We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel - great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kazbek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Kazbek
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel - great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

Great experience at hotel kazbek - extremely friendly and helpful staff that were knowledgable and have plenty of recommendations for restaurants and things to do in Dubrovnik. Free parking was included in the room along with breakfast and wifi (if you are driving in, follow the signs for hotel lapad, which is next door). The breakfast was well done with a good assortment of options. We checked out early on our last day and they had prepared a breakfast bag with sandwiches, fruits, and drinks for our drive - thoughtful. Also, the outdoor pool is great with plenty of room and a good way to kill an afternoon poolside.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear J V,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with other Tripadvisor members and I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the service you experienced at the Kazbek hotel.
We truly hope you will choose to stay with us again if your travel plans bring you back to Dubrovnik region and we send you our warmest regards.


Pave Miloglav
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    51
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
230
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chipstead
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Kazbek for 5 nights in August 2012. It is impossible to fault on any count. The staff could not do enough for us, the food is excellent, the rooms are exquisite and the location is perfect. We would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet and well-furnished
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear peter m,

Thank you for a truly great review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us and hope you return for another wonderful stay soon!

Warm regards,

Pave Miloglav,
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We came across Kazbek via Twitter and have just returned from there after a seven day stay and flash floods in the UK.
Good points about Kazbek?
Great staff and people - thanks Jenni and Pave?
Great service and facilities
Great pool - for the first time in my life I spent most of one day just sat and swimming in the pool or reading a book.
Great food - breakfast sets you up for the day and the evening al a carte menu is really good
Great position for beaches, the Old Town or boat trips to the islands.
Bad points?
None
Go there now and book direct - they will do you a deal
Thanks from Ian and Annie to all the staff at Zazbek

Room Tip: Book direct - they will do a deal for you. Don't go via a middleman - better the money goes to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianjgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Ian and Annie,

I'm especially proud of this review because you are one of our first guests who found us on Twitter and made a booking that way. How wonderful to be a part of Socia Media World!
Thank you for your perfect feedback and for mentioning my colleague Jenny and myself there.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you again at our Kazbek hotel.

Best regards from the whole Kazbek team.

Pave Miloglav
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Paul de Vence
Level Contributor
105 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

The hotel, located in front of Gruz harbor, isn't close to the old city which can be easily reached by car (the receptionist tried to discourage this option but gave us sound advice where to park), by bus or taxi.
The first impression is one of a human size hotel where you will expect comfort, attention and discretion. We confirm that such expectations are met. It starts when the receptionist comes and gets your luggage on the small parking adjoining the hotel and continues when he/she gives you all what you need to make the utmost of your stay at the hotel and in Dubrovnik. Then, you find a basket of fresh fruits and a bottle of water awaiting you in your room.
Our good size room was overlooking the courtyard. Spotless, it was furnished with good taste and had all the conveniences including tea/coffee set and even trouser press. Bathroom was modern with all types of amenities which were replenished each day. A special plus to the renewal of towels in late afternoon, if needed.
Breakfast takes place in the courtyard. It had all the choices of a comprehensive buffet breakfast except that there was no buffet and that it was served at the table : juices, fresh fruits, eggs, croissants, cakes and so on. Waitress was on the look to answer any call.
On our second evening we had diner at the restaurant in the courtyard which was very pleasant - we would even say romantic - in the evening. The cuisine was excellent with a touch of creativity. I was a bit uncertain about a hazardous composition "melon/ham/shrimps/anchovies" but I must admit that the balance of the various tastes was mastered.
Only one glitch (as one says perfection doesn't exist) : the kit tea/coffee was never replenished after it was fully used.
If your are not fans of impersonal hotel complexes where you are barely a room number, run to the Kazbek.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chagoule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Chagoule,

Thank you very much for your most complimentary review. It is an honor to receive such wonderful feedback from an extensive reviewer such as you are.
We would also like to apologize for not replacing tea and coffee - it is obviously an omission from our side and we are deeply sorry about it.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Pave Miloglav
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

From when we got our booking confirmed to when we left the respons time and service was fantastic. Overall a place to recommend.
Since our flight was late I called in to find out when the restauant closed for the evening, The respons was "23"but we can keep open a bit longer if you want to ". The food was good, and service on top. Next morning we had a very good ala carte breakfast which was very good and included in the room rate. We could sit down and wait to be served breakfast in beatuful and calm surrondings, which felt very relaxing. The hotel has a nice little pool, and also a terrace were guest can sit down and relax. Rooms were ok size, with a very nice bathroom. The only little minus in our room was the noise from the A/C.
When we asked questions about were to go inDubrovnik, we also got good information.
The hotel is a short taxi trip ( about 10 USD) from the main gate of the old town,
or you can take the bus for about 15 min.

Top service and beatiful buildings - I know where I will stay next time I go to Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bjorn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Bjorn123,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share your experience with Tripadvisor users.
We were pleased to read that you consider us as a place to recommend and that we would be your place to stay on your next visit to Dubrovnik. We are already looking forward to it.

Warm regards from the Kazbek team,

Pave Miloglav
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Visited Dubrovnik in May, and Kazbek was one of the few hotels that had rooms available for our last-minute travel. Making the reservation was easy since their response times to email questions was very fast.

We took the airport transportation service via hotel, and it worked perfectly (little more expensive than a taxi but saves me the hassle..). Arriving at the hotel, the check-in was probably the easiest I have ever seen. We arrived at a morning flight and luckily had the room available already before check-in time.

Room itself was very spacious and had a nice view towards the harbor. Do note though that since this is an old building the upmost floor rooms have only small windows near the ceiling and have no view to speak of, but our room was once of the very few to face the harbour (a clever way to determine the number of people in the old town by the way is to look at the number of cruise ships in the port.... it WILL get crowded in there). Room was quiet and everything was in order. Only issue was with the air conditioning which seemed to work in sort of "on / off" mode first blowing at full blast (tad noisy), then shutting down for a while, and then coming back on again .. Which was annoying at the middle of the night, but not so big deal. Oh, and minibar should have also had a bit more room for any personal storage .. what they usually do have, but not here. WIFI for the hotel area worked perfectly, and is a must nowadays (and here it is free, like it should be!).

Hotel itself is very small, so you do end up seeing the same guests always at breakfast. But this is rather nice. Breakfast has been getting some positive feedback here, and I would like to concur to this. Naturally for a hotel with only 12 rooms a regular buffet breakfast is not possible and the way it has been done here brings a small nice touch to it. Actually our waiter did remember without even asking what we'd like to have for breakfast on the last few days ..

The room cleaning service was also a thing I'd need to mention. At no point during our 5 night stay did I see anyone of the housekeeping staff, but our room was always at excellent condition. Cleaning happened always during our breakfast, and second one during evening - with proper adjustments for curtains and bed linen etc. This inspired a bit of humour even among us...

Pool area is very nicely hidden at the backyard of the hotel away from noise and eyes. As our stay was in the early summer the weather was rather variable and we were able to enjoy the pool only during two days, but I did got my Gin & Tonic by the pool which was the goal ;)

The hotel upstairs bar seemed to be never open during our visit. Did not see anyone there at least, even though the weather would have been suitable during a couple of evenings there.

Hotel does have a Finnish sauna too, which was kinda nice, being from Finland... Heard that we were something around second or third people to use it during the existance of the hotel? Marketing department ahoy ...

For the hotel location. Not an issue, since practically all hotels are in this area - actually this is closer to old city than most of the hotels in Lapad area. Nearest "outgoing" bus station is a bit of an walk away (leave hotel to the right, take immediately the narrow pathway next to hotel up to the will, walk the street all the way to post office; ~5 minutes) but on the other hand the "incoming" bus stop from central is practically in front of hotel. Buses run very often so walking to city is not really an option in my mind. The busses may be crowded though. There are also some very nice restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, no need to go all the way to old town for a bite to eat.

Price range for the room was good in terms of "value for money". No real complaints! :-)

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank SPu-FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear SPu-Fi,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write such detailed review. We are really glad you pointed out so many positive details about our Kazbek hotel including the reservation process, check in, location, "invisible" cleaning service etc.
It was great having you as our guests and we do hope you will stay with us again if your travel plans bring you back to our region.

Best regards from Dubrovnik,

Pave Miloglav
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

we had a wonderful stay at this hotel. the service was by far some of the best we've experienced: discreet; respectful; helpful; friendly. we travelled with two small children and the hotel staff was wonderful with them. the pool is a wonderful oasis after time spent in the old town. we have no hesitation recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tosca_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear tosca_9,

It was great heaving you and your lovely family as our guests here in the Kazbek hotel. We very much appreciate your lovely feedback.

Thank you and warm regards from the whole Kazbek team,

Pave Miloglav
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kazbek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kazbek

Property: Hotel Kazbek
Address: Lapadska Obala 25, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kazbek 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated boutique setting with only 12 superior and deluxe bedrooms and 1 suite, the Kazbek Hotel is a 'home from home' for many discerning Dubrovnik visitors looking for a high degree of privacy and modern facilities in a historical ambience. The Kazbek is situated in Gruz bay only 10 min of drive from UNESCO protected Dubrovnik Old City. The former residence of 16th-century nobility now protected as a cultural monument is fully renovated to the highest standards and has regained its original beauty and function. Refined and graceful rooms all individually designed, perfectly combine classical style with 21st century amenities and comfort. Each single piece of furniture has been handmade to add to the historical experience. You will love breakfasting on the beautiful courtyard terrace, sunbathing and relaxing at the private pool area. The rich and varied gastronomic cultures of Croatia can be tasted at the restaurant, where only the freshest and locally produced ingredients are used. The Kazbek Hotel features 3 elegant dining and cocktail venues. The main restaurant has a courtyard terrace and a terrace overlooking the lively Gruz bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Kazbek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kazbek Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing