We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel very clean staff very helpful got everything you could need.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel very clean staff very helpful got everything you could need.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed 3 night, room very clean & modern. View lovely, excellent buffet breakfast. Bus stop outside hotel that costs £1.50 to the old town every 15 mins. Takes approx 15 min to the old town & can be busy in the evening. Taxi costs about £10. Reception staff are excellent & can't do enough to make your stay perfect especially Mirko & Toni both very helpful. Nice swimming pool & delicious ice cream which is only 90p for a cone ummm.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jules1804onholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivankarlic, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Dear Guest,
It is always motivating for our staff and management to read complementing reviews from our valued guests. We are so pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and found our Reception staff (particularly Mirko and Toni) helpful and dedicated and enjoyed the swimming pool facilities in Lacroma. Many thanks on sharing you positive experience during your stay in Valamar Lacroma on the Trip Advisor.
Yours sincerely
Ivan J. Karlić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    552
    119
    18
    14
See reviews for
302
742
67
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

We arrived quite late and were quickly checked in and off to our room, which was really nice, clean and tidy. Unfortunately, we were next to a 'party' room so were woken up at 2am. After three phonecalls to the reception, the noise was still going ...so we insisted on being moved.And off we went to a nice apartment five floors up...which was even more flash, great views, but importantly quiet!

The hotel staff were very friendly and professional. We had dinner in the buffet restaurant one night and if you are after a real lovely dining experience go to their other restaurant or to one of the nice wee restarants around the place. That is not to say it was not nice or unpleasant, we just expected something a ittle nicer in terms of the food (for those from NZ think the very plain restaurant franchise Valentines). But there was lots of choice. Breakfast was there the next day and it had loads of choice and was good.

The location of the hotel is about a 15 minute bus ride to the old city, which was the reason we went and we weren't disappointed - a beautiful place.

e woudl recommend this hotel - but if you are looking for a more cosy and not so any people around place - then perhaps not your hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeandLyndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivankarlic, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Dear Guests,
Thank you for a great review, thank you for complementing our staff and the service they provide. As it so happens, sometimes our guests run into uncomfortable and awkward situations like you did on arrival with your "neighbours" next door being too loud. We are happy this was resolved quickly and that you got the peace and quiet you expected after a long journey.
Great to hear you were happy with our Fine Dining Restaurant. We were curious to learn of the Valentines' brand you compared our buffer restaurant with so we looked them up! - Although dining experience and web site impressions are incomparable, still, yes we can see the relation between the two and take it as a compliment.
As you can appreciate, our main Lacroma Restaurant caters daily for on average 0 - 50 different nationalities and although we try with our daily theme dinners to make it more versatile and "local" , still we have to make sure those less adventurous guests are also content.
Once again, many thanks on your very sincere and complementary review and when you are next on the European tour, please let us know if we can assist you in any way.
Yours sincerely
Ivan J. Karlić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We loved the hotel, the service, the pools, the spa area, and especially the magnificent view from our room: the Adreatic Sea with numerous islands. Some things could be improved, but all in all, it was a very nice resort. However if you like the sea to be warm and beaches sandy, think of some alternative: the water in June was quite chilly, and the beaches are normally stones, difficult to walk into and out of the sea. The water is very clean though, of beautiful color. It'sonly a 20-minute trip by bus to the Old City, so we could combine lazy days on the beach with excursions and walks around the city.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olya_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivankarlic, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking time to write such great review of our hotel. We absolutely agree with you that improvements are always possible and are working hard on always making some. As you point out Dubrovnik region is not a destination with many sandy beaches. There are a few on the islands and some pebbly on the mainland but most of the beaches are combination of rocks and pebbles, hence the transparency and cleanliness of the sea is impressive.
We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed some lazy time and combined it with site seeing which is the best possible combination when on holidays and who knows, you might decide and come for some more? If we can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Yours sincerely
Ivan J. Karlić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

rooms are clean and comfortable , good breakfast , good location .in 15 min by bus you can reach old town.
I liked president beach as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asli77sayin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivankarlic, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Dear Guest
Great to read you loved Dubrovnik and that you will come and visit our beautiful city again. We were even more pleased to read your review in regards to your complements regarding Valamar Lacroma. Good day starts with good breakfast so we are glad you complemented our breakfast at Lacroma as well as the comfort and cleanliness of the hotel. We would be honoured see you again as our guest.
Yours sincerely,
Ivan J. Karlić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed 6 nights at Valamar Lacroma Resort. The hotel is new, the service quality is very good, the receptionists -mostly Mr.Emilio- are very helpful. (Even they don't know the answer of your question, they make a quick research and give you a good solution.) The cleaning ladies are nice and friendly. The sunset view of the hotel, is worth to have a coffee even you don't stay at the resort.

Our experience was very good in general but I should criticize some points:

The breakfast room is full of bacon grill smell in the morning, it will be hard to stay if you don't eat meat or ham. Even you stay for some minutes inside (to serve yourself from the buffet,) you might have that smell on your clothes.

I think there is a lack of signage boards at the resort. You might be lost in the surrounding buildings of the resort in your first day, as we did.

The Spa section, the men locker room doesn't smell good. Also you should struggle for a second towel at the spa reception desk. They ask you where will you go, where to use the second towel etc. Also spa is dark in general.

The car rental service, that the resort work with, might ignore your demand to pay with a credit card and ask cash at the last minute. Even we asked to pay with credit card at the reservation process, made by the hotel reception, car rental guy, didn't bring his machine, because we were renting only for 2 days! The machine, he said, are for longer rentals. So double check your payment options.

Tips: It's better to walk down from the hotel lobby to the terminal bus station when you are going to Dubrovnik-Old city. You might have seats.

Room Tip: The resort are very large. So avoid rooms far from the elevators.Room at XX60's and we should wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KNemo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivankarlic, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Dear Guests,
Firstly, let me thank you on compliments you have written about our hotel in your review. We have also taken your points regarding our breakfast room, signage, men Spa locker room and rent-a-car facilities seriously and will work on resolving each of them as the circumstances allow.
We are in the process of addressing the issue with the outside signage, since this was previously identified as a requirement. Particularly now that our park area between hotels Lacroma, Argosy, Tirena and President has been horticulturally treated and a new stone pathway built. New signs will be up shorty to direct our guests to the facilities and hotels on Babin kuk.
The smell in men's Spa locker room has already been addressed. Unfortunately this sometimes happens depending on the outside weather conditions. It is centrally not due to any lack of cleaning in this area. Being aware that his might be uncomfortable for our guests we will pay more attention to this matter.
The issue with Car rental is of a great concern to us since we expect our partners who provide this service to offer the same high standard to our guests and we strive to do. Hence we are in contact with them resolving this issue and we are sure such situations with minimum hire and credit card payment will not occur in future.
Once again, many thanks on sharing your impressions of our property on Trip Advisor. We are happy to read that in spite of these few small remarks your stay with us was pleasant and we hope to be able to greet you again on some other occasion.
Yours sincerely,
Ivan J. Karlic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Spent 7 nights at this hotel. It was wonderful - beautiful room, excellent food. It is situated on a bus route which takes you directly to the gates of the old town.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dublin 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivankarlic, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Dear Guest,
Many thanks on taking time to complement our hotel on the site. We are thrilled to hear your stay in our hotel was pleasant and that your week's holidays was enjoyable. Should you decide to come and stay with us again we would be pleased to assist you with your reservation.
Yours sincerely
Ivan J. Karlic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We had been touring across Croatia and Bosnia and decided to finish the holiday with a bit of luxury by staying at Valamar Lacroma.
The rooms are of a great standard and the public areas are immaculate (although it sometimes feels like an airport terminal or shopping mall inside).The breakfast is very nice but I wouldnt recommend the a la carte restaurant as it is overpriced for what you get. The staff are very friendly and no request is too much.
This resort is good for relaxing, and there are regular buses to the old town from outside the hotel (avoid the bus around 6pm and 11pm as they are like the last helicopter out of Saigon).
All in all we were very happy wih our choice.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the twenties (eg 4026) as you get a sea view for free
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDougl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivankarlic, Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Dubrovnik, greetings from Valamar Lacroma. We are so pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. The photographs you have submitted on your review, particularly one of the sunset do justice to our beautiful property and the location.
Many thanks for taking time to share your experience on the Trip advisor and we hope to have an opportunity of extending our hospitality to you again on another occasion.
Yours sincerely
Ivan J. Karlić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#19 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#10 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#16 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Property: Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Address: Iva Dulcica 34, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik 4*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dubrovnik's flagship business and leisure hotel Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel, the proud recipient of the prestigious 2013, 2015 and 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Hotel" and the 2014, 2015 and the 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Business Hotel", is located on the tranquil Babin Kuk peninsula, surrounded by pine tree forests and soothing white pebble beaches. Renowned for its fusion of nature and state of the art facilities, the hotel offers ultra modern rooms and suites, the largest MICE facilities in the area, memorable gastronomic experiences in its gourmet restaurant, a wine bar terrace with panoramic views of the Elaphiti Islands and an abundance of activities to let you create a perfectly balanced holiday in Croatia with an added touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing