We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but BEWARE THE CONFERENCES!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
East Grinstead, W.Sussex
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great hotel but BEWARE THE CONFERENCES!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We will happily give this hotel a 5 star rating. It's everything that it says it is on the label. Modern, clean, efficient with great views. But what makes it really special are THE STAFF who are so professional and kind. A big 'THANK YOU!' to Antun in the Orsula Lobby Bar who makes the most amazing Mojitos! and to Dolores for great service too. To Andrea who give the best back massages ever. To all the great people seen and unseen who are the back bone of this hotel.... WE SALUTE YOU! You made our stay wonderful.

But WARNING! if you are coming here for just a relaxing holiday break, this hotel boasts 'The largest conference hall in Dubrovnik' and Oh boy! when they arrive en masse' the whole ambience of the hotel changes. We advise that you check with your tour operator or mail the hotel if you want to avoid this situation. Fortunately for us 'they' arrived on our penultimate day and the hotel was then swamped by the most vulgar, loud corporate yobs we have ever had the misfortune to come across. We understand the old adage 'work hard - play hard' but manners maketh man (and woman) They had NO consideration for other hotel clients and we felt desperately sorry for the hotel staff who these people were completely rude to We were, at this point, very pleased to leave.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JANEBWELLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Warmest of greetings from Lacroma and sincere thank you on your kind words and comments particularly regarding our dedicated staff. It is much appreciated. We hope that on your next visit to Lacroma you will not be disturbed by the large conference.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    974
    570
    122
    20
    14
See reviews for
309
768
70
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed at the Lacroma for three nights in June whilst on a course. The course itself was held in the conference facilities at the hotel which were great. The refreshments were frequent and plentiful and it was great to have outside space to get some fresh air in between the lectures.
My room was on the ground floor and didn't have a spectacular view but I don't really come to hotels to stay in the room all day and night so it doesn't really matter! It was lovely to have a big balcony to catch the morning sun with my coffee. The bed was comfortable and the shower was great - what more can you ask for! I used the gym a couple of times and although small and in reality could do with some equipment updating, it serves the purpose for a few short workouts! The pool area is great - never had trouble finding a sunbed. The poolside bar shuts at 6pm which is perhaps a little early when the sun is still high in the sky! I also had a treatment in the hotel spa and this was really really good - but (!) when I tried to book over the phone from the UK in the preceding week I was told there was no need as there would be plenty of availability. However, when I went to the spa to book in person there were only a few time slots left! So if you do want a treatment then book in advance! The staff were polite, friendly and very helpful - no issues at all! It's a relatively short taxi ride into the old town (approx £12) and you don't have to wait long at all for one to arrive. If you want to save a few pennies then there's a bus stop just outside the hotel. The only improvement I would suggest would be to have some "proper" milk in the rooms for hot drinks rather than that horrible powder whitener stuff. Other than that I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pipskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Great review, thank you very much. We are thrilled you have enjoyed both the conference facilities and also our leisure facilities too. Thank you for giving the perspective visitors to Dubrovnik and Lacroma most useful first-hand information. We will review our pre booking procedure for the Spa to make sure guests can book in advance before their arrival. Your suggestion for the fresh milk is great and we will try and find the supplier who can deliver such item and if at all possible try and introduce this as our standard in room item.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

this hotel was excellent on every front…. I have never been to any hotel in the world that is as clean as this one. It has thousands of rooms however this does not compromise the quality of; food served & service provided. The only gripe we has with the hotel was the pillows. We asked on 2 separate occasions if we could get some firmer pillows (a service the hotel openly offers) and we were told 'certainly' however no pillows arrived on either occasion. However if thats all we can find to criticise lacroma then its a sterling job.

Room Tip: get a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much on a great review and thank you for choosing Lacroma. How could we fail on the pillow matter ? – shame it was not a perfect experience for you. Please accept our sincere apologies. We will discuss and see what has happened and why were the pillows not delivered as you have requested – obviously there was communication issue within our department and we need to detect where in order to make sure it does not happen again. Great to hear your stay with us was enjoyable and we promise to deliver the pillow of your choice when you visit us next time.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manaus, AM
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We got a room with a sea view and balcony.....it was spotlessly clean and serviced to a high standard every day.
Wide selection of food at breakfast and dinner - delicious .
Regular buses in to the town centre Tickets available in the news agents shop .
I would recommend this hotel without hesitation !!! .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Great review, we thank you very much. It makes us happy to read such fabulous comments from our guests, but what makes us all even happier is that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to maybe seeing you again?!
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have stayed here as a family several times now and we will keep coming back, especially for the off season vacations. The rooms are large and clean, but the suite is even better and not that much more expensive if traveling with 2 kids. Suite is spacious with 2 bathrooms, large shower & large tub, living room and huge bedroom. Their standard rooms are also really good for 2+1 travelers.
I love their food, it is the best buffet I've seen in Croatia. Meats & veggies are prepared for you, and are never stale or cold. Kids have a great choice of kid friendly tastes including fresh pizza. Staff is amazing, from the reception to wellness and restaurant, and the lobby bartenders have been patient with our children. We had snacks at the lobby bar and those were cheap, but menu could be expanded a bit for lunch time.
The pool area is wonderful, warm enough during winter time and never too crowded. Smells a bit of bleach, but it is clean and quiet, with comfy pool beds.
Old Town is only 10 min away by local bus.
Lacroma is our favorite place and we will keep coming back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaga123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guests,
And Lacroma loves you! Thank you sincerely for returning to Lacroma and we look forward to greeting you again and making your next stay in Lacroma and Dubrovnik a lasting memory.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I couldn't fault this hotel, and I didn't even have one of the much-coveted waterfront rooms, just a simple view of the back of the hotel.
Firstly, a superb location: shops, cafés and beach within short walking distance, the lovely local area of Lapad (many restaurants to choose from) along a stunning coastal walkway and a convenient bus ride to Dubrovnik old town. Something now to explore every day.
Secondly, the hotel is very modern and tidy and the indoor and outdoor pools were some of the best I have ever experienced.
Thirdly, the inclusive food was better than I ever expected. We had breakfast and evening meal and there was always something to suit our taste buds. I just wish that soft drinks had been included at evening meal. We even had a view of the sunset to accompany our evening meal every night and then relaxing live music in the bar with post-meal drinks.
Not a family hotel (which was what we wanted), families are better suited to the nearby Valamar Club.
Thanks to all of the staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RachChalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guests,
A warm greeting from Lacroma and the Team! Thank you very much on a great review it comes a as great complement to all of us and we are sincerely happy when we can make our gusts’ stay in our hotel an enjoyable one. Great to hear you have enjoyed the food, lie music at the bar and that your room was clean and comfortable. Yes, we have various properties at Babin kuk penninsula and one of the is VCD, great for families with children with evening entertainment and various day activities.
We hope you might be able to come back and stay with us again and we look forward to such an occasion.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

A larger property, well-equipped with all kinds of amenities. Rooms are immaculate, large and the views (on the waterfront side) are simply gorgeous. A very modern, airy feel to this place, and the dinner buffet rivals those of Las Vegas - the variety and number of food stations is well above the average (fresh squeezed juice bar among them!). The property is large enough that one can go for a walk on its grounds and all the way down to the beach. Delightful. It is also convenient: while not directly by the old city, we took a bus from Dubrovnik back to the hotel and the trip was direct and inexpensive. Just make sure you buy the tickets from a newspaper stand before you board the bus. All in all a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterview - unbeatable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGrymza .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Great review, thank you very much. We are absolutely thrilled to be able to make our guests’ stay with us enjoyable, it makes all our efforts worthwhile. Lacroma was completely refurbished in 2009 and although the main, accommodation part of the building was built in 1976 the additional parts like the conference hall, Restaurants, Pools and terraces were added and designed by well-known architect Mr Boris Podrecca who gave it that airy feeling and even though the hotel is large it does not interfere with the surroundings. Great to hear you have noticed this. Thank you again on your kind review and we look forward to greeting you again in Lacroma
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#18 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Property: Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Address: Iva Dulcica 34, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik 4*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dubrovnik's flagship business and leisure hotel Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel, the proud recipient of the prestigious 2013, 2015 and 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Hotel" and the 2014, 2015 and the 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Business Hotel", is located on the tranquil Babin Kuk peninsula, surrounded by pine tree forests and soothing white pebble beaches. Renowned for its fusion of nature and state of the art facilities, the hotel offers ultra modern rooms and suites, the largest MICE facilities in the area, memorable gastronomic experiences in its gourmet restaurant, a wine bar terrace with panoramic views of the Elaphiti Islands and an abundance of activities to let you create a perfectly balanced holiday in Croatia with an added touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing