We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC MODERN HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I stayed at the Valamar Lacroma for one week late July 2010.
It looked quite new and was very tastefully decorated. Despite its size it was not at all noisy or packed and I never experienced any queues at either breakfast or lunch as is often the case in big hotels in Spain. The choice of food in the buffet was excellent. Plenty of fresh fruit for both breakfast and dinner. For breakfast there was also the usual cooked foods, cereals, a good selection of breads, [pastries and muffins and cold meats, fish and salad. I was impressed buy their freshly squeezed orange juice. I have never found this in a 4 star hotel anywhere! There were plenty of fish and meat dishes with a smaller selection of vegetarian dishes for dinner. There was also a pasta and pizza corner as well as a salad bar. Desserts were varied and ice cream was also on offer. We arrived on a Friday and the deserts were presented outside by the waiters on the terrace of the buffet restaurant with sparklers...very nice!
The bars were also good althought the selection of cocktails was not as extensive as I had hoped.
The lobby area was big and had plenty of comfortable seats. The reception staff was always very helpful. An internet area was near tyhe lobby.
The swimming pool was not huge but there was a big area for sunbathing with plenty of sunloungers and parasols. We never had to get up early to "reserve" our lounger as there was enough to go around. There was also a small toddlers' pool. It was very relaxing to be by the pool but I prefer the sea. This was not a problem. The Valamar President Hotel is a short walk away of you follow the paths from the pool going down. From the President Hotel the beach was just an elevator ride away. Lacroma guests get free sunloungers and parasols at this pebbly beach which did get crowded. We preferred going to the far end for some peace and quiet! The sea temperature was perfect! We also had lunch at the beach restaurant which also got busy. The Greek salad is very good and so is the calamari. The Gazpacho was nothing like the proper Gazpacho so I wouldn't recommend it.
If you follow the paths from the pool but go right instead of down from the Lacroma it will take you to a small shopping area where you cansit down to have a drink and a snacks. There are also small shops where you can buy drinks, snacks or souvenirs.
There are 2 bus stops near the Lacroma. One if you leave through the reception ad go up the hill a bit and then turn left; and another if outside the President hotel. The number 6 bus will take you to the Old Town....it's the last stop (pile). However, there are so many cruises visiting and it gets so hot, I advise you leave this till early evening once the crowds have gone.
I was very happy with my room. It was a seaview one with balcony and worth the extra cost. It was very clean and we had a pillow menu. Lovely! From our balcony we could see the cruise ships come and go.
We also used their Ragusa Spa which was wonderfully relaxing!
I thouroughly enjoyed our stay at the Lacroma and am looking forward to staying in another Valamar hotel in the future!
If booking tours, I suggest you book through a big company as we reckon those have a commentary on the journey. We booked ours through a small agency and were taken to Mostar and Medjugorje in Bosnia with no commentary at all...a bit disappointing! The driver did not speak a word of Eng;lish so no questions could be answered.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mon45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,270 - 1,276 of 1,942 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2010

it's clean and comfartable , transport to the old town is very easy. food is very good.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3hozcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We decided to stay at the valamar lacroma hotel in dubrovnik following much searching for a hotel close to the sea with a large swimming pool not too far from the centre and the lacroma delivered on all levels.

We arrived at 20:00 hrs to find a selection of cold meats, cheeses and bread in our room compliments of the hotel as they knew we may be arriving too late for dinner.
We paid extra for a sea view and the money was well worth it with stunning sunsets over the sea. The room was what one may expect, clean, a lovely powerful shower and the hugest bed with blackout blinds providing some excellent sleeps.

The hotel was always spotless and the reception staff very friendly willing to provide information on bus services and prices into dubrovnik and the surrounding amenities and nothing being too much trouble.

The pool is a wonderful size but at full capacity it is sometimes difficult to find a sunbed. The pool bar served some lovely sandwiches and salads for lunch priced reasonably between 30-70Kuna.

What wasn't clear to us before arriving at the valamar lacroma is that the valamar president and valamar club hotels are within walking distance of each other and form a nice complex meaning the beach at the valamar president is avaliable to those staying at the Lacroma and litrally a 2 minute walk. We initially couldn't decide whether to stay at the president or lacroma but after having been to the beach at the president I think we made the right choice as although it is lovely to go in the sea the beach is small and seemed very crammed.

We were half board at the lacroma and the food was delicious, freshly cooked morning and night in full view of guests, a good selection of meat, fish and vegitarian dishes.

The valamar lacroma is about 30 minutes from the airport we got a free transfer one way and a car orgtanised by the hotel the other (300 kuna), I think a taxi from the airport would be slightly cheeper. It seemed very easy also to get one of the Atlas buses from the airport to Pile gate and then the number 6 bus to the lacroma, it stops right outside and costs 10 kuna each way. Again the number 6 bus is the way to get into dubrovnik, takes about 10 minutes and costs 10 kuna each way.

All in all a lovely holiday, dubrovnik is a great base to visit montenegro, visit the islands, and go canoeing and kayaking but the lacroma provided a lovely hotel on the outskirts of dubrovnik which meant there was a large pool and plenty of outside space in the grounds.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l0uiset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Just returned from a fabulous week at the Lacroma. Great location, just a 15 min bus ride in to town (bus stop practically opposite the hotel and buses run every 10 mins) and plenty of things to do if you're willing to venture out and explore the area. Lovely coastal walk/path to Lapad just down the road from the hotel and beaches and shopping arcade a 2 min walk in the opposite direction. Highly recommend the Languso restaurant the food is exceptional and Josip the sous chef a genius. Buffet breakfast is great, plenty of variety and superb quality, except the coffee, it is terrible! Service overall was brilliant, although in the lobby bar it could do with some attention! Rooms are lovely and very clean, even a choice of pillow! Tea and coffee in the room and a reasonably priced mini-bar. There is also a shop in the hotel for drinks, snacks papers etc.
Pools are beautiful, clean and well maintained and they have the loveliest sun loungers, complete with head shade!! Pool staff cannot do enough for you! Spa is also good, book well in advance, and their expertise definately lie with body treatments and not pedicures and manicures, i had file and polish, but i could have done it better myself.
Finally I will point out that I think this is a hotel that is geared to adult guests and not really suited to children older than the toddler stage, which suited us perfectly!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

The Valamar Lacroma hotel is a new hotel on the Babin Kuk peninsula of Dubrovnik. The room was pretty big and we had a great view of the Elaphite islands and of the sunset. I would highly recommend getting a room with a sea view. The buffet breakfast was good with a wide selection of food on offer. The only thing that we didn't like was having to take a bus into the old town which was often packed, especially coming back in the evening. The reception staff were very helpful and managed to answer any questions we had. The pool staff however could do with some customer service training. They also had a travel information desk, through which we booked two tours. One to the Elaphite islands and one to Montenegro. I would highly recommend both. All in all a wonderful stay in Dubrovnik, could have done with another week there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbbrutus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Hint : ask for a room with sea view
Hotel details: new spa hotel ( reserve massage in advance) great open
pool with jacuzi inside and also have inside pool . The breakfest is
open buffet and you have great food choises. Exchange your money at
the hotel it offers exactly the same rate as city exchange office.
You can see how big and comfortable is the room from the pictures. We
are very lucky to choose this hotel for our stay in dubrovnik. You can
make a 2 min. Walk to the bus stop from the hotel and take bus number
six( mentioned as bubin kuk) to reach the old city of dubrovnik. İf
you want to have your Dinner in the hotel,Langusta fine dining can be
choosen to eat lobster or cryfish.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chipman75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

My husband and I have just returned from the Valamar Lacroma, its a really good 4* hotel, all brand new, as it only opened in 2009. The style is minimalist and functional, not old fashioned, 70's style as some of the other hotels appeared. The rooms are modern, clean and the beds are sooo comfortable we wanted to take them home with us! The breakfast buffet is wonderful with a wide choice and great, freshly squeezed orange juice. The staff at the reception are really great, efficeint and friendly but the staff at the pool bar are quite aloof and not friendly and its takes ages to get served, they just don't seem to want to work there... Our recommendation to the hotel would be that they could encourage more people to eat and drink at the pool if the staff had some customer training! The location is good, it is 15mins by bus into the Pile Gate area where you enter the medieval town, there are buses every 15mins at the bust stop just across the road from the hotel, buses are crowded at all times from 5pm - 8/9pm so sometimes you have to stand up. The cost of the bus one way is 18 kunas per person. We got the bus back at night sometimes, but there were big queues for the bus, so we got a taxi quite a few times, which cost 100 kuna and took 5mins. We found that if you walked down from the hotel towards the sea and to the left of the hotel Neptune there was a fantastic bar/ restaurant "Levanat", down some steep steps and the service and food is excellent and it has a lovely sea view. From the Levanat you can walk along a lovely wooded, seaside path for about 10mins into Lapad beach resort, which has more bars and restaurants and made a change from the hustle and bustle of Dubrovnik town. A few evenings we walked to lapad for cocktails which were great and a lot cheaper at the beach "Cafe bar Shark" and ate at the "lapad beach grill" which has a prime seafront position above the sea and is really nice with a large outdoor bar with trendy seats in cream and dark wood - the food was great and it had a nice atmosphere, the service was friendly and attentive. We also tried the "Casa restaurant" which on reading trip advisor was supposed to be great - we had a very basic monkfish with vegtables which was overcooked and not good value - I wouldn't recommend it - I would say it may be living on previous better days. In summary we had a lovely holiday and would choose the valamar lacroma as a base again - we were glad we were staying there, rather than any of the other nearby hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h0lidaysrusEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,031 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
983 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Address: Iva Dulcica 34, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £72 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik 4*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dubrovnik's flagship business and leisure hotel Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel, the proud recipient of the prestigious 2013, 2015 and 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Hotel" and the 2014, 2015 and the 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Business Hotel", is located on the tranquil Babin Kuk peninsula, surrounded by pine tree forests and soothing white pebble beaches. Renowned for its fusion of nature and state of the art facilities, the hotel offers ultra modern rooms and suites, the largest MICE facilities in the area, memorable gastronomic experiences in its gourmet restaurant, a wine bar terrace with panoramic views of the Elaphiti Islands and an abundance of activities to let you create a perfectly balanced holiday in Croatia with an added touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing