We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

Great to be away from the old city. Lovely and quiet location. Great pool outside and inside. Great choice for breakfast. 15 mins to town on bus no. 6 and be prepared to stand like sardines in the heat!! Hotel is modern with great facilities, lovely rooms sea view with balcony is nice if you want to sit out and dry your swimwear but not essential as you will be by the lovely pool all day. Friendly and professional staff the hotel is run very well.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guests,
Fabulous review! Thank you sincerely! We are thrilled you have enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for recommending Lacroma and highlighting all of the facilities, but most of all thank you on your kind words about our staff. Who knows we might see you again in Lacroma, please let us know if you ever plan to come back, we would be grateful if we can help in any way

Yours sincerely,
Ivica Sabljić
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    974
    570
    122
    20
    14
See reviews for
309
768
70
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salem OR
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights, great breakfast buffet. Rather a long walk to the beach but a beautiful big outdoor pool. Nice little shopping center nearby and buses running every 15 minutes at the top of the road to the town of Dubrovnik. took a boat excursion which I booked at the shopping mall where you see the big "boat excursions" sign. Can highly recommend it. 3 islands and you are gone all day. Lunch on the boat.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guests,
Greetings from Dubrovnik and greetings from Lacroma. We are so pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for sharing your impressions on line and providing some “first hand” information to the perspective visitors to Babin kuk Resort.
Once again, many thanks

Yours sincerely,
Ivica Sabljić
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is undoubtedly a high class hotel. We greatly enjoyed our week here. The staff are obviously well trained and the hotel is professionally managed. Other impressive features have been commented on by others. The bedrooms are quiet, no noise from neighbouring rooms nor from entertainement that finished at 11.00 pm. Comfortable beds and room service could not be faulted. To a degree the hotel reflects impressive aspects of Croatia as a country - friendly people, good organisation, cleanliness and absence of 'tat' that goes with tourism elsewhere.
We experienced one difficult issue at the hotel that was dealt with in a non-defensive, professional and generous manner. We suggested additions to information for guests to make use of the pool more straightforward and secure.

Room Tip: Facing the sea and at a high level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guests,
Sincere “Thank You” on your kind review. It is our greatest of pleasure when we read that our guest have enjoyed their stay with us and it makes all our efforts worthwhile. Thank you for complementing our staff and hotel facilities and we are really very happy that the difficulty you have experienced during your stay was resolved successfully and did not spoil your stay with us. Thank you on your kind suggestion regarding additional information on pool facilities. We have enlisted them as a priority at the next printing of Info maps for the bedrooms and also on some other printed and electronic materials.
Once again sincere thanks and we would be thrilled to greet you again sometime in future
Yours sincerely,
Ivica Sabljić
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

What a fantastic holiday we have just had at the lacroma hotel . The helpful friendly staff were there for anything we wanted and that was from the management right down to the cleaning staff , who I can say , kept the room clean every day including changing of sheets and towels . While we were there I celebrated my 50th birthday , and there was a card left by the management along with a bottle of bubbly ( once again , thank you ) . The views from the hotel were spectacular , the pools and sunbed area clean and tidy as was everywhere else in the grounds . The restaurant were good with a wide range of choice that suited all . If you want karaoke , pool tables and dartboards then forget it . If it's a great hotel , with a chilled out atmosphere you want then go for it , we certainly will be doing it again . Finally , to the staff , keep up the good work , and hope to see you again soon
The Dawes and Greenwood party

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Dawes and Greenwoods,
The pleasure is all ours! Fantastic review and we cannot begin to express our sincere happiness reading of your experience of staying in Lacroma – and many happy returns! Thank you for your kind words and compliments to our hard working staff. They really do their best and when this results in happy guests it makes it all worthwhile.
Let us know if we can be of any assistance to you in your travel and accommodation arrangements if you decide to “do it all again”?!
Until we see you all again and raise a glass of bubbly to your health we remain,
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This is a lovely hotel out on Babin Kuk, (a 15 min bus from Dubrovnik) and is in an area with around 5 luxury hotels linked with pathways and a few (tacky) shops and bars. We had breakfast and tea in the hotel, both of which had lots of choice and international cuisine, there wasn't however any authentic dishes for the area and the staff were very speedy to give you your bill, not because it was busy, just because they were looking for a tip! The food was very nice however and generally a nice experience.

The bus costs 150 kuna and is a 1 min walk from the hotel, you have use of the other Valamar hotel's beach and they provide all your beach towels so dont bother taking any! The beach has water sports and a lifeguard, the sea is gorgeous and clear and warm though the beach is pebbles.

The hotel grounds are gorgeous with a large pool, indoor pool, pool bar and lots of gardens, even with the roofs being planted. These areas and the outside bar all have gorgeous views and aren't overlooked or enclosed. Great for families and those wanting a more peaceful holiday still within reach of Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: Ask for a view, its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misstyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you on your great review. We are so pleased you have enjoyed your stay in Lacroma. Great you have pointed out the other properties on the peninsula Babin kuk all of which with the exception of one are a part of our hotel group Valamar and we try to encourage our guests to visit them to and try the facilities and services there. Yes, the shops are not in line with the style of the surrounding hotels, but they are privately owned and we can only request that they improve their service and image – we certainly do that and will continue to do so.
Thank you for choosing Lacroma and for being out guest. It will be our pleasure and honour to great you again – maybe someday?!

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The Valamar Lacroma is about a 10 minute bus ride from the old city In Dubrovnik and a five minute walk from the beach at the sister hotel. There is an uber modern feel about the hotel, with sea views from the outside pool and a few shops on the lower floors. We were greeted pleasantly by reception but unfortunately this is where the customer service ended.... We were told we could not check in until 2pm although our travel company had not specified this in any of the travel documents. Even though it was 1pm when we arrived, no attenpt was made by the receptionist to see if our room was ready, instead we were given a towel pass and told to ue the pool facilites which we were unprepared for. We were not told where we could get a drink or some lunch, merely to come back at 2pm. When we returned, after some search for our luggae which was mislaid, we were given our keycard and we had been placed on a low floor level. We had paid extra for a 'sea view' and this was 'limited' to say the least. So we returned to reception to request a room change and was told they were too busy to deal with us and were quite shocked we had the audacity to complain. We were told to come back the next morning as the hotel was now full and we couldnt be moved. We returned and explained the issue once again and were eventaully told we would be moved up a few floors in the same block but we had to wait or get our luggage moved for us. We chose the latter and returned to find we had been moved directly above the lobby bar on floor 4. Needless to say, we had live music and entertainment playing until near midnght every night but we did not feel comfortable enough to complain again after our first ordeal.
The room was clean, regularly replenished, warm with the lowest setting of the air conditioner being 19 degrees, reverting to 23 degrees when the keycard was taken out.

Once we understood the order of play in the buffet bar (drinks are/can be provided by waiters), we did enjoy the food on offer. The was a large variety of different meats, fish, salads etc and the breakfasts were very good. One of the nicest members of staff was the lady making omlettes, so friendly and helpful which cant be said for some of the staff in the lobby bar who were gruff and made people wait far too long.

On retrospect, this was not the 'right' hotel for us. Dubrovnik is beautiful and there are so many hotels closer to the old city with more character and we were told - better customer service!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillb1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guests,
We are sincerely and truly sorry to hear your experience of Lacroma was not a success and that you have found the hotel somewhat characterless and remote. I would like to assure you that we do our best to check the guests in as soon as they arrive at the hotel but in high season with all rooms occupied it is not always possible. Unfortunately in your case an attempt was not made by our receptionists to show you that they have really checked the ready rooms and hence this has left you with a wrong impression.
We have so called “intelligent room system” where it is clearly visible if the maid is in the room cleaning it, if the room has been cleaned or if it still not ready. It would have helped a great deal if out receptionist has showed this to you and assured you that the room at the time was not ready. We can certainly make sure they avoid any such misunderstanding in future.
The room you were moved to the next day with full sea view was unfortunately above the terrace on which live music is performed every day from 20:00 until 23:00. We are deeply sorry this has disturbed you. We try to keep the noise to the minimum and the musicians do not play after 23:00 but it is of course not possible to altogether prevent the disturbance to the guests in the bedrooms overlooking the terrace.
Once again, please accept our sincere apologies. We have discussed all the points raised in your review regarding the standard of service in some of our outlets and will try and improve in all those areas you have mentioned as lacking in good service.
Thank you again for your review.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We recently stayed here for 5 nights and had a really great stay. When we first checked in we were given the worst room possible - a room on the main floor right near a bar and when we complained they switched us to a new room the next day that was a suite! It was the perfect room and we were not expecting to be upgraded to such a spectacular room! Overall- here is what you need to know:
1) This hotel does cater to the large tour groups- so it can be crowded and at times busy at reception, but the staff is incredibly attentive and helpful and the hotel is SO big, it's not like you even really notice how many people are there
2) Breakfast is GREAT. it can be crowded and a bit overwhelming at times, but there is something for everyone- you name it- and they have it. seriously, I have NO idea how anyone could complain about that breakfast and I am not easy to please when it comes to food.
3) Request a room away from reception or a room that does NOT overlook the bar outside-- rooms that overlook the bar or are off of reception will be loud- so make a request to have a quieter room. Sea view rooms are totally worth it
4) The bus to old town is not bad. It can get crowded, but it's a pretty short ride and I live in NYC, so I'm used to crowded subways so I wasn't that phased by the bus. It is not a big deal at all. Some of the buses are not air conditioned, so, yes, they do feel a bit warm, but just stand near a window to get a breeze- you will be fine.

we were VERY happy with our stay. It is clean, has a great staff, and most of all it was REALLY nice to be away from the crowds in Old Town. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Avoid being near reception or overlooking the bar area at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you on your great review. We are pleased to hear that you were happy after changing your room and that it did not spoil your experience of staying with us in Lacroma. Thank you for valuable information you have supplied Trip advisor readers and we thank you on it sincerely.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#18 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Property: Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Address: Iva Dulcica 34, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik 4*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dubrovnik's flagship business and leisure hotel Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel, the proud recipient of the prestigious 2013, 2015 and 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Hotel" and the 2014, 2015 and the 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Business Hotel", is located on the tranquil Babin Kuk peninsula, surrounded by pine tree forests and soothing white pebble beaches. Renowned for its fusion of nature and state of the art facilities, the hotel offers ultra modern rooms and suites, the largest MICE facilities in the area, memorable gastronomic experiences in its gourmet restaurant, a wine bar terrace with panoramic views of the Elaphiti Islands and an abundance of activities to let you create a perfectly balanced holiday in Croatia with an added touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing