We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant, clean but uncomfortable small hotel.”
Review of Kamara Dubrovnik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kamara Dubrovnik
Ranked #45 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant, clean but uncomfortable small hotel.”
Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel R for 3 nights. The best is the staff that was all very friendly and helpful. Everything else is very basic and simple although clean, decent and the room air conditioned. Our room was very small and our beds small with soft spongy mattresses. I couldn't sleep well at night and my back was aching. If they have to change a single thing it should be the mattress. We paid €114 for the room which is more than I believe the value of the room. It's 20 minutes brisk walk to the Old Town, more going back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zclzcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    40
    13
    2
    6
See reviews for
12
36
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Como, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Great breakfasts and everyone was really friendly and helpful. We were offered useful advice on places to go (without being asked to say who sent us, as is common practice to get a cut) and we used their very fast, efficient laundry service.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather187835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We loved this hotel, located about 20 minutes (walking) from Old Town. The views of the Adriatic were gorgeous, the rooms were well-maintained, and the staff very friendly and helpful. Plus, they'll cook your breakfast to order, in addition to a large buffet of prepared foods.

My only negative was the 20 minute walk to/from Old Town. If it hadn't been 90+ degrees the entire time, I don't think the walk would have been as big of a deal, but considering we came back to our hotel every afternoon to relax in some air conditioning, it meant that we traversed to/from Old Town at least 4 times a day. We would take the bus or a taxi sometimes, but more often than not, chose to walk (much of it involves a beautiful view along the Adriatic). Be warned that Old Town is downhill, which means coming back at night is an uphill walk.

There aren't really any restaurants nearby (though down the street is a great bakery), so you'll need to go either to Lapad or near Old Town for dinner each night. The nearest beach is across the street a few blocks - and then down, down, down (either stairs or a road). We snuck through the adjacent hotel on the way back up (hitching a ride with a guest on their elevator), otherwise, it's a decent hike back up. It wasn't the cleanest beach/water we experienced in Croatia (lots of seaweed), but we were also spoiled by some of our other experiences with the cleanest water we'd ever swam in.

If this hotel could be located only about 5 minutes from Old Town but having all of the same accommodations and pricing, it would be a 5 star rating. I deducted a star, just due to its proximity from town.

(It would also be helpful if the hotel put some umbrellas or awnings on their balconies since it got quite hot out there during the heat of the day)

Room Tip: Spend an extra few dollars for the balcony/Adriatic view - gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CubsGirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Hotel R was precisely the wonderful hotel, and in every respect, that previous satisfied reviewers described - so I won't repeat these yet again here. This establishment's excellence begins and ends with the people who make it all happen - stemming from the professionalism and warmth of the owner family, and radiating to the hotel's entire staff, such as Lidija who was particularly helpful to us. Hvala Anikza (& Mario) and Lidija !

Room Tip: Though the owner, Anikza, apologized for our getting the very last room available - since we made ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby-Mordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

A small hotel in a good location. It is about a 15 minute walk to the Old City. We stayed in a room with a balcony and were able to enjoy a view of the Adriatic Sea. The family/owners were wonderful. They picked us up at the airport (fee), recommended a great restaurant nearby, helped make transportation reservations, cooked us breakfast to order every morning, arranged for laundry (fee) and always had a smile & friendly way about them. If we ever go back to Dubrovnik, we will stay at Hotel R again. The only drawback is there is no elevator (the owners helped with our luggage). If you're a senior, you might want to request a room on the lower level. We had the top level, but the balcony and view was great. We would highly recommend!

Room Tip: There is no elevator. We had the top floor. View was great,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry4610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Hotel R in Dubrovnik is a small well managed hotel with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Feels like your part of the family. Rooms are nice and clean. Excellent and large breakfast served with the hot portion of it prepared just for you. Not too far from the old city - 30 to 40 minutes walk or just few minutes bus ride. Enjoyed every minutes spent at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mag47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Hotel R is a small but well located hotel for exploring Dubrovnik. Not in the old city or on the beach but not far from any of them. The staff is friendly, helpful and all speak good English. Very easy access to buses headed in all directions. Rooms are clean and spacious. Good value for money. Only drawback is noise coming from other rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea have a descent view and no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#30 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villa Odak
Villa Odak
#32 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aquarius Dubrovnik Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Petka
Hotel Petka
#40 of 67 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#53 of 67 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ivka
Hotel Ivka
#36 of 67 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamara Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamara Dubrovnik

Property: Kamara Dubrovnik
Address: Alberta Halera 2, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia (Formerly Hotel R)
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kamara Dubrovnik 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamara Dubrovnik (former Hotel R) is the perfect place to stay while on holidays in Dubrovnik. Translating to "room" in an ancient Dubrovnik dialect, you can enjoy a stunning sea view from your own private balcony in most rooms. Completely renovated in 2015 with a with a new modern contemporary design, rooms at Kamara are fitted with new furniture and fresh, inspiring decor. Hotel Kamara is just a short, sea-side and relaxing 20 minute walk to Dubrovnik Old Town. Sparkling beach, only a few minutes walk from the hotel, is a perfect place to truly enjoy your holiday taking in the scenery and fresh air. Enjoy the personal treatment from our friendly staff, and indulge in a buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kamara Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing