We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great views, could do with a bit of updating” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartment Peppino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apartment Peppino
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
120 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great location, great views, could do with a bit of updating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at this apartment for 5 nights during our stay in Dubrovnic. We wanted to stay in the Old Town and were struggling to find decent priced accommodation in the town until we came across Bura/Peppino Apartment. We stayed in the top flor apartment as previous reviewers had recommended and we feel it was worth it for the views over the Old Town.

We arrived quite early and as we got a taxi from the airport we got there earlier than expected so had about a 20 minute wait until she arrived. As we were early the previous guests hadn't yet checked out so we left our luggage on the stairs (there is no storage as it's basically a house with 3 levels each with it's own room) and we arranged to meet her at 1pm to collect the keys.

The location of the apartment is great, there are lots of stairs but you are so close to the main town with lots of bars/restuarants and sights virtually on your doorstep which was very handy. It can be tricky with heavy cases but it wouldn't put us off in the future.

As the apartments are in the old town, they are quite old and you could tell that they hadn't been updated for a long time. Whilst the room was very spacious, the bathroom in particular could do with a big overhaul. The shower wouldn't drain properly, the shower head wasn't attached to the wall so you had to hold it to have a shower and whilst it was clean, the age gave it an impression of not being that clean. I would recommend a complete new bathroom be installed. Also note, there is no shampoo/shower gel etc provided so bring your own. A small thing but worth noting.

Tonka is very trusting and doesn't ask for payment until you leave, we really hope she isn't taken advantage of for being so trusting as she is a very nicre friendly lady.

Overall, a great apartment and if it had a little bit of money spent on it could be amazing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrshoeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    18
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The owner Tonka was on hand to greet me at Apartment Peppino, although I battled to find the apartment as there are no street names in the Old Town. In fact, I bumped into her son when trying to find the place and he took me and my bags to the apartment. Tonka was very friendly and made sure that I was going to be comfortable. I stayed in the downstairs room of this apartment for 3 nights in June 2013. As my room was on the lowest level, it was a bit noisy and I would suggest staying in the upstairs rooms. All in all, if you don't mind climbing plenty of steps, the apartment is in a great position but a little noisy. If you want sleep without any noise, I would suggest booking into accommodation outside the Old Town (as I had done on a previous visit to Dubrovnik).

Room Tip: Get upstairs rooms which will be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petewakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed two nights in Apartment Peppino at the end of our time in Croatia.

The owner, Tonka, was on-hand when we arrived and was very friendly and welcoming indeed - she seemed a lovely person, and was happy to answer any questions we had before leaving us to it.

A big, comfortable bed, a small but well-equipped kitchen and a clean bathroom were all present and correct, as well as a TV and good wi-fi. The only minor issue was with the hot water, which seemed to take a long time to reheat after being depleted by a shower - at least according to the temperature gauge on the side of the boiler anyway. Not a big deal though, and easily gotten around by having a shorter shower or turning the water-flow down a bit. The only other curiosity was the kitchen sink, which was a double, with a plug only in one half; the half which the tap would not reach to. Again, no big deal, and probably not even worth mentioning, but a strange design quirk.

The location was absolutely perfect - just far enough away from the main street to be quiet (a one-minute climb up some stone steps), but close enough to feel like you're right in the middle of the historic Old Town of Dubrovnik, a real fairy-tale place.

It's also well-located for access to the Airport Shuttle Bus, which stops at the cable car station above the town - on the same side that the apartment is located. It's only a 10-minute walk. On that note, it's worth mentioning that you should buy your shuttle bus ticket when you're actually on the bus. We bought ours in advance, but it transpired that we'd bought tickets for a rival company's shuttle bus and they weren't valid for the one we caught, which wasn't made clear at the time. Only a five-euro mistake, but worth mentioning.

If you're looking for comfortable, self-catering accommodation in the Old Town, I would strongly recommend Apartment Peppino.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MonsieurPompidou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We recently spent a few days in the historic city of Dubrovnik, Croatia.
For our stay we chose the Apartments Peppino.
Our room, which was on the ground floor of the building, was plain but clean and well equipped with a decent shower and a small kitchen. The bed was king sized and very comfortable.
Tonka, the owner of the apartments, was on hand when we arrived and was very welcoming.
The apartment is situated right in the heart of the old city and just a short walk away from the airport bus stop.
Even though it was quite a climb to the apartment we would be very happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: The upper rooms in the building look more interesting. But it would involve climbing even more steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank searcher111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights..lovely clean apartment, great central location just a few mins walk from main stradan! Great wine bar d'vino just down the steps also! Owner Tonka very helpful and friendly - answered any questions we had promptly throughout our trip! Would recommend!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mustley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

旧市街の中にあるアパートメントです。
そのため、非常に立地が良く、観光には非常に便利。

階段を上るので、スーツケースで移動される方は、バックパックも合わせて使って、スーツケースを軽めにしておいた方がベター。

オーナーは非常に親切。
鍵の開け方が分からなくって若干パニックに陥り電話をかけましたが、親切に対応してくれました。

また、ここの口コミで、最上階の景色が素晴らしいと書いてあったので予約したのですが、初日は1階がアサインされ、やっぱり暗くて部屋のチェンジをメールしたところ、快く変えてくださいました。
私が到着した日は、まだ別の方が使っていたそうです。

口コミ通り、最上階の景色は素晴らしく、あぁ、ここに来てよかったな~と一気にテンションが上がりました。
古い建物をメンテナンスして使っているので、新しいきれいな設備を望まれる方は新市街のホテルにした方が良いかと思います。

近くにはスーパーもありますが、うっかり通り過ぎがちなので気を付けてください。
スーパー以外で購入すると、水は最低でも2倍かかります。

I'm so happy to have stayed here.
Location is very very good!! The view of the top floor is excellent!!
I recommend this apartment if you want to stay in the old town.
The ownere is a really kind person.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ykyklnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely room up one of the alleys and close to everything Old Town has to offer. The room was comfortable and kitted out with everything one would need in the kitchen. Tonka is very nice and accommodating. Reasonable value for money in a great location. Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelife23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.0 mi away
Dubrovnik Old Town Anne Rooms
Dubrovnik Old Town Anne Rooms
#59 of 66 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.1 mi away
APARTMANI LEPUR
APARTMANI LEPUR
#49 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edi's Sea View Rooms Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Odak
Villa Odak
#33 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.7 mi away
Adria Apartments
Adria Apartments
#48 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lux Apartments
Lux Apartments
#55 of 66 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartment Peppino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment Peppino

Property: Apartment Peppino
Address: Palmoticeva 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia (Formerly Apartment Bura)
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartment Peppino 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Apartment Peppino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing