We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A visit to Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A visit to Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a week's holiday at Valamar Lacroma Hotel. This is a very grand hotel. It is spacious and light, and surrounded by beautiful landscaped gardens. We had a room with a balcony which overlooked the gardens and the sea. A room with a sea view is amazing. The food is extremely good with a large choice of different foods at breakfast and dinner. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we cannot fault the hotel in any way, There are two lovely swimming pools, one outside and one in. Also spa facilities. There are plenty of sunbeds and free towels and a small bar by the pools which also has lovely snacks. There is a bar in the lobby from where can be seen amazing sunsets. There is a bus into the Old Town running every 15 minutes or so. The tickets are 15 kuna one way, but 12 kuna if purchased at the hotel.. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: For a quiet room avoid rooms above the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cliff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Guests,
Fabulous review! Thank you very much. Great to read of your experience of your recent stay with us. It makes all our staff very proud and glad they were able to make your stay a success. Thank you for recommending us and we hope you might be able to come back to Lacroma and Dubrovnik on some other occasion.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    582
    124
    21
    14
See reviews for
314
779
71
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My family vacationed here several times over the past year (during the off season periods) and for every of those times, the hotel has earned top points on every single aspect of its services: cleanliness, hospitability, alertness, accommodating guest's needs, quality of the food.. Indoor pool and the surrounding areas is clean with plenty of towels, a terrific spa and saunas next door. Outdoor pool overlooks the Adriatic and we used this one as well. The hotel is located in Babin Kuk and has the public bus transportation stop in front of the hotel, making it really easy to use to get to the Old Town at a reasonable price (parking in the Old Town is overpriced!!). Furthermore, it is located in the center of what the Dubrovnik residents call "Little Stradun" which is a small shopping area with gift shops, boutiques and coffee shops, all located in a botanical garden surrounding the hotel. Rooms are spacious and offer a coffee/tea kettle as well. This hotel was great and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maha755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Guests,
Sincere thank you on your fantastic review! It is with greatest of pleasure and pride that we read such comments on our facilities, food, cleanliness, location and most of all hospitality of our staff. This is the core of our business – hospitality and it is great to have such appreciation from our guests, it makes all our efforts worthwhile . We are looking forward to your next visit. Let us know if we can be of any assistance. Do skorog vidjenja :-)
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This hotel caters to both business and holiday travellers (I was among former). Staff friendly overall; very friendly and quick room service. Rooms not special but clean and spacious enough (ask for sea view). Nice swimming pool and terrace overlooking the sea. Main downside is the location: it takes a 10 minute taxi ride (EUR 7) into the old town or a one hour walk (not a particularly interesting one).

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nucool24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Guests,
Many thanks on a great and informative review. Thank you very much for complementing our facilities and our staff. We are happy you have enjoyed the spectacular views on our terraces and we hope you might be back for some more?!
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The hotel is perched on a hill which provides a panoramic view of the Adriatic. The rooms are good sized, and well equipped befitting its status as a premier property. In room coffee/tea making facility is available. The restaurants serve good quality food and the breakfast buffet has a very good spread. The gym is small but has all the essential workstations for a good workout. Dubrovnik old city can be reached by bus number 6 and the fare is 12 Kuna. At the time of our stay, wifi was available but the signals were intermittently weak. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Guests,
Great review! Many thanks for choosing Lacroma for your recent stay in Dubrovnik and for sharing your experience on line. We are pleased you have enjoyed your time here and thank you for recommending us.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

It's a lovely hotel that serves bus loads of group tours and conferences. It's very modern and has nice amenities. The rooms are nicely appointed and the indoor pool basically saved us from the cold weather.

The staff however is not very helpful.
Examples, the check in staff doesn't tell you anything about the resort. Only when I prodded asked specifically about the neighboring hotel I had heard about did she pull out a map of the local hotels and explained how we can get there. Only later we learned that there is path behind our hotel that led to another hotel that led to a beach, shops etc.

Another example, our daughter was hungry at 6pm and we spoke to a waiter standing in front of a restaurant about a restaurant that we wanted to go to. He said they are open only at 7pm. My husband and I talked in front of him about how that's too bad and wished something was open earlier and turned to walk to the lobby to maybe have some snacks to hold our daughter. I then turned around and asked the waiter " by the way do you know of any other restaurants that might be open earlier" to which he replied "yes, this one(pointed to one he was standing in front of)"....I was dumbfounded.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anamika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Guests,
Sincere greetings from Lacroma and thank you very much for taking time to share your experiences of your recent stay with us on line. Thank you for your complements and thank you for the issues you have raised regarding our staff which will help us in detecting flows in our operation and improve on our services provided to our valued guests. The issues with reception we have taken up with our staff and management. As you can appreciate, it is sometimes more difficult particularly for our younger, less experienced colleagues to assess the guests’ needs. Sometimes, when they try to give more information, the guests want faster service and on other occasions like in your case they seem not to provide enough information when the guests really want it. We are sure they will from now on take more care in situations like these and will provide better information to our guests. As regards to your experience at the restaurant we can only say that it was unintentional misunderstanding on behalf of our staff. Our main restaurant opens and 7 pm and the A La Carte at 6pm Hence the misunderstanding for which we sincerely apologise.
Again, thank you very much for choosing Lacroma and we hope we will be your choice when you come again to Dubrovnik some other time.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel is such a great choice if you want to stay in a modern, beautiful hotel outside of the old city. The veiws are spectacular and the people at the desk were so nice. The only problem I had was that the building is very large and it was hard to navigate around. Our room was really far away from the elevator, and it took a very long time to walk back and forth. Other than that, it was beautiful and my family had a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Missouri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for firstly choosing Lacroma for your stay in Dubrovnik and for such a fabulous review! Yes, Lacroma can be overpowering to some extent being designed to blend into the surroundings better the building is stretched sideways to avoid excess floors and hence corridors are longer and it takes a while for the guests to find their way around. We are happy to hear your family has enjoyed the stay in Lacroma and if you ever plan to come back to Dubrovnik let us know!- we will be happy to help in any way.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, TX
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The Lacroma is an ultra modern, sleek, very large complex - next to another Valamar property. The rooms are spacious and super clean. There are tons of tasty choices on both the dinner and breakfast buffet. Only problem with the breakfast buffet - they have individual stations to order eggs (scrambled or fried), omelets, and bacon. This was so inefficient and the lines were lengthy between 7 and 7:45 am as everyone was leaving on a tour etc at 8am. Scrambled eggs are an easy buffet item as is boiled eggs and bacon. Everything else seemed to be self-serve except coffee. Both inside and outside eating locations made for lovely eating experiences. There is an extra charge for smoothie type breakfast drinks.

There is free wi-fi although several of us had trouble getting connection with iPads. There are 6 computers in a small area off the lobby which worked well. The keyboards are different and passwords are easier if they do not include characters other than numbers and letters. Finding the @ sign took a bit of searching and the z and y are swapped. A handful of English TV channels are included.

Free beach access is available through the neighboring property, though I would characterize it as only water access. The view from the deck of this property was quite nice and picturesque. The grounds are spacious and very pretty.

There is a frequent bus line #6 from the city's Pile Gate with a stop near the hotel entrance, 15 kuna.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ellenDG-TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for sharing the experience of your stay with us on line. We are glad to hear you stay with us was enjoyable and we picked up on a few details that were not “up to the scratch”. Yes, indeed we have omelette station for breakfast where we make omelettes as our guests like them and if there is a sudden influx of large number of guests it can cause some delay, however as you point out the breakfast is extensive and most of the delays are over in short period of time.
The problem you and some other guests were experiencing recently with the Wi-Fi we have been told by the technicians is mostly due to the poor strength of mobile signal in some parts of the building which is provided by the local mobile network suppliers and we are working on the solution with them to provide a better quality of service throughout the building.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.1 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#18 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 67 in Dubrovnik
2,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#27 of 67 in Dubrovnik
756 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 67 in Dubrovnik
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Property: Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Address: Iva Dulcica 34, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik 4*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dubrovnik's flagship business and leisure hotel Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel, the proud recipient of the prestigious 2013, 2015 and 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Hotel" and the 2014, 2015 and the 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Business Hotel", is located on the tranquil Babin Kuk peninsula, surrounded by pine tree forests and soothing white pebble beaches. Renowned for its fusion of nature and state of the art facilities, the hotel offers ultra modern rooms and suites, the largest MICE facilities in the area, memorable gastronomic experiences in its gourmet restaurant, a wine bar terrace with panoramic views of the Elaphiti Islands and an abundance of activities to let you create a perfectly balanced holiday in Croatia with an added touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing