We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad. But Not Great”
Review of Kamenice

Kamenice
Ranked #107 of 402 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Not Bad. But Not Great”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We ate at Kamenice based on the advice of friends who had eaten here a couple of times. The menu was pretty basic. We split a "Caprese" type salad of tomatoes and soft cheese which was very good. My wife had sea bass and I had the calamari. The sea bass was good and the calamari was good. Not heavily breaded, which was very nice, but it wasn't very hot either. Close to room temperature. As others have said service was kind of slow, but that seems pretty common in Dubrovnik. It was a nice setting outside and it was the most crowded of the several restaurant s nearby. Some had only a few patrons while Kamenice was crowded and had a waiting line. So maybe we just didn't make good food choices.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gogaterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    406
    188
    104
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Killarney, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Food was ok, not great. Service was appalling...”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Had lunch here. Menu was ok, not a great selection. What we ordered was nice, but nothing to write home about. Calamari was about the best thing.
The service however was absolutely terrible. Our waitress was simply rude, very abrupt and seemed totally disinterested. It's the only time I can remember that we just couldn't bring ourselves to leave a tip. She was terrible to other tables around us also...she brought the wrong order to the table next to us and when they said it she actually argued with them, like they didn't know what they ordered. I have no doubt she didn't hear their order as she was completely disinterested.
The basics of customer service evade this place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foley_michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, great value for money”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

The food here is plain and good. They serve mostly seafood and are very reasonably priced (70 kuna=10 eur for main course).
We ate here twice and were overall satisfied.
The risotto here is not the best(its overall OK) , more like damp rice and not creamy.

Helpful?
1 Thank guy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Plain menu, but great value for money”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was the first place where we ate in Dubrovnik. We had walked around, looking for a nice place and stumbled across the Kamenice. The first good sign was that it was packed, which was not the case with the neighboring restaurants. There was even a cue in front. We got a table quite soon and as we sat down, we notice how the que had lenghthend to about 20 parties. The menu is quite simple, with regular local fish dishes, risottos, small fried fish, fried squid. Apparently the restaurant has been around for a while, is family run and clearly popular also among locals. The food was great, supersized plates and you can just sit there and watch people shuffling by. Will surely eat there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Egotrippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Big serves, fresh fish, excellent value”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were met and seated (as were all the other diners) by the smiling and gracious owner of the restaurant. We were served by friendly, efficient, smiling, obliging staff. I ordered the calamari and my husband had the fried small fish. Both were served in oversized plates overflowing with food!! We washed it down with a crisp house white. We sat outside in the middle of a square with lots of life milling around us. While we were there, I counted only 4 empty tables (out of a possible 50 tables) at any one time as people would sit down as soon as the table was vacated. to It was excellent value and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kamenice also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Kamenice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing