We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views , great price , great stay !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Ivan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Ivan
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1,432 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,043 helpful votes
“Great views , great price , great stay !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We enjoyed every minute of our stay at Villa Ivan ! This was our fourth visit of Dubrovnik and we were looking for something different out of the normal path ; we found it at Villa Ivan .
First the owner came to pick us at the bus station and drove us to his Villa . He then provided us with options to get to the Old City and the funicular , locations to buy food and wine and recommandations for restaurants .
He gave us the choice of rooms and we picked one with a private balcony and a fantastic view over the marina of the port of Dubrovnik . We were so impressed by the location that we shortened our stay in the ''tourist '' areas of Old Dubrovnik , came back for dinner at the Villa ( a fully equipped kitchen is provided ) and enjoyed the sunset from our balcony ! A pure moment of joy !
The following morning , Ivan came to drive us to the Bus station for a small fee ( much less than a cab fare ) . Oh yes : it is inexpensive !!!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed quite interesting !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belleretraite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    3
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
38
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Ivan and kate are great hosts who went out of there way to help us(pick up from port and met us at bus station when time to leave with our bags so we didnt have to carry them around shopping). Lots of local knowledge and very keen to ensure we have a good stay. Room is nice with private balcony view of the harbour.

Room is well connected with close by bus stop- lots of stairs but thats why such a good view!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

VERY cosy, tidy room with a big balkony, which gives you the best look over the city and the coastline. Extremely hospitable owner, who put a huge effort in making our stay as pleasant as any possible. Pick-up from the bus, welcome drinks, super delicious ice cream - Ivan is legendary!

The kitchen is spacious and well equipped. Very close to stores, restaurants and bus stops (if you don't take the bus, it's a good 20min walk to the old town). If you go to Dubrovnik, grab this place, we can highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Book early (only 3 rooms) and ask for one of the rooms with balkony, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in october. Room was clean, and had a huge balcony with great views over gruz harbour. The old town is a rather hilly 20 minute walk away, but there are regular buses which were our preferred option. I booked this on a hostel booking website for an incredibly cheap price, but dont let that put you off - this is far superior to a hostel. Ivan is very knowledgable, contacted us personally after making the booking to arrange a transfer from the local bus station. Spot on, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed at Villa Ivan for 2 nights whilst we were travelling in Dubrovnik and can't recommend it enough. Ivan is such a lovely man, he couldn't do enough for us. He gave us loads of information, advice about trips and his wife even took us to our next hostel in Lapad at the end of our stay. Such lovely people and the homemade lemonade is to die for!
There was a bit of a mix up with our room-we had booked an ocean view but we got the triple room at the back of the apartment but to compensate Ivan gave us free air con and free breakfast on both days which was lovely. We still got to enjoy the stunning views and sunsets from the communal terrace. The room we had was fine, very clean as was the ensuite bathroom.There is a kitchen which is shared between the 3 rooms and is spotlessly clean, good sized fridge and lots of good utensils and cooking equipment.
There's a great value pizzeria within walking distance called La Luna which has quite a basic pizza/pasta/ menu with a view meat dishes and salads but the food is really good and very cheap. One of the large pizzas would be more than enough for two! There's also a small local shop and a few bakeries which seem to stay open until really late. The buses run whenever they feel like it from a stop near the the pizzeria and bakeries into the old town, takes about 10-15 minutes.
Would definitely recommend Villa Ivan, great hosts and great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestgateWonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

The most important thing to mention about Villa Ivan is how perfect it is. The rooms are lovely and spotless, the air con, if you want it, cools the room beautifully and is inexpensive at €5 per day. The view from the balcony is beautiful, especially so at sunset and this is Villa Ivan's big draw. Admittedly it is not in the centre of the old town and is around a 20 minute walk. But the bus runs from the bottom of Ivan's road which can take you there and back again. There are also some lovely little restaurants and bakeries very close to Villa Ivan if you don't want to head into town. Ivan and his wife were absolutely lovely, booking all our trips for us and always offering us tea, coffee and ice cream. They couldn't have been any better. Combine this with how cheap this accommodation is and you'd be mad not to stay here!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nilesheyohyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Ivan's wife picked us up from the bus station for free, our room was clean, AC (5 Euros a night), wifi and excellent bathroom ... the best bit was the balcony and view of sunset! It is a bit of a walk into OLd Town (15-20 mins) , but worth it for the money saved, friendly people (gave us a brilliant map and advised on buses and ferries and placed to go) and the view! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony for few Euros extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alice h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Nikolina Rooms
Nikolina Rooms
#16 of 482 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hostel Angelina Old Town
Hostel Angelina Old Town
#3 of 482 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Elly Apartments
Villa Elly Apartments
#21 of 482 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
S&L Guesthouse
S&L Guesthouse
#6 of 174 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.6 mi away
House "Boninovo"
House "Boninovo"
#9 of 482 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Petra Marina
Hostel Petra Marina
#72 of 482 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ivan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ivan

Property: Villa Ivan
Address: Cilipska 21a, Dubrovnik, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 482 Speciality Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ivan 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Ivan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing