We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were moved here as the Dubrovnik President, which we had booked, was/is still a building site. We were slightly disappointed as we had spent a long time choosing the President to spend our anniversary and although we were upgraded to a suite at the Lacroma, the hotel is a 4* as opposed to the 5* we had booked. The hotel is very nice and room was fantastic, however, we did suffer from the constant noise of the building work at the President and heavy machinery driving up and down the road 100 yards from our windows - and these guys work all day - every day! The indoor pool was very nice and the outdoor area and pool fantastic. It is a very short bus ride from the Old town, which is very easy - buses turning up at least every 15 mins and just over a £1 each way, the location of the hotel is no problem, and you should be in no way put off because of it. There are also bars and restaurants a short walk along the coastal path if you want to head out. The food, whilst perfectly fine, was downright boring, I dont think the kitchen has encountered a chilli, herbs or any spices ...EVER. But eating grilled meat and fish and vegetables for a week never killed anyone. Two main gripes were that even though we had paid for half board we hadnt been checked in as such and had to go through an argument every night before dinner - the restaurant manager was our saviour and the most helpful member of staff on site, he should get a raise! I found it completely dumbfounding that no-one could sort this out for the whole week we were there. Secondly the heating is crazy - it was set at 23 degrees everywhere, you have aircon controls in your room but you cant alter anything, so it was either boil in the night or open a window and endure the noise of the trucks coming past the window from 6am. Even the temperature in the gym is 23 degrees and unalterable making it unbearable when the temperature outside is 25 degrees too. Heat the hotel public spaces by all means, but at least let us choose the temperatures of our own rooms...and for the love of god dont heat the gym! All in all though a good hotel and a nice location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ggmon76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guests,
Greetings from Lacroma team and thank you for your great review. Thank you also for letting us know where we can do better in order to make our guests’ stay even more enjoyable. We have noted all your comments and we hope you will have a chance to come back and see how we have improved.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

798 - 804 of 1,942 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel as part of a large group tour for 2 nights. We got a nice view room on the second floor. Room was good sized with lots of light. We need to get some Kona (local money) and there is no cash machine in the hotel. We had to go to the hotel next door which is their sister hotel.
Several restaurants were close by. We went the first restaurant in the shopping area in
between our hotel and the sister hotel ( don't remember the name) but was recommended by our tour guide. I had the grilled octopus and my husband had the mixed grill with french fries. The mixed grill was large enough to feed 2+ people. It was very good and the price was reasonable. But they charge $ 2 extra for ketchup for the french fries and $4 for a small bottle
water which I think is a rip-off.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yodada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guests,
Greetings from Lacroma Team, and thank your kind review. We have just installed the ATM machine so next time when you come and visit us your will be able to withdraw cash in Lacroma
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Lacroma is a modern and clean hotel on one of the bus routes in a suburban-like area near the top of the peninsula away from the Old City. Our room (we stayed here for 3 nights during a stop on our Gate 1 tour of Croatia and the Adriatic coast) was a good size and clean with an acceptable bathroom. Since we were on a tour, and didn't pick our room, we lucked out because we faced west and despite a wing of the building that partially blocked our west view and all of the south, we had beautiful scenery to please us. Besides we spent little time in our room anyway.

The bed was comfortable, wifi is available, there was no 2nd luggage rack but a little table served, all the staff was friendly and the front desk readily made change. However, we did have a difficult time checking in...maybe because we were a large group and they weren't fully prepared.

The first night we ate in a local restaurant. The 2nd evening we had drinks and sandwiches on the edge of the veranda and watched a spectacular sunset over the islands. The bar staff took good care of us and the last night we chose to eat by the bar selecting from a small but acceptably ample menu. The breakfast buffet had lots to choose from and was typical for such a hotel.

The hotel apparently shares a beach with another hotel. We never found it and it was a bit difficult to find the path along the seashore since there was no directional signs and we found no map in the room or elsewhere in the hotel. However, we did find the path by cutting through a lobby of a nearby hotel which was closer to the water.

We visited the old city, going down with our tour group and then staying after their bus left. Instead of taking a taxi back we used the local bus (20 minutes once on board) which dropped us on the main road by the hotel. Not difficult to do.

We would stay here again especially if we could score a room with a view.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDODI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much on your great review and for your recent visit. Thank you for choosing Lacroma and we are glad your experience here was so good. We also hope you have enjoyed the rest of the tour and that you might on some other occasion visit us again for a little bit longer.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

A huge very modern hotel in a quiet location among gardens leading down to the sea.
although immaculate and very clean, very light and spacious, it was lacking in atmospher.

Our room was quiet, on the fourth floor, with a balcony, with table and chairs overlooking the gardens and sea - lovely views. The air conditioning wouldn't go below 19 *, so at night it became too hot. Very comfortable beds, and again everything immaculate. The bathroom light was not strong enough for applying make up - it really needed a magnifying mirror.
food was mainly good, but the dining room was so vast it took us 2 days to find our way around the vast arrays of different choices - a wonderful variety.. The coffee bar off the main reception area served the best coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harvey81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guests,
Greetings from Lacroma Team and thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay in Lacroma on line. We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay. Yes, Lacroma at first looks a huge hotel and can be overpowering. However it offers a variety of facilities and it does not take long for the guests to find their way around and enjoy them like you did.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed here while I was attending a conference in the hotel. From the start, the service from the hotel staff was terrible. We did not know that our taxi driver required cash and upon getting to the hotel, I asked if the hotel had a cash machine. The staff (Vilanka) on duty was extremely annoyed and rude. There was a cash machine onsite, however it did not work and she did not inform me that it wasn't working.

I also had a hard time finding the fitness center (the hotel is very maze- like and confusing) and asked the staff at the desk for directions. They actually ignored me for quite some time until I insisted a second time for help!

Finally, the night before checkout, I asked for a 4:15 am wakeup call and for a taxi to come at 4:40. Surprise surprise, wakeup call at 4:25 (10 minutes late) and no taxi. I waited until 4:50, again asking Vilanka where the taxi was. She completely ignored me and rolled her eyes. Because of her, I almost missed my flight. Beware of the terrible staff and service!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Califreqflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guests,
We are seriously concerned and shocked to read your review. It is with utmost care and devotion that all our staff take care of our guests and for such unfortunate lack of consideration to take place is shocking to the whole team. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inappropriate conduct of any of our staff members. We are sure it was not intentional and was due to some misunderstanding.

As for the taxi services provided we can certainly contact the local taxi company and pass on the information about the alternative payment method they should make available to their guests and the punctuality of their drivers. We will investigate what has happened with your wakeup call since the system is automated and there should not be any delays.

The ATM machine was being installed on the day you have arrived and hence the confusion. It was connected by the providing bank but no bank notes were delivered on the same day. It took a few days for everything to be arranged.

Once again sincere apologies. We hope that except this one employee which has not provided you with the appropriate service, you have found our other staff more friendly and obliging and that you have enjoyed our Spa and conference services.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

At first glance, this is an enormous hotels with many rooms. However one get used to the layout very quickly. We had a modern and clean room with a patio area facing a court yard. The hotel has a nice pool and ground areas. Very convenient to the Old City - it's a 10-minute bus ride to the Old City and the bus runs about once every 15-20 minutes. Staff is helpful and friendly. Buffet breakfast has many items and is served from 07:30 to 10:00. The pedestrian path is easily reachable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gripbic45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and thank you for choosing Lacroma for your recent stay in Dubrovnik. Great to hear you have enjoyed every minute of it. Makes all our effort worthwhile. We look forward to greeting you again on some other occasion.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had a travel zoo deal and were surprised by a hotel switch on arrival. At the time we were upset as valamar Argosy is a bit smaller! Lacroma is definitely a conference hotel and it is quite large and echoey but the staff are the friendliest we have ever encountered. The food was delicious and the bedrooms were spacious and comfortable. We were lucky as the sun shone and as we hired a car we explored quite a lot and fell in love with croatia! What a beautiful country!!!thankyou Vojislav you made our stay so enjoyable!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alfiejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guests,
what a fabulous review and what is even more important we are thrilled you have enjoyed your stay with us. Even the sun shone! We hope you will be able to come back for some more and we look forward to greeting you.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,031 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
983 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Address: Iva Dulcica 34, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £72 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik 4*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dubrovnik's flagship business and leisure hotel Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel, the proud recipient of the prestigious 2013, 2015 and 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Hotel" and the 2014, 2015 and the 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Business Hotel", is located on the tranquil Babin Kuk peninsula, surrounded by pine tree forests and soothing white pebble beaches. Renowned for its fusion of nature and state of the art facilities, the hotel offers ultra modern rooms and suites, the largest MICE facilities in the area, memorable gastronomic experiences in its gourmet restaurant, a wine bar terrace with panoramic views of the Elaphiti Islands and an abundance of activities to let you create a perfectly balanced holiday in Croatia with an added touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing