We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

A relatively new hotel, located near the old town. Service is excellent, rooms are nice, clean and have a great view. There are some minor details which could use improvement, such as electricity sockets getting plugged out of the wall; the hotel is a bit confusing to get around (not enough signs inside to point to various facilities) and it's a real hassle to connect an Apple device to the free WiFi.
Apart from that it was an amazing stay

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Mvrdoljak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your great review. We will work on improving on a few details you have mentioned and we hope when you come and stay with us next time your experience will be perfect.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,947 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is a relatively new hotel located outside the city centre. The hotel gives you the feeling of space and the design is very interesting indeed. The staff are well trained and really efficient. The tourist information was particularly helpful. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and the bathrooms very nice too. The breakfasts were excellent and the staff helpful and friendly too. The location is away from the old city. It it is only a short bus journey of six minutes to a restaurant area, twenty minutes to the old town and twenty minutes to the bus station and the port that takes you to other islands. Impressive is the outdoor spaces and pool area. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobA9_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Excellent review, thank you sincerely and greeting from all of us in Lacroma. Your comment made our day and gave us new motivation to continue looking after our guests as good hosts should do. Please do come back and let us know if we can be of any help with your travel and accommodation arrangements.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights i July 2014. And I have to say that I'm very very pleased. We think the hotel was perfect for our trip. We were looking for a hotel that was a more relaxing kind of hotel. The hotel was spot on!

Hotel: I'm not sure how old the hotel is, but it looked fairly new. The entrance was big and the whole lobby was very cool and airy, because of the high ceilings, and the white interiors. Some floors or sections of the hotel must have been older, and not redecorated yet. Or maybe the hotel has expanded not long ago, and therefore half the hotel is new and the rest is "old". Don't get me wrong, it wasn't too old or anything. We didn't have anything bad to say about the room. But it showed that the room wasn't brand new. That's all. The room we got on the second floor, was a good sized room. And the bathroom was actually likewize. And not to mention the bed. Really huge :) the room had a safe, hairdryer, extra pillow, phone, and everything else you need. Perfect. We also had a quite large terrace, turned to a backyard. Which was really nice and green, with flower. The cleanliness was outstanding. To me, it's really important with a nice, new, clean, big bathroom. And we got that. We had plenty of room for our two big suitcases as well.

Pool: excellent, clean, beautiful, nice, great for swimming, long enough, 1.20 m deep. There is only one pool like this. There is also a baby pool. But not something in between. There also were a nice indoor pool, if someone preferd that. It was a bit warmer then the one outside. No slides for children. But areas with bubbles. It was never to much people around the pool. Or so it seemed. The area was new and spacious. And we loved it.

Restaurants: we booked a room with both breakfast and dinner. And boy are we glad we did. The food was super. They had some standard things on the buffet tables, but there were changes every day. You didn't get bored of the food afterca few days. We ate there almost every day. We went into the old city two nights, and then we ate there. But the food was so good, that there weren't any reasons to look for other places to eat, if you weren't suppose to be somewhere else. Yummy! I miss the good food :) the only thing we can point out as a negative thing, was that some of the desserts tasted absolutly nothing. Espesially the choclate cake. It tasted not choclate nor sugar. Maybe it is the way they make cakes in Croatia. Or maybe we're used to too much in Norway ;) i don't know. But anyway, there where plenty of other things to taste.

Staff: excellent, couldn't be better. They were very helpfull, smiling and attentive. Everyone seemed to speak english very well. A foundation for a good hotel. Bravo!

Spa: a nice and relaxing experience. Good facilites. Calm, warm and friendly staff. The most of them spoke very good english. I felt really good when I left them. Especially after my face treatment. Such a nice person. She made me really feel taken care of.

Beach: 200 - 300 meters to the beaches. We only went to the president valamar beach. We knew there where a few more but we liked it so much we just stayed there. It wasn't the biggest beach I have ever seen. But it was big enough. This was a private beach for the valamar hotels. If you weren't staying at one of them, you had to pay. Probably the reason why the beach wasn't packed all the time, and overcrowded. You didn't even have to get up really early just to make sure you got a sunbed. Perfect beach!! Beautiful stone beach, and many colourful stones. Buy bathingshoes. That's a good tip!

Nights: beatuiful sunset every day, new entertainment every day ( singers ), a place outside we could sit for a long time with drinks. Cosy!

Conclution: perfect hotel for couples or families with babies or young adults. I think children in the she's between 3 and 13 could get bored. There isn't any activities espesially for them. It also suits for friends, who are looking for a place to relax. It's not a "party" hotel. We absolutly loved it if we ever are to return to Dubrovnik, this is were we want to be!!!

Room Tip: Just ask for the kind of room you would like when you book the room. We got our wishes :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guests,
What a marvellous and informative review, thank you sincerely for every word you took time to share on line. As for the age of the hotel – it has an interesting history. Originally built in 1976 as a project meant for Cancoon Mexico it ended up in Dubrovnik, Croatia which was then part of Yugoslavia, It was an American project. The hotel was badly damaged by the shelling in the aggression on Croatia 1991-1995, so was not used as a hotel until May 2009 when it was re-opened after extensive refurbishment. The accommodation part (rooms and the main building) was renovated and facilities like the restaurants, swimming pools, large conference hall and the terraces were newly built as a part of the project designed by a renowned architect Mr Boris Podrecca. All the rooms are the same and all the wings (four) have been refurbished.
We are absolutely thrilled you have enjoyed your stay with us and the whole team thank you on a fabulous review. We hope we will be able to greet you again in Lacroma for some more chocolate cake
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stay I this hotel primarily as part of a group tour. We purchased an extra night at the beginning so we could have an extra day in Dubrovnik. It is a large hotel and the staff is not very friendly. Breakfasts were good and the rooms were clean and spacious. We took the bus from the airport to the old city gate and then another bus from the old city to the area where the hotel is located. The first day it took us about 40 minutes to get from the old city to the hotel because of bumper to bumper traffic. Without traffic it took us about 15-20 minutes. You can buy day passes for the bus which is more reasonable than one way tickets. Also buying the tickets at the bus booth is cheaper than buying them from the bus. Once we got to the bus stop, it took us about 10 minutes to walk to the hotel. If I was going to Dubrovnik again, I would stay closer to the old city so you can walk back and forth the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Woodsnottraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and thank you for choosing Lacroma for your recent stay in Dubrovnik at the start of your tour. Yes, in the summer particularly if it rains the traffic can be pretty heavy. To make the transfers from the airport more enjoyable we offer to arrange one on our web site so it is less of a hustle and you get brought to the hotel directly. Lacroma is not in the city centre but considering all the crowds that flock there on daily basis it is definitely an advantage. Of course this might not be an advantage to the guest wishing to walk to the city and not relay on the transportation. We hope that the rest of our services were to your liking and that you have had a short but nevertheless a comfortable stay with us.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just back from a wonderful week here, it is as everyone else has described, excellent location, rooms good, cleanliness superb, food excellent. Staff are attentive and friendly, it was my granddaughters 5th birthday whilst we were there and they gave her a cake with candles on and made a real fuss of her which she loved. I would say however that the hotel is mainly for adults, there were no activities for children but she was more than happy with the outdoor and indoor pools which are brilliant. We did take her to another hotel a short walk away just to join in some kids activities after our evening meal which satisfied her. I will definatley be returning and would highly recomend this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are lovely, all bedrooms are very peaceful at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Angie-travel-junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Sincere greetings from the Lacroma team. It is very rewarding and morivating for the whole team to read such fabulous review. Thank you very much. We look forward to your return!
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel.

Our room was very clean and comfortable and this also includes the bathroom. Breakfast every morning was amazing. There are about 5-6 different stations (e.g. fruit station, pastries, cereal etc...) and was a fantastic way to kick off the day.

The hotel also boasts two very nice pools and spa facilities.

The old town is only a short 5-7 minutes bus ride away. Just get the number 6 bus located on the main road outside the hotel.

Overall, if you want a nice rounded break where you can be in the old town quickly to explore but also want to have relaxing aspects to the holiday (such as sunbathing, swimming, spa treatments) this is the perfect hotel to do that.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ama K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Greetings from Lacroma team and thank you for a fantastic review. We are all thrilled you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I am just back from a week away in Dubrovnik with my boyfriend. We spent a lot of time researching hotels out there and whilst the Lacroma was a little more expensive than we planned to spend we decided to go for it on account of the reviews and how lovely it looked.

I'm glad we did, the hotel is brilliant, with both an indoor and outdoor pool, free towels/sun loungers, helpful and friendly stuff and a great location if you want the best of both worlds (sunbathing and culture) as it is only a 10 minute bus ride to the Old Town, a bus that runs frequently until around 2am. The Hotel bar also provides a spectacular view of the sunset, which we enjoyed most nights with a glass or vino or two!

Our room was also lovely big comfy bed, beautiful balcony view and was very clean.

My only slight issues with the hotel is that we felt the reception desk was always very busy and slightly chaotic, with a lot of staff seeming to have to deal with one issue, however busy it was however did not reflect the service which was excellent when we were seen to.

Overall, an excellent hotel in a beautiful part of the world, I would recommend it and Croatia to anyone and we will hopefully be back again!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front of the hotel, if possible, lovely views! Don't worry about towels as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Sincere thanks for a most wonderful review and for choosing Lacroma. It is absolutely fantastic to hear of your enjoyable stay with us. Yes, you are right, at times our reception gets very busy when the large groups arrive or depart on buses, but it is only at certain times and the rest of the time it is less busy and chaotic. We hope to see you again in Lacroma.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
984 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,030 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Address: Iva Dulcica 34, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £64 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik 4*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dubrovnik's flagship business and leisure hotel Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel, the proud recipient of the prestigious 2013, 2015 and 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Hotel" and the 2014, 2015 and the 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Business Hotel", is located on the tranquil Babin Kuk peninsula, surrounded by pine tree forests and soothing white pebble beaches. Renowned for its fusion of nature and state of the art facilities, the hotel offers ultra modern rooms and suites, the largest MICE facilities in the area, memorable gastronomic experiences in its gourmet restaurant, a wine bar terrace with panoramic views of the Elaphiti Islands and an abundance of activities to let you create a perfectly balanced holiday in Croatia with an added touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing