We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the buck”
Review of Hotel Petka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Petka
Ranked #42 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
253 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Good value for the buck”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This hotel has been reviewed a lot, so just a couple of minor additions... I loved the hotel. It was cheap, I liked the balcony, the rooms were nice. The location is meh.

I had a cruise ship parked outside 3/4 days, but there weren't any noise issues at all. The rooms at the end of the hotel (it's the southern end, i had room 216 i think) have views that are largely unobstructed by the big boats.

It's a looong walk to Old Town (and a little uphill), I would take the bus always. If you buy tickets from the kiosk across the street it's a little cheaper. On the return, get off the stop BEFORE the hotel or you'll take a ride to the bus station. My airport bus was willing to drop me off in front of the hotel.

I thought the hotel restaurant was excellent, and it's cheaper than Old Town for sure. This makes up for the fact that there aren't many restaurants around the hotel. If you take a long-ish walk across the harbor to Lapad, there are many restaurants there. There's a pharmacy nearby as well as a supermarket at the roundabout. Down the road towards Old Town there's a little shopping center with a popular cafe. It's a quick walk to the main bus station (10 min. or so with luggage).

The wifi was a little iffy at times but no serious issues. There's a computer in the lobby for use. The breakfast was good, but sometimes it gets crowded due to groups.

Room Tip: face the harbor, southern end (towards Old Town)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nysingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    127
    111
    20
    7
See reviews for
26
124
56
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I stayed in Hotel Petka for 5 nights during my first visit to Dubrovnik earlier this month. I chose the hotel as it was situated at the Gruz port which was the pick up/drop off point for my day trips to Montenegro and Mostar, Bosnia Herzegovina

From the airport, the easiest way to arrive in the hotel was to take the airport bus (run by Atlas bus and cost 35 kunas) to the main bus station, the final stop. The trip was about 30 minutes. Getting out of the bus station, one could take bus No 1A or 1B for one stop at the bus stop outside the station with a single trip ticket that cost 10 kunas to arrive in the hotel. Those who backpack or with light luggage could also choose to walk there by turning right towards a round-about and continue straight past the church as the hotel was just after the church. The walk would take about 10 minutes.

I stayed in a standard room with the sea view and the scenery was beautiful. However, it could be noisy due to the arrival/departures of the cruise ships at the port and also the traffic on the road.

It was rather unfortunate that the air-con in the room was not working on the first day and the weather in Dubrovnik was very hot and sunny during my stay. I only went back to the room after 8pm when the sun has set and the room would be cooler with the balcony door open. I only went back to the room in the early evening in the subsequent days as the air-con was not very cool even though it was working then.

The room was spacious with 2 single beds joined together and had a sofa by the window and 2 chairs in the balcony. The TV had 20+ plus channels with only 3 in English. (BBC, CNN and another news channel.) The toilet was large for a 3-star hotel and simple toilet amenity was provided. Wi-fi was also available for free in the hotel.

The breakfast spread was adequate with some cooked items available. I did not try and thus could not comment on the hotel restaurant which served both lunch and dinner.

The hotel is a half an hour (2.5 km) walk from the old town. It is possible to take bus No 1A, 1B and 3 to go there as the ride is about 10 minutes.

Overall, it was a pleasant experience to stay in this hotel. I was lucky to have rebooked the room at a lower rate just before arrival, probably due to low occupying rate during my days of stay. I do recommend the hotel to those who arrive/depart by ship to Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SQFlyer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
87 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Let me start from the positive... Excellent, helpful, polite staff but for the rest.... an average place... good location (try to book a room with a sea view), clean, breakfast and dinner not bad but nothing special. I would stay again and I recommend it for sure but do not expect anything else rather than a simple good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evdokimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Have just come back from five days at the Petka. The hotel is not pretty from the outside but inside they have made an effort and it is more than satisfactory for the grade of hotel. Were there from 18-22 March and had rooms at the back which were very quiet although we did not have the view but there is a terrace on the front and for the price one could not have wished for more.The location is great for the bus station, ferries and buses into the Old Town. The breakfast was simple but adequate although the coffee left something to be desired.All the staff were very friendly and especially Anna at breakfast time could not do enough for us. We ate in the restaurant twice and it was excellent value for money and the service excellent more the pity that we did not have time to eat more there. The hotel is on our list to return again hopefully soon as this is our third visit to Croatia.

Room Tip: If you want the view, which is spectacular, then ask for the front but have heard that this side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizg46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I have just spent 5 days at the hotel Petka in Gruz which is the harbour area just below the old town of Dubrovnik. On first sight it is quite ugly but the rooms are spacious and good value and the views from the sea-facing front of the hotel fantastic. This is quite a large hotel, probably used by business people and the staff could not be nicer. The hotel is really in an excellent location as it is just across the road froim the main ferry terminal for boats going to/from the islands as well as about 5 minutes from the main bus station. It is also very near a local bus stop. Very convenient. The old town might be spectacular but that is only a short bus ride away and at the Petka there is the pleasure of being on the sea front - great for walks around the bay.

Althouugh there are quite a few restaurants in and around the hotel area, the Nostromo restaurant which is part of the hotel, is very very good and excellent value. The staff could not have been nicer.

All in all an excellent choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bert60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Not knowing Dubrovnik, we stayed here because it was opposite the ferry port & were traveling early to island of kortula. The ferry's are first come first served & often fill quickly.
The hotel staff were lovely, but for the price it would be much smarter to stay in the old city. Although we walked there it was a decent 1/2 hour walk.
The main problem with this hotel was that I had an expectation that a sea view room would be tranquil, well not with the daily cruise ships moored directly opposite which keep noisy engines running, horns & smog.
Again, go for the old city especially if you are not lucky enough to have a long stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This is a nice, clean hotel, very friendly staff in reception with a large area for breakfast. Staff are attentive but not overly familiar and the rooms were spacious. Rooms have air con and nice large bathrooms. It's 2.5 km from the old town of Dubrovnik so you need to get the bus in if you can - a taxi back cost 70 kunas - which I think was around £10 - not cheap. Dubrovnik old town though is fantastic and beautiful and Hotel Petka is a nice place to base yourself

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ivka
Hotel Ivka
#37 of 67 in Dubrovnik
310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#30 of 67 in Dubrovnik
219 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#36 of 67 in Dubrovnik
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#22 of 67 in Dubrovnik
527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#9 of 67 in Dubrovnik
860 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aquarius Dubrovnik Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Petka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Petka

Property: Hotel Petka
Address: Obala Stjepana Radica 38, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Petka 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Petka originaly opened its doors in 1867 which makes it the oldest hotel in Dubrovnik. Hotel Petka now disposes with 104 comfortably furnished rooms, of which 64 rooms have sea view. All rooms are with shower and toilet, Sat-TV, direct dial telephone, air-condition and free Wi-Fi. Private parking is available and it requires a reservation. No matter which room you select for your stay in our hotel, we are sure that with our kind personnel you will enjoy full comfort, privacy and relaxation on a highest level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Petka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing