We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Views, thats all folks!”
Review of House With Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
House With Garden
Ranked #125 of 178 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Views, thats all folks!”
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Josip is lovely but we were not enamoured with the hospitality overall nor the facilities, We were given the balacony room which has fantastic views. Our bed was a lumpy, bumpy fold out put me up. The air con that doubles as heating we were told, did nothing but blow out cold air so the cold nights remained cold, thank goodness for the additional blankets. In room fridge doesn't work.
The bathroom was clean and had good supplies of loo rolls but very little hot, or come to think of it, tepid water. Every shower I took was very quick and left my teeth chattering uncontrollably and a race to get dressed and outside where it was warmer than in our room.
The room had satelite TV and great selection of english speaking channels, just about the only warm feeling we got whilst in our room.
We felt a bit pushed out when the day before departure we were asked "what time are you getting up, I need the sheets for the next arrivals but I can move you to another room" Why move us and not put the new arrivals in the 'other room'. When we stipped the fold out put me up of its sheets and left the room to deliver to Josip, he was in the hall waiting for us - talk about outstaying your welcome.
The steps upto the house are steep and tiring and beyond Josips control and we were well aware of them before booking, but after all the steps in the old town, think carefully about what you're taking on. If the room had more to offer than a lovely view, we would have climbed them more willingly

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dulciesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shepa, Owner at House With Garden, responded to this review, 25 July 2010
I am very sorry that my guest(Dulciestmum)is only partly satisfy with her stay in our lovely apartment-House with garden.I am not quite sure that I can answer on all complain as I found that two world in his article are not English world and could not be found in dictionary(enamoured,stipped).
Let’s go step by step: First of all we meet each other a few times but no world about problems.
1. Our bed was lumpy, bumpy fold out put me up.
Our apartment has three rooms, West Sea View, East Sea View and Living Sea View. Sometime we give opportunity to guest that they can book room separately. Living room is fitted with double bedded sofa with additional mattress 16 cm in size. In this room we have one more single sofa.
2. Air Condition is still same and working superfine. Only what you have to do on Remote Control is push right button if you like cooling or heating.
3. Room fridge work perfectly only what you need to do is switch on.
4. The bath room like all house has three systems for water heating, Solar Panel, Electric heater, and for winter time Central Heating system which we can use in summer. Bath room has own room heaters.
5. The day before departure.
Our conversation was like this. If they need room after check out time 10 00 that they can stay in the house but in another room as that room was booked by another guest and he like to walk in because they book it.
6. About Old Town Steps: That steps was built about 1500 years ago and I do not know how I can be responsible for problems #6.
Regards,
Josip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    6
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Landau
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2010

Dubrovnik is an lovely town. The owner and his wife are very friendly. In 15 days , we had 4 barbecues with Josip and Goranka. The view from the room windows was perfect. We had a look on the old town and Lokrum Island an the Adriatic Sea.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinoLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2008

House in Dubrovnik, Croatia. Josep (the owner) rents rooms, the "room with the view" is fabulous! It has its own balcony over looking the entire old city and ocean. Was a perfect situation for us, a young couple, because it reminded us of staying with our grandparents.
Josep goes above and beyond trying to make you feel comfortable. We forgot our camera on the bus we took from the airport to the city, and had given it up for lost. But Josep made some phone calls, and when that didn't help, got on his moped and drove to the bus terminal and found it!! We were absolutely shocked. Josep was also very helpful, even offering to do our laundry, though we couldn't have him do that!
There are other rooms with normal beds, but the room with the balcony is an old pull out bed. Was fine for us, but it is somewhat squeaky and thin. We probably would've slept on the floor to get a view that great. To have a great view, be prepared to walk some stairs! But its definitely worth it! Also, the fact that it is a house (not a hostel) is awesome because you get a nice kitchen and bathroom (with the shower head actually in the wall!), and a house that is constantly being cleaned and air conditioned.

  • Liked — the view and the owner
  • Disliked — stairs got old after a while
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jesseask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Guest House Maria Di
Guest House Maria Di
#16 of 178 in Dubrovnik
32 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rooms Edna
Rooms Edna
#82 of 178 in Dubrovnik
11 reviews
5.4 mi away
Villa Babilon
Villa Babilon
#75 of 178 in Dubrovnik
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Apartments Cable Car
#230 of 496 in Dubrovnik
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guest House Old Town
Guest House Old Town
#308 of 496 in Dubrovnik
6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartments Mariana
Apartments Mariana
#50 of 178 in Dubrovnik
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House With Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House With Garden

Property: House With Garden
Address: Obodska 10, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — House With Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THIS ACCOMMODATION GUEST CAN BOOK AS APARTMENT OR EACH ROOM SEPARATELY. House with garden is situated at the most attractive part of Dubrovnik (Ploce) with a panoramic view of the Old Town Dubrovnik, Island Lokrum and Adriatic Sea, which you can reach in 3 minutes walk. From terraces you have breathtaking views of the Old Town, as do all our rooms. The accommodation providing you with comfort and everything you may need for an enjoyable vacation in Dubrovnik. This accommodation will enable you to spend a relaxing and memorable vacation in Dubrovnik. House with garden has 101,3 m²( 1090 ft²)and consists of two bedrooms + living room, all with sea view, and can sleep 4+2. There is a kitchen, dining room, two bathrooms. Living rooms you can easily convert to the sleeping room. Whole house is air conditioned and it is fully equipped and furnished. Each room has Radio, TV and refrigerator. East side terrace have Garden grill, large table with six chairs where guests can sit and look at the sea, the Island of Lokrum and Old Town. The Old Town, the center of all happenings, with numerous monuments, galleries, concerts, together with many cozy restaurants and cafes that are all located inside the city walls which you can reach in 3 minutes walk. The public beach east & west is only 3 minutes walk. Sea View Studio Apartment - House with garden Studio Apartment with King's bed sleeps two person overlooking the sea is 22 m²(237) ft² with Air Condition and a private bathroom with toilet and a small kitchen in hallway so far. The Studio Apartment has a refrigerator, a TV and a radio alarm clock. From East and West terraces, you have a beautiful view of the sea, the island Lokrum and Old Town. The Old Town, the center of all happenings, with numerous monuments, galleries, concerts, together with many cozy restaurants and cafes that are all located inside the city walls you can reach in 3 minutes walk. Guests can use Garden grill without extra charge. For winter season house. Is equipped with central heating system. Walking distance to the Old Town and the beach is less than 3 minutes. But the return trip is longer because of theclimbing upstairs. Room East with sea view - House with garden The twin bedded room overlooking the sea is 16 m²(172ft²). The room has Air Condition. Refrigerator, TV and a radio alarm clock. This room share bathroom and toilet with Living Room. From East and West terraces, you have a beautiful view of the sea, the island Lokrum Old Town. At the anchorage you can see the very large yachts of famous personalities. The Old Town, the center of all happenings, with numerous monuments, galleries, concerts, together with many cozy restaurants and cafes that are all located inside the city walls you can reach in 3 minutes walk. Guests can use kitchen & dining room and Garden grill without extra charge. For winter season house is equipped with central heating system. Walking distance to the Old Town and the beach is less than 3 minutes. But the return trip is longer because of the climbing upstairs. Room Living with sea view - House with garden The living room with balcony and double bedded sofa for 2 persons and an additional sofa bed and a beauty full view of the sea is 28 m²(301 ft²). The room is equipped with Air Condition a refrigerator, SatTV and a radio .The guest can use the kitchen, dining room and Garden Grill. This room share bathroom and toilet. From East and West terraces, you have a beautiful view of the sea, the island Lokrum Old Town. The Old Town, the center of all happenings, with numerous monuments, galleries, concerts, together with many cozy restaurants and cafes that are all located inside the city walls you can reach in 3 minutes walk. Guests can use kitchen & dining room and Garden grill without extra charge. For winter season house is equipped with central heating system. Walking distance to the Old Town and the beach is less than 3 minutes. But the return trip is longer because of the climbing upstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your House With Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing