We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We came for one week, a couple attending a conference. We read the tripadvisor reviews fist, and should comment. The service was really good. It is easy to get to town on bus #6. Indeed, if you like to sleep, make sure your room is far from the tavern.

I really like my morning shower, and the one flaw was that the shower temperature varied a bit. The Old City has been appropriately placed on the UNESCO World Trashy Shopping List, so climb up the stairs away from the center, tour the walls, tour town away from the Old City.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivankarlic, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear Guests
Many thanks on your kind review. Statement of “excellency” from our guests is both encouraging and obliging. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found Dubrovnik to be an interesting city to visit as a tourist and also good conference delegate. The combination of the two is the advantage Dubrovnik has over many other destinations. We will also look into the hot water varied temperature situation you have mentioned in your review. Thank you for sharing your positive experience on line.
Yours sincerely
Ivan J. Karlic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,196 - 1,202 of 1,930 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2011

We have just returned from our vacation at Valamar Lacroma, and it's been absolutely lovely! The hotel is great and definitely worth the stay. Our room was big and very clean, with all the necessary amenities, a large bathroom and a balcony with garden view and partial sea view. I noticed some rooms have no balcony, so if you're keen on that I suppose you have to specifically request a room that has one. If you bring your own laptop or tablet, there is free high-speed and wireless Internet in the room. Otherwise, you have to go to the Internet corner down by the lobby and pay for your seat in front of one of the computers. The breakfast was awesome, so many delicious choices (especially the pastries). The hotel has a gym, a spa and three pools (indoor, outdoor and one for kids), but it doesn't have it's own beach, as it's not on the shore. However, you have free access to the Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel's beach, which is only a 2-minute walk away. This beach is pebbly, very clean, and has a blue flag for the quality of the water, which is crystal-clear and perfect for snorkeling. We saw a lot of fish species, in all shapes and colors! Other public beaches near the Valamar complex (besides Lacroma and President, there are also Tirena, Dubrovnik Club and Argosy, all three star hotels belonging to the same chain) are Cava and Copacabana, but here you will have to rent your deckchairs and umbrella. The complex is actually a huge park, connected by alleys and driveways, so it's fairly easy to get from one place to another. In the center of the complex, near the Tirena hotel, there is an area with souvenir shops, mini-markets and restaurants. If you want to go to the Old Town or the Gruz harbor, there is a bus stop just across the entrance to the hotel. Bus no. 6 arrives every 10 minutes and takes you to Pile gate, which is the entrance to the Old Town. Bus no. 7 takes you to Gruz harbor, but it comes by every hour. There are timetables in every bus stop. A ticket costs 12 kuna if you buy it from the driver and 8 kuna if you take it from a ticket booth. We preferred getting a Dubrovnik Card for one week, which included 20 bus trips and entrance to 8 museums and exhibitions. In conclusion, we're very happy for choosing Lacroma and we would definitely recommend it, not only for the comfort it provides, but also for its location: it has a wonderful beach just nearby, and you can easily explore any part of Dubrovnik by catching a bus in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Specifically request for room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank devkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivankarlic, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear Guests,
A lovely review and we thank you on it greatly! Not only does it present our destination resort and hotel in the best possible way, but it is also very informative to any guests planning to travel to Dubrovnik. Thank you for your kind, objective and detailed review. Now that you know the area very well we hope to be able to greet you in Valamar again either in Dubrovnik or in some other Valamar destinations; Poreč, Rabac, island Krk or island Pag. Keep in touch!
Yours sincerely
Ivan J. Karlic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik is 4 km away from the city center, in a place named Babin Kuk.
First of all it is a very clean place with a friendly and professional staff. Rooms are big enough, well equipped and thanks to the sound isolation, it is very quiet and you can get a peaceful long sleep without disturbance. There is a bus stop near the hotel and this is very important for Dubrovnik, because even if you have a car, thanks to the big parking problem at the city center, you are obliged to take the public buses most of the time. The hotel offers free parking and free internet.
The only two downsides are that we did not like the quality of the breakfast and the hotel does not have a beach but shares the beach of Valamar Lacroma President, so you have to walk to this hotel, get a key from the reception, take the elevator etc to reach the beach.
But the bottom line is that thanks to this hotel we enjoyed our holiday in spite of the negative aspects.

Room Tip: Get a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rokcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivankarlic, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear Guests,
Greetings from Dubrovnik and greetings from Lacroma. We are so pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for sharing your impressions on line. We have also noted your comments regarding the quality of breakfast which we can certainly improve on and on the vicinity of the beach which we cannot do much about but can work on making the access to our guests more enjoyable and easier.
Once again, many thanks
Yours sincerely
Ivan J. Karlic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This hotel has everything you need for a week away, great size rooms, lovely clean pool with many sun beds around it and a fabulous spa! The only downside is the food section. The pool bar only offers a few sandwiches and beef/cheese burgers. The hotel resturant was nice but the food was luke warm and many of the dishes were empty and not be refilled. The breakfast is by far the best element, so many choices and lots of it too!

Room Tip: The family room is great, it has an upstairs area which has a seperate bedroom for the adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FeeFee44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivankarlic, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Dear Guests,
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Great t to read your review, many thanks! We have recognised the need to extend the Pool Bar menu and will be implementing some improvements for the next season. Your remarks were most helpful since we need feedback from our guests to see if the ideas we have are also in line with what our guests would like in order to make their stay more comfortable. We shall also look at the issues in the restaurant to see how we can make improvements there too. These and many other improvements will be introduced for the next season and we hope that you will come and visit us again on some other occasion and experience these improvements personally. Until that time, we remain,
Yours sincerely
Ivan J. Karlic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

My friend and I stayed here for 7 days Aug-Sept this year and we both agree this is one of the best hotels EVER.

Everything from the pool, SPA, bedroom, breakfasts were fabulous. We found the staff very helpful & friendly (especially Diana, the assistant general manager) and appreciated the welcome drinks where a selection of staff from different areas of the hotel were introduced to all. We had free WIFI in our room which worked well .. however I found that WIFI was a bit hit & miss in other public areas of the hotel ... not an issue for me as it worked in my room when I needed it.

When getting the bus into the old town it's better to use the bus stop at the back of the hotel to ensure you get a seat as the bus can get v crowded by the time it comes around to the front.

In my opinion this is miles ahead of many 5 star hotels I have stayed in throughout Europe.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is a MUST
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H0ls_Addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivankarlic, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Dear Guests,
Happy guests make our job worthwhile and what better way to cheer us all up then to read a review like yours. Excellent x3 – how good can it get!  Many thanks for taking time to share your experiences on line. We are very pleased your enjoyed your stay with us and who knows, we might see you again? Should you want to return we would be glad to be at your disposal for any assistance you might need.
Yours sincerely
Ivan J. Karlic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days as a family of 4 with 2 children aged 13 and 11. After a 5 day stay in Split,we drove to Dubrovnik and were very impressed with this hotel. Excellent modern facilities and a fantastic swimming pool with sun loungers. Attentive staff which were friendly and helpful and a fantastic choice of food for breakfast.
We had two very big and comfortable interconnecting rooms, however the WiFi was a bit touch and go. The beds were big and very comfortable.
We will definitely be back, we thought this hotel was excellent value for money when we booked it through tripadvisor, (better than booking directly from the hotel), and we paid the same for our 5 days here as the hotel in Split, which was a much inferior hotel.
We definitely would rate this hotel as 5 star.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medicsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivankarlic, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Dear Guests,
Thank you for complementing our hotel and the services we provide for our guests. We are so pleased to hear your stay with us was enjoyable and that you would want to stay with us again on another occasion. Sorry about the Wi Fi glitches, this was due to us changing from one system to another and covering the whole hotel with the signal. Up until August of this year we had wireless system in the public areas and rooms were connected on a cable access. As we were changing the system it was not as reliable to start with. Until we have the pleasure of greeting you again in Lacroma, we remain,
Yours sincerely
Ivan J. Karlic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I am just back from Lacroma and it was one of the best holidays i have gone. I am totally fascinated! Thanks Valamar Lacroma! Thanks to all personnel which are very helpful about everything.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurhanTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivankarlic, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Dear Guests
We are sending you a big big smile form Valamar Lacroma!  Thank you for being our guest, we are absolutely trilled you enjoyed your stay with us. Please some again!
Yours sincerely
Ivan J. Karlic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#26 of 68 in Dubrovnik
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
975 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#21 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Address: Iva Dulcica 34, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £82 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik 4*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dubrovnik's flagship business and leisure hotel Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel, the proud recipient of the prestigious 2013, 2015 and 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Hotel" and the 2014, 2015 and the 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Business Hotel", is located on the tranquil Babin Kuk peninsula, surrounded by pine tree forests and soothing white pebble beaches. Renowned for its fusion of nature and state of the art facilities, the hotel offers ultra modern rooms and suites, the largest MICE facilities in the area, memorable gastronomic experiences in its gourmet restaurant, a wine bar terrace with panoramic views of the Elaphiti Islands and an abundance of activities to let you create a perfectly balanced holiday in Croatia with an added touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing