We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dubrovnik Backpackers Club Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very disappointing stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Was surprised this place has such great reviews, but think it must be for the owner/managers not for hostel itself. The owners were lovely however were not aware of our booking made 5 days earlier, so decided to put us in an apartment 500m down the road. Apartment was dirty, we had to clean the mould out of the fridge to use it. There was no wifi there, we had to return to the hostel to use it, but it didn't work after the first day anyway. There was no atmosphere in the common room- no one hanging out to meet and chat with.
I knew the hostel was out of the old town and was happy to stay there knowing this if it was as wonderful as the reviews described, which it was not. Its a 20-30 min bus trip to the old town (not 10!!) And it's a 15 minute walk to the beach and shops so not close to anything!
People should rate this place based on the actual facilities not on how nice the family are!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BelleJenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    18
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
51
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I don't know where to start because I had a great time at the hostel and would like to thank the family for there warm welcome and help!

I also would like to thank fellow travellers for their comments as if it was not for them I would not have chose the hostel.

I had such a warm welcome from Milka, the mother of the DBC team who took the time to take me through the map of the local area including the best deals for eating and sight seeing.

Supermarket is 10 minutes to walk and it's a 15 minute ride to the old town by bus. There are 2 beaches near by and lots of restaurants with good cheap food.

The hostel is lovely, clean and social! I met lots of lovely people from all over, Canada, Germany, Australia not to mention the lovely staff who were so helpful.

I also did the snorkelling trip with Ivy (DBC Team) and some girls from the hostel which was nice and relaxing seeing the blue and green caves not to mention eating the blue fish at the restaurant which we all enjoyed. Free sangria on the boat also!

Such a great hostel and atmosphere, thank you DBC Team for such a wonderful time!!

Stay here!! It is home from home as the other reviews have said!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leenalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was a great hostel. Good value for money, very friendly family, optional pickup from airport and back even at night can be arranged. Optional breakfast and very useful travel advice from host family for visiting and transportation links.
Thank you!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Octavio E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I visited Croatia for the first time and because of the reviews I chose this hostel. It was the right choose - really lovely Croatian family and cozy atmosphere.
The breakfast was delicious and the tour operated by the hostel was really nice, unique, reasonable price and in general unforgettable! I recommend the place, especially if you don't mind that the location is not in the old town. For me it was just good. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minnilinnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

It was such a safe, fun and great hostel to meet people. IT made my experience here even better. It is 15 mins away from Old Town but the bus is nearby.

There are 2 beaches nearby and i lvoed staying here. The hostel was pretty average, the family was great and breakfast is even better for only 20 Kunas!

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank adventuresbyasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bron, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I had a very nice stay in a friendly atmosphere. Don't hesitate to go for a very good breakfast where you can get good advice and go the day trip. A very fun day in friendly mood await you !
Hostels well situated 15 min away from Dubrovnik old town and close to the beach.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank gauthier_hertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Was 15 minute bus ride from old town and expensive, not worth the commute. Te family was friendly but you couldnt make noise past 10pm so not a good place to get rowdy. Was difficult to meet friends. The bathroom was disgusting, had 4 girls in there and it was never cleaned 5 days in a row. Go on the Bosnia tour if you go its a real treat, best part of the hostel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaitlynMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.5 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#27 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dubrovnik Backpackers Club Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dubrovnik Backpackers Club Hostel

Property: Dubrovnik Backpackers Club Hostel
Address: Mostarska 2, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 488 Speciality Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing