We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the outskirts, quite far to Dubrovnik”
Review of Villa Katarina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Katarina
Ranked #239 of 516 Speciality Lodging in Dubrovnik
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Some of the descriptions of the hotel on the web page are misleading. It is not 800m to the next bus stop but it is rather 2 km, so it takes a while to get into town. If you want to travel to one of the Elafiti Islands, this place might work as it is not that far away from the central bus stations but if you want to visit Dubrovnik, it is a bit far (also to the next bus stop). The apartment was clean and had a nice shower. It had a tiny swimming pool, which however was not working. We tried to check in before daily opening hours between 2-5 pm, which the owner did not like and he became unfriendly with us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Germansingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinovic, Owner at Villa Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thank you for the time taken to write your review.

I feel compelled to respond to the wrong data and information that has been provided in the review and point out a few corrections, as well as to help future guests understand the context of your comments:

Villa Katarina is located in Dubrovnik as can be verified on any map (street Petra Svačića 3, 20000 Dubrovnik), it is not in any outskirts but in the Lapad Bay of Dubrovnik City.

Local Bus no. 5 has a station 30 meters away from Villa Katarina and the bus no. 6 stop is 600 meters away. The ride into the Old Town (which I am assuming the reviewer refers to as "Dubrovnik") is 10-15 minutes long depending on traffic.

Our pool has been in function every day of the summer season and is open between 10h and 18h, and will remain in function until 20th of October.

Our regular check-in time is from 14h to 17h, but check-in is possible at any time. However, when a guest arrives unannounced at 06:30 in the morning and expects to be checked-in, it is a little difficult because the previous guest is still in the apartment and the check-out time is 11h. As always, we allow the guests to leave their luggage and come back at 13h or 14h when we had enough time to clean and prepare their apartment.

For your next visit we hope you will be able to stay longer than just 1 night in order to really experience the hospitality of Villa Katarina and explore different sites of Dubrovnik.

Many regards from sunny Dubrovnik,
family Martinović

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

Spotless, well equiped self catering villa.
About 8 villas sited in a modern 4 story building.
Situated on steep mountainside, as all villas are in this area. Lots of steps down to the beach, or you can be cheeky and use the lift at the nearby Kompas Hotel!
We occupied a ground floor flat and had a beautiful view over Lapd Bay, so all villas will enjoy great views.
Small swimming pool about 4m x 3m but ideal to cool off in.
Air conditioning worked well, and we didn't hear any noise at night time.
About 100m from the bus stop to the Old City, reliable, every 10-15 minutes, cost £1.20.
Lapad Bay itself is small, crowded and very touristy, so we headed west and found much nicer beaches, although all pebbly or concreted.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views and balconies, the bottom two villas have balconies on the same level as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Just returned from a family holiday at the Villa Katarina. We stayed in the Sweet Almond apartment which was perfect. Very clean and spacious and the views over Lapad where amazing. The small pool was ideal for a refreshing dip. Location was ideal for Lapad and bus stop into Dubrovnik. Would recommend this place and reccomened this place. Dont miss the cave bar at Hotel More

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank checkersManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We arrived late to the Apartment and when we woke up the following morning we were greeted by at view that was breath taking. We read here about the Kompass hotel and the elevator to the beach and it saves some serious walking.

The towels were changed every Tuesday and Saturday and the apartment was cleaned on them days also. When you are checking out they will store your cases and provide a shower to freshen up for no extra charge for those of you who have a late flight.

The apartments are spacious and clean. We did have noisy people next door one night but they were spoken too as the owners live on site. I would have no hesitation recomending this place.

My one tip for those who like walking. Head down to the Kompass hotel. Take the elevator to the ground floor. Head outside and turn right. It is the most enchanting walk and do not pass the cave bar without a visit.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view. but the view on the ground floor isnt great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinMiked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I stayed here with a friend several weeks ago, and everything I read on TripAdvisor was accurate. The apartments were very clean, comfortable, and spacious, and we loved our balcony. The pool was small but perfect- nice to be able to relax and take a dip in the pool after spending an afternoon on the beach (about a 10 minute walk away). The views of Lapad Bay were beautiful.

Down the stairs near the beach, lots of restaurants and bars, and another 10 minutes up the road was the bus into Old Town, which was very easy to use. Short ride into the city and the bus runs until very late, I think about 2 am.

Would def stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sid464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed for 1 week. Apartment never cleaned once. Towels changed once only & bins emptied, but bed linen never changed. Had to check out a t 11am and bus not picking us up until 6pm for airport. Nowhere to freshen up\shower available before pick up.
Otherwise, nice apartment with brilliant views & free wifi. Local Kompashotel with lift bringing you down 8 floors is brilliant for avoiding 140 steps to promenade!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Niall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Rooms clean owners very friendly made our holiday very enjoyable the location had lovely views over the bay but to many steps to the promenade easier to follow the road down a little longer but worth it

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.5 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
981 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#39 of 68 in Dubrovnik
333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Park
Grand Hotel Park
#30 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
0.5 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#21 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Katarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Katarina

Address: Petra Svachica 3, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 516 Speciality Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £57 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Katarina 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing architectural structure shelters within it an oasis of peace and luxury where the style is acutely modern, but classic Dalmatian values are still maintained. Its concept combines a clear design with attention to details that cross the lines between the warmth of a home and the comfort of an elegant accommodation. Several delightful beaches, sea-side promenades, and bustling cafes are within walking distance of Villa Katarina, but its location just on the border of a green zone makes it also a place to capture moments of peace and rediscover the simple pleasures of sea, air, and time in an exclusive atmosphere of beauty. Each of the 7 self-catering apartments has floor-to-ceiling windows which lead to terraces with spectacular Adriatic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Katarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Katarina Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing