pansion Epetium
#3 of 8 in Stobrec
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Matejuska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Matejuska

Address: Tomica Stine 3, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Split
Price Range: £65 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Matejuska 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Villa Matejuska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Matejuska Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing