We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel - pity about the water!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel - pity about the water!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

By far the best hotel we'd stayed in - the staff were delightful, especially in the restaurant. Josip welcomed us like old friends -as did all the staff. The food was wonderful, varied and interesting. Excellent barbecue and musicians. Nothing too much trouble. BUT having to pay for water each evening was infuriating especially when the tap water is perfectly safe. Although there were large groups of conferences on, we were never aware of this. There was no queueing, the efficiency was amazing.

Room Tip: Sea views are great but garden views are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdinburghCalvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Warmest of greetings from Lacroma team and thank you for a great review but most of all thank you for choosing Lacroma for your recent stay in Dubrovnik. We are sorry about the water situation. It is our company policy and we will most certainly propose this to be changed. Thank you again and we hope to be able to welcome you again on some other occasion.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,020
    601
    125
    21
    14
See reviews for
324
810
72
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Littleborough,England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just returned from a great 2 week stay at the Valamar Lacroma. The hotel is excellent, the staff are very friendly and the location is great. The only annoyance that we had was that the hotel restaurateur refused to serve us tap water with the buffet at dinner. They charged me £2.50 for a bottle of water every night even though I paid £20 for wine and beer. They even gave us ice at the table from tap water. The restaurant manager (Josip) was totally indifferent, claiming that it would have been his problem if we had been ill as a result of drinking the perfectly safe tap water. He just shrugged his shoulders when I asked him where the ice came from. Expect to pay £35 for water for a 2 week stay!!!

Room Tip: The balcony rooms have a great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f_ashworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much on your kind review. We are very happy your stay with us was enjoyable and we are sorry that it was not perfect. As regards to the water it is our company policy and it is unfortunate that you were under impression that our Restaurant manager did not purposely provide you with the water you have requested.
Once again, thank you for choosing Lacroma and we hope to be able to greet you again and have an opportunity to make your stay with us perfect!
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Normally we choose a touring holiday but this year decided to stay put in one hotel, in a beautiful location, which would give access to activities if we needed them. The Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, situated on the peninsula Babin Kuk just a 15min bus ride from the walled city of Dubrovnik ticked all our boxes. The hotel was about a 30mins transfer from Dubrovnik airport. We chose a room with sea-view, patio and balcony (our binoculars enabled us to see detail on the cruise liners). The food was great - not boring - with lots of choice and immediate, friendly service - and places to sit both inside and outside. Everything was spotlessly clean. Activities included 2 pools, sauna and spa, tennis, walks, bars, and local nightly entertainment. There was lots of space in the hotel so it wasn't crowded or noisy. We bought 7-day Dubrovnik cards at the hotel - although we didn't use up all our allocated bus journeys the tickets were good value as were used to enter the walls walk and to enter some museums. The 20 journey bus ticket saved buying individual tickets but can only be used from the peninsula to Dubrovnik and return. By the end of the week we learned of the lovely walk from the hotel to the Valamar President and turning left round the peninsula, eventually passing the Kompass Hotel and continuing past the area where Lapad Bay is on the right (from what we could see it isn't worth looking round Lapad Bay), continue through the edge of a park on Setaliste Kralja path to a roundabout which is on the main road to Dubrovnik. From here you can get the bus to D or walk across the road and down M.Bratosa to the Yacht Club where you can sit and view the Ocean Cruisers and other boats (see the website given in a recent forum to see which ships will be in). From here the path and area (still being developed - but walkable) continues right round the other side of the peninsula back to the Valamar hotels. The location of the hotel gave us access Dubrovnik and to other trips out: by bus to Cavtat (No 10) caught from by the cable-car station - returning by bus or boat and to the island of Lockrum (by boat from harbour). We also joined trips organised by our tour operator to the Peljesac pensinsula and to Montenegro. All in all a great holiday at a great hotel in a great resort. Thank you to all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lancslass061_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guests,
What more can we say?! – Perfect review and what is even more important, it is most informative to any perspective visitor. Yes, it is worth while taking a “grand tour” of the Lapad peninsula and for any amateur or professional walker it is an interesting place to see and enjoy the views and the natural surroundings.
We are sincerely happy you have enjoyed your week with us and that you have managed to see so many places, enjoy the walks and sites and still have some time to rest and enjoy the view from your patio. Thank you again on your kind words about our hotel and the services we offer and we look forward to greeting you again on some other Dubrovnik adventure!
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just returned from a fabulous week at the valamar lacroma. really enjoyed our stay and would go back-something i don,t often say. we were just booked in for bed and breakfast as we wanted the freedom to try different restaurants. we ate in the dining room one night and really enjoyed the buffet and the langusto fine dining another evening which had fab deserts but slightly disappointing mains but the service made up for it. meals were also served in the lobby bar and we only realised on the last day. they were very reasonably priced and tasty. it was so nice to have access to the beach near by at the hotel president-only a short walk away. free use of towels there and at the poolside. free use of safe and wi fi. tea and coffee making facilities. nice not to be incurring extra expense as is often the case in hotels. staff very friendly and helpful. we had lots of help from one of the ladies on reception with info on getting around on local buses and places to visit. thank you for a really lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Sea view. although we hadn't booked one we were given a sea view with a balcony in a central pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trip890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guests,
“Fabulous review” – thank you very much and thank you for chosing Lacroma for your recent stay in Dubrovnik. We are delighted to have been able to make your stay with us enjoyable and we highly appreciate every word of your review. Please do come back it would be lovely to see you again!
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Just returned from a lovely holiday at Valamar Lacroma. Rooms are lovely with massive beds, plenty of cupboard space, large shower and include a safe and fridge which can be used. We were lucky to have a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and sea which was lovely. The hotel was also completely spotless and well maintained.

The staff at the hotel are wonderful. Really can't do enough for you and work so hard to make sure you have a pleasant stay.

The food was fantastic. Never seen so much choice! Lots of fresh fruit, fish and a massive salad bar.

The hotel doesn't really mention the fact that there are spa facilities there so when we arrived this was a pleasant surprise. The facilities are great with two saunas, a steam room and some really nice relaxation rooms for quiet time.

Had a lovely stay at this hotel and would highly recommend. Although it isn't in walking distance of Dubrovnik old town, there are two lovely beaches in walking distance as well as a private beach which can be used at the Valamar President hotel and the old town is only a 10 minute bus ride away!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londonista2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guests,
“Wonderful and fantastic review! Thank you very much. We are thrilled you discovered our Spa and that you enjoyed the food and the comfort of our large beds. It is just fantastic to have our guests enjoy their stay and that we managed to created some lasting memories for you. We hope you will be able to come back and we look forward to greeting you in Lacroma.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, W.Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We will happily give this hotel a 5 star rating. It's everything that it says it is on the label. Modern, clean, efficient with great views. But what makes it really special are THE STAFF who are so professional and kind. A big 'THANK YOU!' to Antun in the Orsula Lobby Bar who makes the most amazing Mojitos! and to Dolores for great service too. To Andrea who give the best back massages ever. To all the great people seen and unseen who are the back bone of this hotel.... WE SALUTE YOU! You made our stay wonderful.

But WARNING! if you are coming here for just a relaxing holiday break, this hotel boasts 'The largest conference hall in Dubrovnik' and Oh boy! when they arrive en masse' the whole ambience of the hotel changes. We advise that you check with your tour operator or mail the hotel if you want to avoid this situation. Fortunately for us 'they' arrived on our penultimate day and the hotel was then swamped by the most vulgar, loud corporate yobs we have ever had the misfortune to come across. We understand the old adage 'work hard - play hard' but manners maketh man (and woman) They had NO consideration for other hotel clients and we felt desperately sorry for the hotel staff who these people were completely rude to We were, at this point, very pleased to leave.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JANEBWELLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Warmest of greetings from Lacroma and sincere thank you on your kind words and comments particularly regarding our dedicated staff. It is much appreciated. We hope that on your next visit to Lacroma you will not be disturbed by the large conference.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed at the Lacroma for three nights in June whilst on a course. The course itself was held in the conference facilities at the hotel which were great. The refreshments were frequent and plentiful and it was great to have outside space to get some fresh air in between the lectures.
My room was on the ground floor and didn't have a spectacular view but I don't really come to hotels to stay in the room all day and night so it doesn't really matter! It was lovely to have a big balcony to catch the morning sun with my coffee. The bed was comfortable and the shower was great - what more can you ask for! I used the gym a couple of times and although small and in reality could do with some equipment updating, it serves the purpose for a few short workouts! The pool area is great - never had trouble finding a sunbed. The poolside bar shuts at 6pm which is perhaps a little early when the sun is still high in the sky! I also had a treatment in the hotel spa and this was really really good - but (!) when I tried to book over the phone from the UK in the preceding week I was told there was no need as there would be plenty of availability. However, when I went to the spa to book in person there were only a few time slots left! So if you do want a treatment then book in advance! The staff were polite, friendly and very helpful - no issues at all! It's a relatively short taxi ride into the old town (approx £12) and you don't have to wait long at all for one to arrive. If you want to save a few pennies then there's a bus stop just outside the hotel. The only improvement I would suggest would be to have some "proper" milk in the rooms for hot drinks rather than that horrible powder whitener stuff. Other than that I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pipskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Great review, thank you very much. We are thrilled you have enjoyed both the conference facilities and also our leisure facilities too. Thank you for giving the perspective visitors to Dubrovnik and Lacroma most useful first-hand information. We will review our pre booking procedure for the Spa to make sure guests can book in advance before their arrival. Your suggestion for the fresh milk is great and we will try and find the supplier who can deliver such item and if at all possible try and introduce this as our standard in room item.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.1 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#19 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#26 of 68 in Dubrovnik
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,966 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Property: Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Address: Iva Dulcica 34, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik 4*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dubrovnik's flagship business and leisure hotel Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel, the proud recipient of the prestigious 2013, 2015 and 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Hotel" and the 2014, 2015 and the 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Business Hotel", is located on the tranquil Babin Kuk peninsula, surrounded by pine tree forests and soothing white pebble beaches. Renowned for its fusion of nature and state of the art facilities, the hotel offers ultra modern rooms and suites, the largest MICE facilities in the area, memorable gastronomic experiences in its gourmet restaurant, a wine bar terrace with panoramic views of the Elaphiti Islands and an abundance of activities to let you create a perfectly balanced holiday in Croatia with an added touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing