We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to base yourselves in Dubrovnik”
Review of Villa Ivan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Ivan
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Ivan's wife picked us up from the bus station for free, our room was clean, AC (5 Euros a night), wifi and excellent bathroom ... the best bit was the balcony and view of sunset! It is a bit of a walk into OLd Town (15-20 mins) , but worth it for the money saved, friendly people (gave us a brilliant map and advised on buses and ferries and placed to go) and the view! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony for few Euros extra!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alice h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Villa Ivan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

This place was just lovely and Ivan was a star!

We had a lovely balcony with a great view.It is up a huge hill and there are a lot of stairs though,but we managed.The staff were great: told us where to go,what to see, buses etc.. And even picked us up at the port. (Not to mention taking us to the train station and helping us get tickets at the end of our stay!)

Breakfast was basic but did the job.it was set out so cutely and it ran with the feel of the place.We had such good fun. It was just the little one night of luxury we needed in a long line of hostels and interrailing mess ;)

CONS -ancient computer for whole place and they charge 3 Euros an hour. The hill is not for everyone.

Enjoyed our stay,it was good for the price and memorable. Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smoothedoutdrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The apartment has fantastic views over the port and across the city. In a relaxing location, the apartment is still very close to the Old Town...only a 20 minute walk down! Note that there are lots of steps, so as long as you can deal with these you should be fine.

We had a very relaxing stay here after spending a couple of nights in the Old Town, and a couple of nights at Lapad. It's location is ideal to see another side of Dubrovnik, but close enough to still visit the Old Town. Staying here meant that we managed to explore other parts of Dubrovnik that we wouldn't have thought about.

Ivan was incredibly helpful and the perfect host! He arranged to pick us up for free from Lapad. We were thinking about making our own way to the apartment, but glad that he picked us up as I think we'd have got lost. Ivan spoke very good English and gave us lots of useful information including good but reasonably priced restaurant options, and routes and maps to get around. He also found out the bus timetable for our return flights so we didn't need to worry about this.

The apartment is nice in a little annex with a shared kitchen, dining table, computer room and patio area with a fantastic view across the port. It was great to have a fridge, freezer and hob for making snacks etc and keeping the beer cold! The rooms are big enough and ours had a balcony with great views, so we sat here for breakfast and also in the evening.

Breakfast was great! We were expecting it to be very basic, but were surprised at the spread! Included homemade lemonade, boiled eggs, bread, tea, coffee etc! Also, on our last night Ivan gave us some tasty home made liqueur made by his wife. Wish we could have bought a bottle, but unfortunately it wasn't for sale!

Thanks for your hospitality Ivan...we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186334Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

It was great to have Ivan waiting for me at the bus terminal. A most pleasant man and caring host. He has all of the information and shares it readily. The room I had was a room with a spectacular view from the balcony. At any time of the day and night, I never tired of looking out or sitting there in the late afternoon, enjoying the setting sun and the fantastic view of the new harbor. There are buses that connect the street below to the Old Town, but I never bothered, I just walked back and forth and totally enjoyed myself. It may be different if you have a demanding roommate. There are lots of stairs involved in Dubrovnik and for that reason you see very few overweight people. By the time I got there, I had been on the road for two months and walking hills was nothing to me, but a little bit of welcome exercise. Near the guesthouse you have, down by the old harbor, a large mall and supermarket, also, very close to that a very large Konzum. You will lack nothing. Breakfast is well done and hot water for coffee and tea is always available, because you will have a complete kitchen at your disposal. If you want sandwiches instead, at the bottom of the hill there is a Russian bakery and across from there a small market where the lady will happily create a sandwich to order, or sell you the ingredients so that you can make your own with the fresh bread from the bakery across the street. I would not even consider staying anywhere else, should I find my way back to Dubrovnik. More on my website: cosmic-pearl.com

Room Tip: There are only three rooms, so reserve early
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights here, one night before and one night after a cruise. The helpfulness and friendliness of Ivan and Kate was wonderful and it was so nice to be met straight off the flight. Their house has the most amazing views over Dubrovnik and it gave us a feel for real life in Dubrovnik as opposed to a sterile hotel room. The room was spacious and very clean as was the ensuite bathroom. Having a balcony was a real treat and the simple breakfast included was a bonus given the very reasonable price.

The only people that Villa Ivan may not suit is older people who have difficulties with climbing up or down quite a few steps. Ivan is a big, strong guy so had no problems taking both our bags down the steps for us and we had no problems with the steps. The bus stops are at the bottom or top of the steps and it's only a 10-15 minute ride to the Old City so no problems there.

We will definitely stay there again next time we visit Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickiV55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I would just like to echo the words of professionalwanderer about the hostile email the owner would send you if you did not provide a review that he feels is reasonable.

His email was unprofessional an stated wrong facts trying to defend his hidden charges of 5 euros for air-conditioning and 5 euros for transport to main bus station stating that we should have stayed in a 5 star hotel then

I have stayed in other private accom just right next to the old town so unless you are lucked out which I was, it would have been a much better choice for the amount you pay (I paid 70 quid for the other accom with no other hidden charges such as aircon)

I would just like to say that Ivan was really friendly when we 1st met but now I have second thoughts that he did that not as wholeheartedly as I thought probably to increase his ratings.

Trying to stop people from posting honest ratings is just not acceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lonemeteorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Me and my partner stayed at Ivan and Kate's apartments in July 2011 for five nights. Ivan collected us from the airport, enroute showing us where to go, local bus routes etc. He gave us a glass of freshly made lemonade on arrival...delicious! The rooms are basic but with everything you need and clean, and with ours having a balcony a beautiful sea view. Although it was a good 20 minute walk into Dubrovnik Old Town, Ivan told us all the bus routes if wanted. Just think of that Glutamus Maximus going up! Wouldn't recommend for people with physical health concerns or the unfit. The place surrounding is amazing with fresh fruit and vegetables growing freely! We acted upon Ivan's dinner recommendations which were great, eating twice at La Luna Pizzeria at the bottom of the hill, once at the fish restaurant on the harbour front in the old town - tasty, fresh and good value, and finally the best being Taj Mahal, a gorgeous, pretty Bosnian restaurant in the Old Town!
Ivan and Kate were wonderful hosts, ensuring we were happy during our stay, always willing to help us with our enquiries including fresh tomatoes from the garden for our salad and pizza ordering!
We had a fab time and would REALLY recommend it to anyone visiting Dubrovnik. Thanks Ivan & Kate.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkRodge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
S&L Guesthouse
S&L Guesthouse
#5 of 181 in Dubrovnik
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Petra Marina
Hostel Petra Marina
#29 of 502 in Dubrovnik
41 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hostel Angelina Old Town
Hostel Angelina Old Town
#3 of 502 in Dubrovnik
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Old Town Dubrovnik Apartments
Old Town Dubrovnik Apartments
#91 of 502 in Dubrovnik
25 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Kate Dadic
Villa Kate Dadic
#51 of 502 in Dubrovnik
37 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Elly Apartments
Villa Elly Apartments
#35 of 502 in Dubrovnik
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ivan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ivan

Address: Cilipska 21a, Dubrovnik, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 502 Speciality Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £33 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ivan 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Villa Ivan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing