We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Coastal Gem for this Wonderful City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Importanne Resort Dubrovnik

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dubrovnik
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Importanne Resort Dubrovnik
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Coastal Gem for this Wonderful City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

If you are looking for a hotel on the coast with top comfort, great ocean views and not concerned about a 15 minute bus journey into the old city then I do commend you this complex.

The Importanne Resort is made up of three interconnecting hotels. The Neptun is the original hotel (and known by the taxi community as that), the Ariston Hotel and the Importanne Suites. There is a shared reception for all three.

We stayed in the Suites and hadvroom 2108, the last suite from the reception on the first floor but with commanding views over the bay. The suite consists of master bed, lounge, two bathrooms, fridge, microwave, two tvs and long balcony. There is also a kettle and complementary tea and coffee but you will need to buy milk.

The Location is in Babin Kuk a peninsula of Coastal hotels to the North West of the City. It is about 35 mins taxi ride from the airport at 260 kunas ( about £35). The Old City is about 2.5 miles away up and over a hilly road and along the inland harbour. It is served by local transport buses which are frequent. The number 6 bus leaves from outside the resort every 15 minutes. They have to be frequent as they serve a very busy hotel area and my word they get very busy! Luckily Importanne is at the end and start od the route so you should always get a seat. Two stops later and it is standing room only. Last bus leaves from outside Pile gate of the Old City at midnight. Miss that and there are plenty of taxis - expect to pay between 70 and 80 kunas about £10. Buy your bus tickets at reception. They are cheaper than buying from the driver.

Resort is served by a breakfast room with a buffet and sun terrace in a separate building. There is also a good beach bar and two restaurants although we tried neither. Across the road from the complex and 150m down a small lane there is a nice Dalmatian restaurant specialising in roast meats on the fire.

There is a pathway that runs from the complex along the coast. It is well worth the 30 minute trek to the centre of Lapad with cafes and restaurants. You can hire cycles if you want to get there quicker. There is also a small spa with gym and small indoor pool.

Wifi is available in all three hotels and in reception.

The best part of the stay at Importanne was the service. Top drawer. Friendly humorous reception team, friendly restaurant staff and room teams. The Croatian people
are very hospitable we found and very willing to talk of their history.

The Old City is of course spectacular. Try to see it for the first time at night. A must is the 2 ams walk along the City Walls. They are steep and there is no shade from the sun. Get there early to avoid queuing with the throng.

Room Tip: Buy your bus tickets at reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wanderlust2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    59
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
73
87
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

Lovely big room and very, very comfy bed! Good facilities, helpful and polite staff, wide variety of things to eat for breakfast. Also a convenient location for travelling into the old city or just being right by the sea.

Slight negatives, reception staff were always very busy - but always polite. Bar staff do not know how to make cocktails, despite them being much more expensive than anywhere else we went! Also, in the 5 days we were there no one was at the spa to take my booking so I dont know whether the spa was even open!

Overall I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BondGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

yes we looked at alot of hotels, but value/pleasure for your money and time, can only be found at this hotel. We were amazed with the beach first of all, original rocks with 2 salt water pool (figured out that the hard way). The view is just amazing, with indoor pool and 5 in total i think (to many to count). Also, from reception desk to the bar staff, everyone is kind and courteous. Definitely recommend,and will be back next summer in June (already booked). old town is a 15 min, 60-70kuna taxi ride but after seeing the city and having dinners, you kind of cant wait to head back to the resort hotel as alot of tourist in town. Better its alittle out so you have choice to stay or go into the old town. Also , definitely recommend the boat ride with a Canadian ROB driver. He takes you to pretty much all the islands, and ride along side the old town for a small amount... well worth it... to much to mention, definitely recommend. our first choice was Hilton, but near the city and that is most to say about that hotel as no other options along beach /boat/view etc...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dachshund2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

The Importanne resort was great last year, but with the addition of an extra pool and extra spa facilities it is now truly a 5 star experience. Thanks to Dennis and his team for making our fortnight truly memorable, from the cuisine in Zoe to the little details such as the girl who gave both my daughters,(6 and 3) manicures in the spa.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank davidmacal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

My family (2 adults, 3 kids under 10 years old) stayed at Importanne Resorts Dubrovnik last year (read old review), and we decided to return this year. During the off season, the hotel added an indoor pool alongside a well equipped fitness room. The staff was extremely friendly and prices were fair. The hotel was filled to capacity and one didn't even feel it. The breakfast was very good, however you had to "jockey" to get a table on the terrace overlooking the Adriatic Sea. All in all I still share the same opinion as last year, the hotel is a true Gem for R&R, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GorSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

Probably not the best hotel in Dubrovnik but very good value for your money. Importanne resort are several hotels/apartments located on the Babik Kuk peninsula. The resort have 2 different restaurants to choose between. The location is great, the surroundings are green and floral. The hotel has two seawater swimmingpools. The sunbeds were free for the hotelsguests, they also have lifeguards. Waiters came by and took our orders. A dip in the adriatic ocean is always fantastic.
The rooms were large, so were the balconys and with a beatiful view. We arrived before check in time but that was no problem. In fact because we were so early we got a extra large room. Good service. The roomservice was quick and excellent. Breakfastbuffet was large.
Busstop near the hotel.

Hope to be staying here again.
Will also recommend a restaurant near the hotel by the path into lapad. Located only 100 meters from the resort.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanne-norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

Came here last weekend and had a fabulous time at the hotel.

Accommodation: we stayed at a suite facing the garden. The suit is *very* spacious, clean and comfortable. It even comes with two bathrooms and a kitchen.

Service: the staff is generally friendly. Free internet at the lobby is a plus.

Food: only had breakfast at the hotel, rather uninspiring and bland, but it did have a very wide range of hot and cold dishes to choose from.

Location: at first I thought the hotel (located in Lapad) is a bit out of the way, but when I arrived I absolutely loved the location! The hotel is located about 20mins away from the Old Town by bus (bus stop right in front of the hotel), right in front of the bay and has some good restaurants near by. If you like the convenience of being in the Old Town then this hotel might not be for you. But if you'd like a relaxing time in a quiet neighborhood, you cannot go wrong with the Lapad area.

Facility: great swimming area (I had so much fun jumping off the rocks), great poolside bar, good spa service, reasonably priced drinks.

Would definitely stay here again next time I return to Dubrovnik

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rawsmoothie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#14 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neptun Hotel Dubrovnik
Neptun Hotel Dubrovnik
#11 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.3 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#19 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Importanne Resort Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Importanne Resort Dubrovnik

Property: Importanne Resort Dubrovnik
Address: Kardinala Stepinca 31c, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Importanne Resort Dubrovnik 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Importanne Resort Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Importanne Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing