We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but otherwise terrible”
Review of Hotel Petka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Petka
Ranked #43 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location but otherwise terrible”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is very conveniently located for both the ferry to Mljet and for the main bus station, but we would not recommend it otherwise. The sheets were stained and the duvet did not have a cover on. The bathroom was clean. The breakfast was adequate but not particularly good, though we had a good meal in the restaurant. The staff and service were not good. The hotel is not convenient for visiting the Old City.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnL0613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    130
    117
    22
    7
See reviews for
27
132
57
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night because we were catching the ferry to Mljet the next day. The beds were comfy and the view was great. The wifi was horrible. And when we went to get breakfast the next morning at 9am there was barely anything there when we were told breakfast was till 10. There is lots of coffee shops and bakeries around to make up for it though. They do let you keep your bags at the front till you catch the ferry!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Breanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Having spent 5 very spritual days in Medjugorje Bosnia we were seeking the ideal location in Dubrovnik for 2 days sightseeing. So selecting the Hotel Petka firstly it needed to be close to the coach/bus station. Being only 2 minutes from transportation back to the airport being our main consideration what a surprise when we're given by the Hotel standards. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel was very clean with great views of the harbour and Lapad the main resort for those wanting to chill by the beach. Breakfast started at 6am continuing through to 10am serving what I can only describe as meeting the taste buds of most people. A twenty minutes walk to the Old Town of Dubrovnik or a five minute bus ride, the bus stop being just outside the hotel. Would I stay at the Petka again YES

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francisperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Friendly and helpfull stuff, most of them spoke good english. Hotel was clean and beds were good. Hotels restaurant was quite expensive compared to a normal price level in that area, the food wasnt really that good either. 10 points to the live band in the restaurant. Bus stop is located directly in front of the hotel and there´s just a 10 minutes ride to old town. 5 minutes walk to main buss station. Nearby the hotel is couple of good restaurants, cafee´s and a small shopping centre which has a small bakery inside (great burek). Our room was in top floor and in the corner and for some reason WiFi signal was very poor. Breakfast (with local specialities) was OK, you are also able to enjoy in the terrace outside.

Room Tip: Pay little extra to get the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JypeWasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirana, Albania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for two nights. We had a room overlooking the port and it was fantastic. The room itself was simple but large enough and with very comfortable beds. There was enough choice of food in the restaurant and the staff is nice.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank endriteta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Quite a nice stay at the hotel, a good view of the port, clean rooms and Hospitable staff.
been here to wait for my Ship at the port, with my friends.
i would have give this hotel a better review if it wasn't for the server in their buffet area which cant barely understand and speak English =( but the food was very good with plenty of choics..

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezekiel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I booked this hotel because of the rate and it's location to Gruz port. I had a single room which was very small and a bit dingey looking because of the dark furniture. However, it was clean and there was a fridge in the room which as useful. I only stayed one night; I would not have liked to have stayed in that particular room for longer due to its size. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice so no complaints there. However, I went to get a drink of water from the tavern and had to ask for some ice. The guy then proceeded to put his bare hand in the ice tub and plonked the cubes in my drink. Not very hygienic!

Also on my return a week later, I asked if they had any double rooms available which they had. However, they would not entertain giving me a better rate. I asked for a manager and was told there wasn't one until the following day to the incredulence of some other guests who couldn't believe that they were prepared to let a potential customer simply walk away. They simply were not bothered to give any kind of customer service on Reception. I did find another, even better hotel awho gave me a great rate so someone needs to buck their ideas up - there is no shortage of alternative accommodation in this great city!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ivka
Hotel Ivka
#35 of 68 in Dubrovnik
319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#30 of 68 in Dubrovnik
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#22 of 68 in Dubrovnik
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
876 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#48 of 68 in Dubrovnik
51 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#38 of 68 in Dubrovnik
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Petka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Petka

Property: Hotel Petka
Address: Obala Stjepana Radica 38, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Petka 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Petka originaly opened its doors in 1867 which makes it the oldest hotel in Dubrovnik. Hotel Petka now disposes with 104 comfortably furnished rooms, of which 64 rooms have sea view. All rooms are with shower and toilet, Sat-TV, direct dial telephone, air-condition and free Wi-Fi. Private parking is available and it requires a reservation. No matter which room you select for your stay in our hotel, we are sure that with our kind personnel you will enjoy full comfort, privacy and relaxation on a highest level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Petka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing