We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradis Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paradis Apartments
Ranked #102 of 483 Speciality Lodging in Dubrovnik
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tranquil stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this apartment. The room was nice and the house is beautiful, so no complaints whatsoever. However it's located in Stikovice and not Dubrovnik! If you have a car, it would be ideal but with public transport it's a nightmare since the bus runs hourly and you have to wait for it in a vague bus stop along a busy road, without any signs whatsoever. And on Sundays it even runs less frequently. Jerko (the owner) is very friendly and helpful, he will bring you everywhere you wanted to go. But nothing is free of course. So if you add up all the costs you pay for the transport (70kuna to supermarket, 100 to bus/ferry station or city centre, 300 to airport) then you might consider hiring yourself a car or get you an apartment nearby the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amsterdamse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My partner and I arrived at Dubrovnik airport on a rainy day in the second week of June 2014. We took a taxi from the old town to Paradis Apartments which are situated in a little bay about 6km away called Stikovica. Upon arrival we were hit by all sorts a plant life the we've never seen before and we loved how peaceful this little place looked. We followed a sign pointing to reception which took us down some steps to what just looked like somebodies apartment, it was! We were greeted warmly by Jerko, who owns the apartments and also lives here with his family. Jerko speaks pretty good English, he showed us into our apartment which turned out to be three apartments in one with a huge shared kitchen and lounge. The room was very clean and designed to quite a high spec, the amazing walk-in shower has to be the best bit for me. The room was also pretty spacious and you have your own little fridge in there, as well as a larger fridge, kettle, toaster, cutlery, crockery all in the shared kitchen. We were a little apprehensive about he fact that we would be sharing living space with people we don't know, but everybody just does there own thing and we rarely saw eachother, even when you did meet it was mostly in passing. The BEST bit for us was the massive shared balcony which overlooks beautiful blue ocean and you can see the entire bay. We spent our evenings sat in awe of the view, there's no way you could ever get bored of it. Jerko and family lived in the apartment below so we we would often see and speak with them. They are so welcoming and we felt like part of the family after only three days there! Jerko also drove us to the nearest shop to stock up on essentials, free of charge I might add! I think he must do this for all guests. The shop is a half hour walk, which is definitely worth doing as nearly every step is stunning scenery, however don't to what we did and walk there in midday sun! There is a beach type thing that belongs to Paradis. It's just rocks basically, with some of them smoothed over with concrete for the sun loungers. However it is amazing. There are ladders in the rocks so you can get in and out of the water easily. I'm into yoga and went to practise down on the flat rocks in the evenings, it honestly couldn't have been more perfect.

There are a couple of nice little places to eat about 10-20 min walk from Paradis, but not much else. This place though will hold a special place for me. If you want to get away from it and relax then this is the place. There is also a shared pool, forgot to mention earlier! It's small but does the job.

You are surrounded by lemon and peach trees, veg growing all around. There are even four tortoises which belong to the family! Lovely place, great family. It would be difficult to beat the beauty and feel of Paradis Apartments.

Just a quick note, we stayed in apartment 1. There are some which don't share the balcony so thought I'd better mention that! Also watch out for Miko the cat, he'll get ya!!!

Thank you Jerko and family.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights this week, on arrival at the airport we paid 300 kuna to the apartment.

We were welcomed by the friendly couple who showed us around, to our room and took us to the local supermarket to stock up!

We stayed in room 5 nice size for the 2 of us- twin bed, TV, air con, balcony with great view over the sea. Bathroom with shower and basic hair dryer. My only small issue with the room was it was sloped ceiling and being tall I banged my head a fair few times!

The pool area overlooks the sea, a couple of loungers & umbrellas very peaceful. The private beach area is rocks not sand with step access to the sea - quiet, clear sea with amazing view.

To get to the beach or restaurants/bus stops there are a lot of steps and hills. We are fit 20s/30s and found it tough in the heat, take into consideration if you struggle with access.

To get to the local pizza place or beachside seafood restaurant follow the steps down the side of the apartment along the road turn left at the stikovica sign and then go through the tunnel on the right which takes you to the beach. It took us a while to figure it out! To get to bus stop continue past the tunnel up the hill and the non existent bus stop is near the sign on the side of the road.

We got the number 12 into old town - get off at the stop after the tunnel. Cross over the road down the steps and follow the path/steps to old town 5 min walk lots of steps. Buses always 10 mins late than time table! Taxi back from old town 150 kuna.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay although a little remote without a car it is do able with buses and the lovely owners will take you and drop you off to old town.

Great couple, great hospitality.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrighty0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

A great family run business. hosts were really welcoming and the rooms were very modern and well kept. we only had a double room but this had access to a large shared living room and a massive balcony with an amazing view. we had hired a car which made getting from the apartments to Dubrovnik/the few local shops very simple, made even better with the map and information given to us by our hosts (the local shops aren't within walking distance). but the one night we wanted a break from the driving, our hosts were kind enough to drive into town. the only thing to be mindful of is that they take payment in cash, but even that was a relaxed and friendly process.
a highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calum K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Nice little place with great views. Room was not huge but was modern and had a lovely balcony. The main issue was the distance to Dubrovnik. We needed to get two buses to get to the city, and the buses were never on time with only 1 per hour so not an ideal base for visiting Dubrovnik regularly. Having said that the apartment was good value and the pool is nice.

Overall a nice little place but beware getting to and from the city is difficult (you can take taxis but its's very expensive at about €20 one way).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eoin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

These apartments are wonderful !!! As well as the owners . We arrived early and they let us check in early, and upgraded our room when they saw we had such small children. The rooms views were breathtaking, the pictures do not give the views justice. The private beach was perfect for our small children. I would highly recommend these apartments to anyone!!! It made our trip perfect!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Burkettfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Our room was great, had a large balcony with a spectacular view, modern bathroom and comfortable bed. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming and gave us all the information for buses etc. If you are looking to stay somewhere close to all the action, ie old city of Dubrovnik, this place is far from all of that. It requires 2 separate buses to get to town. Also there are no shops close by which was a little inconvenient.
When we switched on the television, it did not work. We were told someone would be over the following day to fix this, and this did not happen. So we had no useable television for our stay. The one other thing was the final morning before we left, there was no hot water so we had to have cold showers. Maybe this place is normally outstanding, but unfortunately in our case there were a few hiccups.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie2287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dubrovnik
0.6 mi away
Villa Mali Raj
Villa Mali Raj
#3 of 18 in Zaton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartments Villa Marijeta
Apartments Villa Marijeta
#121 of 483 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sea of Eden
Sea of Eden
#86 of 483 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apartments Franceska
Apartments Franceska
#216 of 483 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Kukuljica
Villa Kukuljica
#1 of 8 in Zaton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Lanterna
Villa Lanterna
#1 of 18 in Zaton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradis Apartments

Property: Paradis Apartments
Address: Shtikovica 2, Dubrovnik 20235, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 483 Speciality Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Paradis Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing