We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”
Review of Hotel Kazbek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kazbek
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Spending approximately 150 nights per year in different hotels, we loved the intimate atmosphere of the Hotel Kazbek. It is a small but exclusive hotel with very nice decorated rooms and an excellent breakfast, offered at the terrace if the weather is good. We also loved the fact that breakfast was offered until 11 am. That gave us even more time to really enjoy it.

The location is good, even though not at the old town of Dubrovnik, but only a 7 to 10 minute ride from there. The big advantage is that one doesn't have to think about where to park the car. There is parking right by the hotel. In the old town there is no parking available, so I would recommend taking a taxi to get there.

There was a little surprise in the room waiting for us, since one of the staff members noticed that it was my wife's birthday that day. Very attentive...

We would definitely come back if back in Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foti340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear foti340,

Thank you very much.
We are truly honored to receive such high rating from someone who spends almost a half of year in different hotels.

I am delighted that you would return and look forward to welcoming you back to the Kazbek!

Kind regards,

Pave Miloglav

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

The kazbek is a way out of town and a good walk from the main attraction of Dubrovnik which is the old town so unless you are prepared to walk or queue for buses or get taxis it might be better to look a bit nearer to the main attractions of Dubrovnik . That said the hotel is of good standard although our room felt small in comparison to other 5 star hotels I have stayed in the room was clean except for a dead fly on the window sill which I evicted on arrival ! The sink pop up plug did not work and could not work the safe and it would have been helpful to have a price list for the mini bar but apart from those few minor niggles a pleasant place to stay. I would rate it as 4 star not 5 .

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaMcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Dear DianaMcdonough,

We thank you indeed for you review and for the very good rating.

It's a pleasure to hear that you found the Kazbek as a pleasant place to stay, but however I would like to deeply apologize for few niggles that you also mentioned.
We are very sorry and embarrassed about the fly you found in your room. It's obviously an omission from our side, but please rest assured that this is just a single case because we do pay the greatest attention to the cleanness and once again we are sorry about this. The same for the minibar price list.
The instructions how to use the safe both in Croatian and English are located on the interior door of the cabinet right opposite the safe and in some rooms they are sticked to the safe. I am very sorry if you haven't noticed it, but I am sure our colleagues at the reception would have helped you how to use it.

I will just also comment our location : namely we are located in Lapad area which is considered as a city center as well, so I wouldn't say we are out of town. The historical center is about 3km from us. Please note that the entire town of Dubrovnik is something more than 7 km long so all the parts of the town are almost within walking distance.

Again, we thank you for your stay with us and very much appreciate and value your feedback.
Warm regards from Dubrovnik,

Pave Miloglav
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Waves gently lapping the shoreline of the Dubrovnik harbour provide the idyllic setting for the five star Hotel Kazbek. The hotel has been renovated from the remains of a medieval building and is beautiful and clean throughout. For a five star hotel, prices were incredibly reasonable and our stay included full bed and breakfast. The breakfast menu was comprehensive and cooked to a high standard. Hotel facilities include an outdoor swimming pool and sauna. The staff were friendly and more than willing to go the extra mile for their clientele. Our arrival at the hotel coincided with the Easter break which meant we were unable to exchange our currency. The management quickly made arrangements for our money to be changed at a local hotel and went out of there way to carry out the transaction on our behalf. We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear Steve S,

Your words certainly made our day. Thank you indeed for your glowing review and for mentioning so many positive details about our Kazbek hotel.

We truly hope you will choose to stay with us again if your travel plans bring you back to Dubrovnik region and we send you our warmest regards.


Pave Miloglav
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I stayed at the Kazbek for a week in June of last year, but have only just got round to writing a review. I stayed with my mum, her having stayed there twice previously with my dad, which is testament to how good the place really is, as she was really keen to show me how lovely the hotel and of course the rest of Dubrovnik really is.

She wasn't wrong, Dubrovnik is beautiful. It's a fascinating and incredibly relaxing place to holiday, and the Kazbek just made our break even more fantastic.

The location is great. Overlooking the azure harbour, you can sit on the terrace in the shade or the sun, and watch the boats go by with a cold Croatian beer. The hotel is walking distance to the old town, although a bit of an uphill hike, but as we found, much preferable to the sweltering bus journey and the walk is very scenic once you reach the top of the hill (and a great way to walk off the beer and tasty poolside snacks!). The surrounding area is quiet and peaceful, but conveniently situated. This is definitely what you would call a 'boutique' hotel, and is full of character.

The staff are immaculate, so accommodating and professional, but also genuinely friendly and a pleasure to chat to! They gave us lots of advice and suggested places to visit. Our room was flawless, well-equipped, clean and beautifully furnished with a lovely, airy bathroom. The cleaning staff are also second to none and the room was spotless every day. Not that you'd want to spend much time in your room, when outside there is a fabulous swimming pool with plenty of sun loungers, a sort -of jacuzzi sofa, big parasols and of course, food and drink available to order to your lounger!

Breakfast is definitely one of the highlights, served on the shady patio, beneath trellises and with a bubbling fountain. The food is lovely, lots of choice from fresh fruit and cereals, to omelettes and cooked breakfast. We ate dinner once in the hotel restaurant, and the food and service did not fail to impress (nor did the wine!).

Hope to return VERY soon!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank hannahm600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear hannahm600,

Your words really made us all very happy and proud. It's amazing that you speak so highly of your stay at our Kazbek hotel in June last year. We sincerely thank you and hope to welcome you again very soon.

Warm regards from the whole Kazbek team,

Pave Miloglav
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I picked this hotel because of the good reports on Tripadvisor and I am very glad that I did. My husband and I stayed for Easter weekend and I can't praise the Kazbek more. The location is great beside the harbour and 10 mins. by bus from the old city. The hotel is lovely, the staff excellent, the rooms very comfortable and the breakfast top quality. It was very quiet as they had just opened for the season but we found it very relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank IrelandJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear IrelandJill,

How wonderful and motivating to start the new season with such lovely review!
We sincerely appreciate the time you spent reviewing your recent stay and we hope we will have a chance to welcome you again at our Kazbek hotel.

Warm regards from Dubrovnik,

Pave Miloglav
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Lovely little boutique hotel in harbor area of the city offering great views along with peace and quiet but only 30 minutes walk to the bustling old town. Comfortable rooms, good breakfast and a great pool area. Service from the front of house team was excellent but could be slow in the restaurant and the small terrace bar area was totally unattended throughout our stay.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
10  Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Dear Jen W,
thank you very much for your nice review.
We are very happy that you liked our rooms, pool area, breakfast... Thank you very much for your suggestion about service in the restaurant and at the small terrace bar area. We appreciate the comments of our guests and we will do our best to improve our service in that area.

We hape that you will have an opportunity to visit us once again.

Pave Miloglav
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Our family stayed one week in this beautiful boutique hotel... with a distinctive "private home" flair, which we enjoyed so much ! Everything was perfect : elegantly furbished and yet very modern rooms, fantastic breakfast until 11 am (which is a must !) with an extensive choice of dishes, intimate restaurant proposing local specialties, very attentive staff, beautiful pool area (and also a sauna available for free)... perfect to wind down in a peaceful atmosphere away from the crowded hotel complexes. The quiet location on the waterfront was also fantastic : our boys (8 and 11) could fish whenever they fancied, a beautiful walking trail runs around Lapad peninsula and covers some nice beaches, bus station 1 min. away, and boat excursions starting right in front of the hotel. We just loved our stay and will be back very soon !

Room Tip: The hotel is small and all rooms are beautiful. It's a quiet location so no disturbance observed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Funky07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Dear Funky07,

A big thank you for taking the time to post a review which is is so beautifully written! How wonderful to know that you very much enjoyed your recent stay at our Kazbek hotel!
It was a great pleasure to have you staying with us and we sicerely hope you will return to us in the near future.
Warm regards from Dubrovnik,

Pave Miloglav
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
2.7 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
853 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,135 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,570 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kazbek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kazbek

Address: Lapadska Obala 25, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £99 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kazbek 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated boutique setting with only 12 superior and deluxe bedrooms and 1 suite, the Kazbek Hotel is a 'home from home' for many discerning Dubrovnik visitors looking for a high degree of privacy and modern facilities in a historical ambience. The Kazbek is situated in Gruz bay only 10 min of drive from UNESCO protected Dubrovnik Old City. The former residence of 16th-century nobility now protected as a cultural monument is fully renovated to the highest standards and has regained its original beauty and function. Refined and graceful rooms all individually designed, perfectly combine classical style with 21st century amenities and comfort. You will love breakfasting on the beautiful courtyard terrace, sunbathing and relaxing at the private pool area. The rich and varied gastronomic cultures of Croatia can be tasted at the restaurant, where only the freshest and locally produced ingredients are used. The whole Kazbek area is a completely non smoking zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kazbek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kazbek Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing