We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a three star hotel”
Review of Hotel As

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel As
Ranked #150 of 195 Split B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed for one night during a business trip. Hotel is easy to reach, just of one of the main streets. If you travel by car, there are always car parking available in front of the hotel. Unfortunately nothing around the hotel, Old Town is a good 20 minute walk away, taxis not too easy to find in Split. Rooms a realtively small, but acceptable for a 3 Star Hotel, cleanliness was good, breakfast rather disappointing, selection rather poor.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TG0871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

It was a nice place for 2 nights . Even it has only 3 stars i was very satisfied .
The room was very clean , the stuff very gently and food was very very tasty .
The location is also near to the center of Split , 3 - 5 minutes by taxi .
For a business trip perfect , for a holiday not so . . .

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordanaopatija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Located near the dockyards by a railway track at the end of a desolate tarmac strip, Hotel As is certainly not the prettiest of Split's hotels. Nor is it convenient for tourists. A difficult 30-40 minute walk to the city centre in scorching heat, served by sporadic bus services, you are dependent on taxis particularly in the evening (50-60 kuna). The location is the hotel's fundamental flaw.

Apart from the location, this is a reasonable 3 star. Clean and comfortable, with small but well equipped rooms. The included breakfast selection is large but sometimes stale - it is a 4 hour breakfast!

The staff were on the whole acceptable but certainly nothing special. Often poor English and lack of knowledge made them useless for tourists, though a few individual staff members were efficient and pleasant. Simple enquiries, such as airport transfers, seemed to cause mayhem and confusion, as well as different responses from different receptionists. We found it best to cut out the middle men and go straight to taxi drivers or tourist offices - far more eager to help and informative.

Don't trust the Expedia description!! It says it's near Diocletian's Palace. 30-40 minutes walk does not count as near.

If you are a typical tourist, sightseeing, sunbathing and enjoying Split's wonderful history and nightlife, do not stay here. It will add nothing but unnecessary hassle to your trip with its inconvenient and desolate location.

Room Tip: Don't go for the 'apartment'!! No shower, rather a jacuzzi bath with a dodgy showerhead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hertsgirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed for a night to see the Diocletian’s Palace
Really more of a 2 star hotel. Compact rooms, very small beds and old tvs. It is right beside an industrial site. For value pricing, its okay, the buffet was not very nice so i might just skip that unless its included when you book. otherwise its a place to sleep

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the front and over the bar as people tend to stay up late drinking and you can he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qbanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel is too far out from the city, when described as close by to city centre it's a 70 kuna taxi ride or 30 minute walk and is situated on an industrial estate, shame as the hotel is decent, with nice rooms, but what you save on room rates you pay for in taxi fares. Also rooms are quite modern but very small, staff were nice but if you want to be in the city do not stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank little_lynny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

It's been a while since the last reviewer so I think I would like to update: the hotel itself is not that bad: clean room, free wifi, English speaking staff, OK breakfast, etc. It does not have safe in the room, so you are encouraged to leave valuables at the hotel's safe in the lobby.

However, the hotel is located in an desolated industrial area, next to the train tracks (although I didn't see any train during the 2 nights I stayed there). It has a charm of your average Walmart, and is not really walkable from the center of the town. The taxi fare is about 40-50 kn ($8 avg) from the dock in town. During my stay I spent about 250 kn on taxis, which makes the low rate less desirable than it sounds. Therefore I recommend to stay away if you are a pure tourist in town for a short stay.

Room Tip: If you drive yourself, or have business activities nearby, this place is definitely fine. The super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastiensh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Not a good hotel,no lift,dirty carpets,food terrible,for from everything in the industrial area

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tokkelosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
1.2 mi away
Villa Marjela
Villa Marjela
#48 of 56 in Split
91 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Jadran
Hotel Jadran
#43 of 56 in Split
100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Omladinski Hostel
Omladinski Hostel
#299 of 507 in Split
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villa Angela
Villa Angela
#283 of 507 in Split
21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Hotel Depadans
Art Hotel Depadans
#141 of 195 in Split
11 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villla Spalatina
Villla Spalatina
#206 of 507 in Split
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel As? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel As

Address: Kopilica 8a, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Split
Price Range: £55 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel As 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel As reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing