We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from a 5 star hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dubrovnik
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Importanne Resort Dubrovnik
Ranked #23 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Far from a 5 star hotel”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

On the surface, this hotel is very much a typical resort hotel. Near the sea, great pools, regular bus service, large rooms overlooking the sea, typical buffet food for breakfast. However, my first impressions were not the five star quality this hotel advertises. Our room wasn't ready on arriving, there was no room service menu- no room service- despite the fact it was 2pm. When I enquired about food I was told to go to the restaurant, but on arriving we were advised by other guests not to bother waiting as the service was poor. (We were under pressure for time).

Our room inside and out was spacious and clean, but was beside the construction site of the new part of the hotel. Work started at 7.10am. It was not very pleasant being woken up by a jack hammer every morning.

The bar closed at 11pm on Saturday night. No residents bar. No entertainment. We had been exploring the city all day and really didn't want to have to leave again at night but had no choice.

I found the reception staff largely unhelpful- even when it came to our lost key they didn't believe we were guests until I produced the other one, and two of our party had a terrible time trying to clear up the bill when they were charged twice.

Overall, I will not be staying in this hotel again. For the money, I expect more.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elmomoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    61
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
77
90
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Every night in Dubrovnik you see some of the most beautiful sunsets and you can view them right from your hotel if you stay at Importanne Suites and Hotel Neptun. The staff was very helpful, including the manager who showed us where the trail was. The food was great if you love seafood. If you are staying longer stay in the Suites which are more spacious.

Room Tip: Sea view is a MUST. Importanne Suites have a better view and balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YVR_Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Hello international Travelers, here is one destination that you will not want to miss.

Hotel Neptun and Importanne Resort in Dubrovnik. The atmosphere is relaxing and the view of the sea is one of a kind. The food is excellent and the hotel staff are just amazing.

My favorite time to visit is late August. There is all kinds of things to do. Every morning i would walk that little magical path along the sea towards the little town. Its about 10 minutes and just stunningly beautiful. On that path you will be able to see a bit of Villa Elita, a historical Mansion that was restored after the war. That property is completely breathtaking. I
truly hope you have the chance to experience it all. Yours truly Loulou.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sea side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loulou313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My husband, I,a couple of our friends and their son went to Dubrovnik and stayed at this hotel for 3 nights between the 29th of December and the 1st of January.This is a complex of a 4 starred and a 5 starred hotels, situated at the seaside, a bit out of the old town.The hotel was very good with spacious, comfortable rooms and very good in general too.We enjoyed the breakfast buffet a lot since it was a very good,rich buffet compared to hotels in europe in general.They even had gluten free food for people who were alergic to gluten.
As I've said before the hotel was not in the center,but we took taxis to the center and it costed only 10 euros.You can take busses for less if you like.The staff is friendly like many other Croation people.Don't doubt,go to Croatia and stay at this hotel.You'll enjoy it,but go there in summer.it's better :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank splashIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed 1 week in this hotel in June 2011. We bought this stay through eBay so the price was really perfect comparing to hotel regular price.
We stayed at the apartment house of this resort - the apartments were really luxury, with separate bedroom from the living room with small kitchenette, and it had 2 bathrooms! really surpassed the expectations.
Hotel has its own rocky beach with free umbrellas + sunbeds and saltwater swimming pool, with a bar next to beach with beautifull view to the sea.
What we didnt like was the food. For a 5* hotel the dinner buffet was quite poor and the food was simply not tasty. We had a problem to pick one tasty meal from the big buffet.
What was a little bit sad also for a 5* hotel, that one day there was a wedding held and the next day evening was as desert served the wedding cake from that wedding. This should not happen in a 5* hotel I think.
Overall - lodging was amazing, hotel beach very nice, and the food terrible.
But regardless of the food, I would come again, so I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Apartments were amazing. I was not in a regular room, so I cannot compare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katarina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We have a family member with Cerebral Palsy, in a wheel chair. This January we stayed at Importanne Resort in Dubrovnik because of the accessibility. The hotel has wheelchair modified rooms, though we had a non-modified 2 bdrm, 2 bath suite. Very satisfied. The beds were low enough and there are ramps leading to the elevators throughout the hotel and to the restaurant where breakfast is served. It’s worth eating breakfast a little later, as it’s a full hot and cold buffet and feels more like brunch or lunch. We were very pleased with the staff, who had a “western” and service-oriented warmth.

Would certainly recommend it - I think they have one of the best “natural” views that I’ve seen in Dubrovnik: the stark rock with the lush Elafiti islands to the west.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reha-jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Great facilities with a view! We stayed at the Hotel Neptune, within the Importanne Resort. The resort itself is located on the coast (~5 to 10 min by bus from the old city). The water and area surrounding the resort was beautiful. It was easy to let time pass sitting on a patio, looking at the Adriatic, with a cold drink in hand. The hotel staff are welcoming, informative, funny and multilingual, while the rooms were clean and comfortable. This place takes care of the little details, such as packing a breakfast for you if you have an early flight, which allows you to truly relax and enjoy the great city of Dubrovnik. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.0 mi away
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#17 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#19 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Importanne Resort Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Importanne Resort Dubrovnik

Property: Importanne Resort Dubrovnik
Address: Kardinala Stepinca 31c, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Importanne Resort Dubrovnik 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Importanne Resort Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Importanne Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing