We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 11 nights in August, booked through Jet2 holidays, booked the most expensive option of room available as it was a special birthday for me. However was given a room looking straight across at other rooms. I asked if we could change but was told to come back next morning which we did. Was given another room looking out at front of hotel onto car park with a slight view of sea. Not really great but made the best of it. apart from that room was fine and food really good. Drinks expensive with not promotions or specials. On my birthday my husband ordered a bottle of prosecco but nothing was given from hotel as I had experienced at other hotels. Nothing free here not even the water which was over priced. Loved Dubrovnik but one visit is enough, over crowded and over priced.

Room Tip: If booking through Jet2 be careful about what you book as a room with balcony being the most expensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daphne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Guests
Thank you for choosing Lacroma for your recent stay in Dubrovnik. Please accept our sincere apologies for the misunderstanding over the birthday proscecco. We always give a bottle of wine or prosecco to the guests celebrating birthday and our Room Service Department informed us that threre was a mix up over this item since you ordered the bottle already and they assumed that it was not to be charged as we usualy deliver one for the guests celebrating birthday. So sorry about this and sincere apologies.
We have also checked the room type you have booked in our system and the room the agency booked for you was alocated accordingly. We are sorry we were not able to upgrade you to even better room for your stay but as you can appreciate the hotel was full and the partial sea view was the only room we could arrange at the time.
Valamar is the largest Croatian Hotel Management company and we would be delighted to assist you with maybe choosing some other destination Croatia for your future holiday.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

883 - 889 of 1,942 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

From the reception staff onwards, everyone we encountered at the Valamar was helpful and pleasant. We had a nice room overlooking the pool. , it was spacious and decently equipped. We were half board and the food was of a decent standard. The pool was very relaxing with enough sun loungers, even though the hotel was fairly full. The views from the hotel were really impressive. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guests
“Excellent review”, thank you very much and most of all thank you for choosing Lacroma for you holidays in Dubrovnik. We look forward to greeting you again on another occasion and thank you for recommending us. It means a great deal to the whole team to have happy guests!
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed for 4 nights as part of a 7 night tour with Riviera Travel. Hotel is situated just outside the city of Dubrovnik [£1.50 bus ride away - buses every 10 mins] on a peninsula known as Babin Kuk. Area has been developed with several hotels, including at least 1 other Valamar hotel. First appearances are impressive, and the hotel does not let itself down. Spotlessly clean, with large modern reception area, with friendly staff. Rooms are spacious modern and clean. We had a large patio with ours, but not all do. Quiet situation so noise not a problem at night. Room includes large twin beds, tea and coffee making facilities, and safe. Mini bar too, but not used by us. The food is something else!! Don't think we have seen a bigger choice - buffet breakfast and dinner [although there is an a la carte restaurant too]. You can find something to please everyone. Breakfasts are hot and cold, with a very nice lady making omelettes to order. Fantastic choice at dinner with a salad/cold selection bar, multi-choice hot food with show cooking, and wonderful choice of desserts and cheeses. Wines a little expensive maybe, but there is an excellent house white [and red] which can be bought by the glass [200 mls - 29 kuna, which is about £3.75, very reasonable for a hotel of this quality]. Would recommend this hotel to anybody looking to stay in the Dubrovnik area.

Room Tip: Not a tip for a good room - make sure you go out onto the patio next to the reception area to watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guests
“Fantastic and wonderful” review! What can we say? – made us all very happy that you spent enjoyable time in Lacroma and that your visit to Dubrovnik was a memorable experience. Thank you for complementing our staff our facilities and our services. We look forward to greeting you again on some other occasion. It will be our pleasure!
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We upgraded to a sea view with balcony room which was great. The staff very nice. I did not like the fact that if I want a fresh juice in the breakfast I need to pay extra. ( no body was checking this station anyway because of that fact.)1.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank tzili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Guests
Thank you for choosing Lacroma for your recent stay in Dubrovnik and thank you for a “great” review! Who knows, we might see you again? Please let us know when the time comes if we can be of any assistance.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

A very large two-year old hotel part of the Valamar Group of which we had not previously heard but will now look out for them. Reception was first class and the rooms are well equpped with tea-making, mini-bar, etc. and have exceptionally large queen size beds. The maid service is superb. As for the restaurant the dinner buffets were probably the best we have seen anywhere (including Las Vegas!) and the choice unbelievable. Staff service is very good and a great number of travel companies clearly use this hotel because of its by now excellent reputation.It is located some distance from Dubrovnik old town but there is a regular bus service costing £1.50 equivalent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th or 5th floors for a superb view of Dubrovnik's magnificent suspension...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmogano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Guests
Wow! Thank you very much, we are absolutely thrilled you have enjoyed your stay in Lacroma and we thank you on your kind words. It is with the greatest of joy that we have discussed your review on our daily meeting – it means a great deal to all members of our team to have happy guests. Please let us know if you decide to come back to Dubrovnik again, we would be delighted to be able to assist you in any way.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Great, modern hotel on a fabulous location. It has everything you would expect and more. Hotel is nicely designed, well run, staff is professional and always willing to help. Rooms are modern and functional, cleaning service perfect. Food selection and quality is truly exceptional (we had breakfast and dinner). There is nothing to dislike about this hotel.
I can easily recommend it, after you visit Lacroma you'll compare other hotels with it and most will fall short.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudytaSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Guests
Greetings from Lacroma and sincere thank you on a great review. Most of all we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for recommending us.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We chose to stay at the valamar lacroma as a base while we got married in Dubrovnik, we had previously stayed at the hotel Neptun so was aware of the location.

Location
About a 20 minute coastal walk to the left of the peninsula will take you to Lapad beach, where you pass a few bars and restaurants en route, A short walk in the other director, through a small shopping precinct takes you to the Valamar Club and also Cococobana Beach. There is plenty to do around the hotel, I would definitely recommend the entertainment at the Club and the cheaper bars in the precinct. For those wanting to get to the old town, the number 6 bus comes every 10 mins at 15 kuna each way. A taxi to old town ranged from 80-95 kuna

Food/Drink
We stayed half board but didn't dine in everyday, the breakfast was fab, freshly made pancakes, mounds of fruit, fresh eggs/omelettes etc, at the evening meal there was plenty of choices freshly grilled meats, fish (salmon/sea bass etc), a pizza station, pasta station, local Croatian food, fresh salad with cold meats and smoked tuna/salmon. The wine for the evening meal was reasonably priced at 19 kuna for a small, 29 for a large and 99 for a bottle.

Room:
As we got married during our stay, the wonderful Iva (front desk manger) arranged for us to have a junior suite for the entirety of our stay, the room was fantastic, with a fridge on each level, a toilet on each level, along with towelling robes/slippers etc. the view was fantastic, and we used the balcony many times. One thing we did say is that the view from the hotel Neptun was the only thing to top this hotel,

Extras:
On the day of the wedding we ordered room service while me and the bridesmaids got ready, one Toni, the room service manager realised the special occasion, he went out of his way to bring us an amazing fruit platter.
When we returned from the wedding, the hotel staff had put rose petals from the door all the way up the stairs to the bed and decorated the bed with a heart, they also gave us a beautiful bunch of flowers for the room.

All in all, a wonderful 2 weeks stay, great food and brilliant little touches.

Things to note:
The valamar club pool was preferred by many of our group as it was lively and warmer
Do go to the pool party at the valamar club on a Saturday after 9:30 if you have teenagers/young adults in your group
Try the inflatables on Cococobana beach, 30 mins for 40 Kunas
Book in advance if you want a spa treatment, they get booked up very quickly.

Room Tip: 3rd to 5th floor with a sea view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cupcake1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Guests
Firstly let me congratulate you again and thank you for choosing Lacroma for such an important event in your life! Thank you for a great review. We are so happy your probably most important two weeks in your life were spent with us and that you enjoyed it. Good luck and all the best in your future married life and if you ever decide to come back please let us know so that we can arrange some extra “little touches” to make your stay enjoyable.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,031 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
983 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Address: Iva Dulcica 34, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £72 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik 4*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dubrovnik's flagship business and leisure hotel Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel, the proud recipient of the prestigious 2013, 2015 and 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Hotel" and the 2014, 2015 and the 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Business Hotel", is located on the tranquil Babin Kuk peninsula, surrounded by pine tree forests and soothing white pebble beaches. Renowned for its fusion of nature and state of the art facilities, the hotel offers ultra modern rooms and suites, the largest MICE facilities in the area, memorable gastronomic experiences in its gourmet restaurant, a wine bar terrace with panoramic views of the Elaphiti Islands and an abundance of activities to let you create a perfectly balanced holiday in Croatia with an added touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing