We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel with fantastic views, service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel was superb! As travellers who like to have somewhere to visit as well as some time at the pool and beach this really fitted the bill. An excellent spot if you want to spend a few days exploring Dubrovnik city. Make sure you get a Dubrovnik city pass - we got a 3 day pass which meant we could do the walls, museums and travel back and forward into the city by the bus which stops just outside the hotel about every 10 minutes. Make sure you buy any other bus passes at the hotel as its cheaper and quicker. Our room was overlooking the mountains - superb view - we opted not to pay the extra for a balcony as we wouldn't spend any time on it! Those who had one with a sea view didn't spend time there either as it was just too hot during August! Food choice is superb - we always managed to get an outside table - you can reserve if you prefer. The hotel itself was excellent - clean, varied music in the bar every evening - but don't miss the opportunity to head back into the city at night - bus runs until about 1 am and it's perfect for an after dinner explore with a buzz! Make sure you go to the beach at Valamar President which is just down a short path - you can get direct into the sea and sunbeds are all padded - staff will get you umbrellas etc. you can also reserve sunbeds - if not make sure you get there early as they are very busy. Main hotel sun beds were never a problem and you get towels provided fresh daily for the pool so don't bother taking any! Food choice superb - everything fresh and tasty - loved all of it! If you are looking for a city break then this hotel is perfect - it gives you the best of both worlds.

Room Tip: Room at the front of hotel overlooking mountains was lovely. If you want sea view pay extra for a b...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rapster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guests,
“Superb and fantastic” review - Wow thank you! Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us on line and thank you for most encouraging words. We await your return!
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,877)
There are newer reviews for Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

676 - 682 of 1,877 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Have just come back from a wonderful 9 night stay in Dubrovnik.

The hotel was exceptional - staff very helpful, luxurious feel, breakfast buffet outstanding, clean outdoor and indoor pool with towels provided, use of President hotel's beach where you can book a sun bed. Booked a massage at the wellness centre, gym facilities good.

A short bus journey approx 20 minutes to the Old Town with its numerous restaurants and bars.

Booked with the hotel a mini bus transfer from the airport and back at 270 kn worth doing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yazoo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for very motivating review. Very to the point and most positive, please accept our sincere thanks not only for the review but also for choosing Lacroma for you recent stay in Dubrovnik. We hope you will be able to come back.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Some handy tips I would have liked to know before I went. We went in the height of summer and found deserted beaches, quiet restaurants. If you live in London like we do, the cruise ships are nothing compared to rush hour traffic on the tube.

This hotel is a great find. Just outside of Dubrovnik easy to get to without a car. We caught the airport shuttle bus straight into Dubrovnik pile gate (busy spot) aprox 40 mins then bought a bus ticket from the kiosk up the road and over to the other side of the road to catch the number 6 bus towards Babin Kuk. Not all bus stops are named so worth having a look on google street view (see link) to locate the bus stop directly outside the hotel. aprox 15 mins travel. Bus runs every 15minutes, great service. Hotel only sells a 1 way ticket (12 kuna), I recommend a 24 hour ticket (from a kiosk at pile gate) for 30 kuna if you are travelling back and forth to Dubrovnik. Valid on any of the local buses.

https://www.google.co.uk/maps/@42.659571,18.064231,3a,75y,269.46h,77.45t/data=!3m4!1e1!3m2!1ss5xBayX4epie9bWs71ypxA!2e0

Hotel itself, spotless, modern, bright, great views, lovely gardens, great pools (outdoor one is like a infinity pool) with water jets and waterfall features. Free towels available and plenty of sun loungers and parasols.

Beach is a 10 minute walk down the hill past the sister hotel, Valamar president (also looks a great hotel, very modern and bright). The beach is a small pebbled cove with a raised concrete plinth with sun loungers on. The coast line around the entire area of Dubrovnik is very rocky, BRING SWIM SHOES! Its common for 'beach' areas to have steps down to get into the sea and the rocks are part concreted over to allow a more comfortable sitting/laying area. Crystal clear water though, great for snorkelling. Valamar Presidents beach has kayak hire (220kn for 3 hours) and small water sports hire shop (jet ski 600kn for 30 mins). Great for jumping into the sea. Valamar president has a restaurant and beach café there too for a snack.

Restaurant breakfast is amazing, fresh cooked eggs, bacon, pancakes, doughnuts, fresh fruit loads of bread, meat, cheese, juice.... everything. Great start to the day. Evening buffet, lots of salad and bread / soup and a mix of different meats, veg, and of course desserts. Good value for money.

Cost of things in general - some examples. Posh meal, seabass and seafood risotto, 2 starters and a bottle of wine, in Lapad (10 min walk away) 830 kuna. 2 pizzas in Dubrovnik town with wine 300 kuna. two main courses and wine (fish based) in Dubrovnik 420 kuna. Beers in the supermarket are 7 kuna ish, in a bar... about 20 kuna each.

Getting back to the airport. Bus number 7 goes from the same place outside the hotel, last stop is the main bus station in Gruz. leave plenty of time as we queued for a ticket on the airport bus at the kiosk. Timetables are available 2 days in advance, ask at reception or search for ATLAS airport bus, then a straight travel to the airport. Pre security is awful, cafes were shut, deadly quiet. only opens for flights coming in or out which is not that often. Past security there is a café and duty free - a little better. Just very small.

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view with balcony, lovely large room, aircon, no bath in ours but shower was very...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Greetings from Lacroma Team and sincere thank you on your great and very informative review for any perspective visitors to Dubrovnik. It is rewarding for us all to hear you have spent a pleasant stay with us and that you have enjoyed the food and all other hotel facilities. We hope that you are tempted to come back and enjoy some more.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We've just enjoyed two weeks at the Lacroma and would highly recommend it. If you're looking for a well run spa hotel close to Dubrovnik, then this could be the one for you - it certainly was for us.

We took our two teenage daughters and they loved it also. Anecdotal, but I would say the mix of guests was fairly even across Japanese, American, German & English. Some families with young children but not many, although all ages seemed genuinely welcome and seemed comfortable.

The hotel has been well planned and considered, with a good layout. The standard of finishes is high, even down to the selection of floor tiles around the pool which didnt absorb the 30 degrees of heat we encountered, so you could walk on them without burning. You can enjoy the pools with spectacular views of the sea, walk a few yards to the large indoor pool to cool off or even book a lounger on the private beach. Clever features by the pool; guests are given towel passes and free supply towels, which seemed to discourage the usual grind of every lounger being taken (but not occupied) by 9am at other hotels - not here though. We even saw pool attendants collecting towels left unattended to discourage that annoying habit of some, hooray!

We hired a car for the commute into the old town, but many other guests used the buses or taxis. Too far to walk though, so you'll need some form of transport but the bus stop is just by the car park entrance.

We alternated evening meals out with the hotel buffet for a variety of setting, but you certainly don't need to leave the hotel to find good food, the quality and variety at Lacroma was high. The restaurant is very well run, with plenty of space and efficient staff constantly turning around tables and re stocking with freshly prepared food. You can eat outside with those stunning sea views. I would say we found 'nothing was too much trouble' in the restaurant, but in truth we found that to be the case in the pool bar, the reception, spa and with the cleaning staff. We're usually very sensitive to spotting an undercurrent of bad attitude but we found no evidence of that in this hotel.

We decided not to pay a premium on this trip for a sea view as such and didn't find that to be an issue, in fact our room with balcony could be classed by some as sea view, although side on. Our daughters shared another room and theirs faced towards the city, but was perfectly fine with views of the distant bridge and open countryside.

We didnt book this hotel for evening entertainment on site, but if thats important to you then this could be an area of weakness. The bar areas and terrace are tastefully furnished and blessed with great views of the sea and sunsets, but not with a stimulating and varied programme of entertainment. As said that didnt matter to us and I have to remember this wasnt one of the many trips we've had to Spain & the Canaries with the big tour operators where thats a central feature of the trip. Young families looking for a 7pm mini disco will be disappointed, but for all others, a trio of Violinists playing covers and a pair gently playing acoustic guitars may be sufficient, for us we just enjoyed the gorgeous setting at the end of each day.

I've read a few of the less complimentary reviews of this hotel, but I can only give an honest report of what we experienced and in all areas (important to us), the Lacroma was excellent and we would have no hesitation staying there again.

Room Tip: If you're booking two rooms, make sure you ask them to be together. If you're booking a sea...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nouster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Fantastic review and what an experience! Thank you for taking time to express your impressions of your recent stay with us. The account is not only informative but also a warm one leaving the whole Lacroma team touched. Thank you from all of us. And yes we do not provide extensive entertainment facilities but those wanting occasional evening excitement can always visit Valamar Club Hotel, a ten minute walk away from us. There we have all day sporting activities and evening entertainment with show time and dancing.
We look forwards to greeting you again. The pleasure will be all ours!
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with large and clean rooms, spacious lobby, and not large enough to make you feel like you are in Disney. The views are breathtaking, location excellent,and beach close, but far enough too avoid crowds. The afternoon desserts at the lobby bar are delish, (don't leave without trying the poppy cake,) and the lady that bakes those will make ur day. Honestly, what makes Lacroma a gem are the people that work there. Smiles in hallways, and lobby. Zafrija's omlets that start your day right, a waiter in the lobby bringing u ice cold Rizman Roze and sharing stories of Dubrovnik long ago, fantastic Mr. Jozo in a Restourant with the widest smile and nicest demeanor ever. I'm going back next summer. Thank you people of Lacroma making my stay the nicest one can imagine.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ticijana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Fantastic! What more can we say ? Happy guests with lasting memories of their stay with us – we can ask for no more. Thank you sincerely! We eagerly look forward to your return. Please let us know when the time comes so that we can greet you in style!!!
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

So my family and I booked. A trip to Dubrovnik and agreed to stay at the Valamar Lacroma. It's a fairly expensive hotel. Four nights cost EUR1600. Anyway, we were promised a room with a balcony but not given one - we were informed that those were all booked. After one night, we were moved to a first floor room that opened up to a public patio (also not a balcony). The hotel was unable to meet their promise to me. I still can't believe that they never provided what they promised me when we booked.

Stayed: August 2014
5  Thank MCulhane45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Indeed, a disappointing review but more so for us to realise you did not enjoy your stay with us as planned. Apologies for any misunderstanding over the balcony issue on your arrival and please be assured that we upgraded you the next day to a room with balcony/terrace and the sea view at no extra charge for the rest of your stay. We hope that you have otherwise spent a pleasant four days in Dubrovnik and that you have enjoyed the facilities of the hotel. If maybe you decide to come back we will make sure we provide you with the free upgrade on your next visit. Please let us know.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Valamar Lacroma. This large hotel has a wide range of excellent facilities, offers good food and is spotless throughout.
We booked through Jet2 Holidays and chose a superior double room with sea view on a half board tariff. Other tour operators offer similar deals, but if you aim to fly to Dubrovnik with Jet2 we strongly recommend Jet2 Holidays for best value.
The four star hotel is situated four miles south of Dubrovnik on the peninsula of Babin Kuk. It is set amongst other Valamar hotels. The hotel grounds are spacious. A small park, an excellent private beach accessed through the five star Valamar President Hotel, a few shops, restaurants and bars plus a bus terminus offering a frequent service to Dubrovnik are all an easy walk away.
The Valamar Lacroma has an outdoor pool, separate children’s pool and an indoor pool plus a spa and gym. Like the rest of the hotel, all are well maintained and immaculate. Breakfast and dinner are taken in or on the terrace of the large buffet Lacroma Restaurant. There is a great choice of dishes. We particularly appreciated the attention to detail – hot food that suffers from storage in bain maries like bacon, fried eggs, omelette and grilled meat and fish were all freshly cooked on the buffet. During our stay we took the opportunity to book a sample meal in the Langusto Fine Dining Restaurant; this is a once per stay free upgrade offering a fixed menu. Eating at the Langusto is a pleasant unhurried experience. Needless to say, we opted for a second visit and enjoyed an à la carte menu at full price.
Bar prices in the hotel are similar to UK pub prices – as expected, expensive for Croatia but not for a four star hotel.
Staff are universally helpful and friendly. All speak English; some do so very well. We were delighted to meet and talk to both the General Manager and his deputy during our stay. This appears to be Lacroma policy and a good one at that, especially in a large hotel of nearly 400 bedrooms.
Could our stay be improved? We did experience some rain. This was most unusual for Adriatic weather in June. Our only criticism of the hotel was that locked adjoining door to the next door bedroom was not soundproof. On one occasion we had to endure a heated argument between an Italian couple near door. Thankfully this was during early evening not late night!
Overall, if you are planning a holiday in Dubrovnik, we thoroughly recommend a stay at the Valamar Lacroma.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for an “exceptional” review and most of all thank you for choosing Lacroma. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing your positive experience on line. We will make sure that on your next visit you do not get the room with the interconnecting door or the noisy neighbours. See you soon - we hope?!
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.2 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#29 of 68 in Dubrovnik
834 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#19 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,069 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
974 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#24 of 68 in Dubrovnik
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Address: Iva Dulcica 34, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £82 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik 4*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dubrovnik's flagship business and leisure hotel Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel, the proud recipient of the prestigious 2013, 2015 and 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Hotel" and the 2014, 2015 and the 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Business Hotel", is located on the tranquil Babin Kuk peninsula, surrounded by pine tree forests and soothing white pebble beaches. Renowned for its fusion of nature and state of the art facilities, the hotel offers ultra modern rooms and suites, the largest MICE facilities in the area, memorable gastronomic experiences in its gourmet restaurant, a wine bar terrace with panoramic views of the Elaphiti Islands and an abundance of activities to let you create a perfectly balanced holiday in Croatia with an added touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing