We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A study in contrasts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Authentic Luxury Rooms
Ranked #26 of 56 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We booked a reservation in Authentic Luxury Suites, now called rooms, in July 2013. Our driver could not find the place and no one he asked had ever heard of it. Finally we reached a cell phone which I had copied down and Mario (who was super helpful) found us and brought us to to their location. As mentioned in other reviews, the place is a collection of rooms. We arrived in front of a run down building, and discovered we had 3 steep flights of stairs to climb. This is not the image I had from the glowing reviews I read. The interior of the building was dark and dirty.
The room on the other hand, was lovely, very modern, clean, and recently refurbished. The jacuzzi was a welcome plus, and we received a bottle of champagne.
Our real shock came when we saw the price! Beware of booking with "Booking.com" The price was quoted in US$ , but the confirmation was in euros. I did not double check the confirmation because I assumed if I was quoted a $ price I would pay a $ price. It was an expensive lesson. The management was very nice, but let us know that they always quoted euros and our problem was clearly with "Booking.com" even after we showed them the dollar price they quoted us.
We were lucky and had good weather so the 3 block walk to breakfast every morning was not a problem. The room and the staff were fine, but the building, the steps, no services available in our room, did not match the high price we paid. We had to go out to find ice at night.
The staff, especially Mario, went out of their way to be helpful.

Room Tip: The room with the jacuzzi is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

This place seems to be an oddball collection of rooms scattered in some buildings in central Split. That's not necessarily a bad thing, but it makes for perhaps a riskier stay than other hotels. This experience yielded a couple strong positives and a couple strong negatives.

The positives -- Our room was really very nice. It was modern, somewhat stylish, and very well lit. Bathroom had one of the most comfortable jacuzzi tubs I've seen in quite a while. Also the manager was very friendly and helpful.

The negatives -- There is no front desk here really, just an office that was about three blocks from our room, and one that is usually not staffed. The manager gave us his cell number to use any time, but frankly, that is way inferior to being able to go to a desk. I don't really use my phone when traveling, it costs a fortune to make calls, and I don't even always know how. Also, our room was in a building that was very poorly lit at night and required a walk up 51 steps. Nothing terrible in that, but other people might be quite uncomfortable with either of these. Breakfast was a bit minimal compared to other hotels in this price range.

Given what I've written so far, I'd say the positives and negatives make it a wash and would have given an 'Average' rating. But one surprise tipped the scale below average. They don't take credit cards. I have experienced this at very inexpensive places, but never at a hotel as expensive as this one. (We were here at peak season, and our room was not cheap, despite the downsides). I guess it saves them a little money to not pay credit card fees, but totally at our inconvenience. I do not see how this could possibly be justified.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ProNomad33062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario T, Receptionist at Authentic Luxury Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Sir,

thanks for your review.

When you booked with us through a third party page you have seen the rooms are located in 2 different locations, just 100m away one from another. Also it is stated that no credit cards are accepted, so no surprise at all (as you wrote)!
Our E-Mail conversation before your arrival is a good opportunity to clarify all questions that are bothering you - unfortunately there were no questions.
Thanks again for your time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The location of the hotel couldn't be better. It's in between of the Bacvice beach and the city center (Diocletian's palace & Riva etc). Only about 5min walk to each. The harbour is close aswell if you want to make a trip to Hvar or other beautiful islands near Split.

The rooms are spacious, clean and the air conditioning worked very well (you'll need one in August!). Beds we're a bit too hard for my taste but other than that everything was perfect.

The owners and the staff was very friendly and helpful (especially Maja - she's amazing!).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanDee82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay in the spacious rooms. Great quiet location, 5 minute walk to centre where there are restaurants and shops. Staff are very kind, especially Mya who made a little take away breakfast for my friend and I who had an early 5:30am departure. Used their laundry service, very quick and reasonably priced. Would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is a great way to spend the night in Split. The rooms are built with in combo of the traditional and authentic style with modern amneties. Great serviceminded staff and a very central location. really recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flaksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Hotel Authentic Luxury Rooms was absolutely amazing. The room we received was spacious, clean and the best B&B I stayed in compared to others in Croatia and Italy. The owners are EXTREMELY helpful and are very easy going and easy to talk to if you have any questions regarding where to go for the best food, getting around, etc. Every morning our bed was made and we were given fresh towels, which was essential. The shower was actually a normal shower in Europe, not the ones where you have to bend down, lather yourself up first then hold the shower head to rinse yourself off. I would definitely recommend this place as my No. 1 for those who are staying in Split and want to be walking distance from the city centre. There is also a quaint cafe right across the street from Hotel Authentic, so that came of convenience. Thank you again Hotel Authentic for everything you've done for my husband and I, we are truly grateful :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ari_Stefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Thanks a lot to Mario, Maya and the rest of the staff for an excellent week in your charming hotel with a personal atmosphere! Thanks for good advices and service with a personal touch. The 300 year old newly renovated building made the rooms special and more than an ordinary hotel. The beds were good, quiet nights, delicate and clean rooms and a simple breakfast with everything you need. The only thing we missed was drawers for our clothes!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElSaOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.6 mi away
Garden Apartment Hotel
Garden Apartment Hotel
#24 of 56 in Split
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#8 of 56 in Split
701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Suites
Royal Suites
#7 of 56 in Split
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Slavija
Hotel Slavija
#18 of 56 in Split
380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dioklecijan Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Authentic Luxury Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Authentic Luxury Rooms

Address: Na Toc 6, Split 21000, Croatia (Formerly Authentic Suites)
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 56 Hotels in Split
Price Range: £88 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Authentic Luxury Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Luxury Rooms (4 stars) is situated in the heart of Split old town (city center). Authentic Luxury Rooms impresses guests with their authentic charm, it's over 300 years old stone walls combined with all luxury needed (hydro massage shower or Jacuzzi tub for 2),air condition, flat screen TV, WI-Fi. The surrounding, the outside and the inside of Authentic will assure you a pleasant and domestic stay, it will make you be a part of this 1700 years old city. The Diocletian Palace, the famous RIVA with its old part, the city beaches (sand and stone) and the biggest offer of one-day-trips (to the islands Brac, Hvar, Solta, National Park Krka) are just steps away. Our guests take their chance to visit middle Dalmatia with having their base in Split for a couple of days and take advantage to do 1-day trips & see different places in short time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Authentic Luxury Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing