We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic place!”
Review of Villa Ivan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Ivan
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We wanted to stay here forever and watch the sun go down over the bay from our balcony with a glass of wine for the rest of our lives..

Ivan picked us up at the airport and showed us a bit of Dubrovnik as we drove into the city then welcomed us with some orange lemonade from their own tree. Also drove us to the bus station early in the morning when we left for Mostar. Place is immaculately clean. We stayed six nights and his wife Kate even changes the sheets/towels after a few days. Good kitchen for cooking that you share with a few others. Airco too for 5 euro extra per day: worth every cent if it's in the 90's.

Things to keep in mind: it's not very close to a public beach (but I think the # 6 bus from the harbour below Villa Ivan goes to one on the far side of the bay. So you can always check) and you need to be able to walk either down from the bus (coming back) from the old city which stops on a road just above Villa Ivan (3-5 min. walk) or up a few flights of steep stone stairs from the other bus stop (10-12 mins.). At that bus stop there are two bakkeries, a small market and Luna, A very good inexpensive pizzeria . Note to the wise: a normal pizza is big enough, perhaps even for two. Be very clear about your order because their English is limited.

Figure out the bus schedule to the old city and back early on because there are only 1 or 2 busses per hour (Otherwise a taxi ride from the old city to the road above Villa Iwan is about 14 euro and to just below near the stores about 8 euro (with the exchange rate).

Ivan will recommend Taj Mahal in the old city for a Bosnian meal. We ate lunch there the first day and the veal in cream cheese sauce was fantastic! Good value even though old city is touristy. And walk the wall, it's worth the effort.

Five star accomodation for a more than modest price. We loved it.

And last but not least: If you can book it through Booking.com. I used Hostelbookers and you end up paying a 10% fee.

ENJOY!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stokkermans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Villa Ivan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2013

We enjoyed every minute of our stay at Villa Ivan ! This was our fourth visit of Dubrovnik and we were looking for something different out of the normal path ; we found it at Villa Ivan .
First the owner came to pick us at the bus station and drove us to his Villa . He then provided us with options to get to the Old City and the funicular , locations to buy food and wine and recommandations for restaurants .
He gave us the choice of rooms and we picked one with a private balcony and a fantastic view over the marina of the port of Dubrovnik . We were so impressed by the location that we shortened our stay in the ''tourist '' areas of Old Dubrovnik , came back for dinner at the Villa ( a fully equipped kitchen is provided ) and enjoyed the sunset from our balcony ! A pure moment of joy !
The following morning , Ivan came to drive us to the Bus station for a small fee ( much less than a cab fare ) . Oh yes : it is inexpensive !!!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed quite interesting !
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belleretraite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Ivan and kate are great hosts who went out of there way to help us(pick up from port and met us at bus station when time to leave with our bags so we didnt have to carry them around shopping). Lots of local knowledge and very keen to ensure we have a good stay. Room is nice with private balcony view of the harbour.

Room is well connected with close by bus stop- lots of stairs but thats why such a good view!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

VERY cosy, tidy room with a big balkony, which gives you the best look over the city and the coastline. Extremely hospitable owner, who put a huge effort in making our stay as pleasant as any possible. Pick-up from the bus, welcome drinks, super delicious ice cream - Ivan is legendary!

The kitchen is spacious and well equipped. Very close to stores, restaurants and bus stops (if you don't take the bus, it's a good 20min walk to the old town). If you go to Dubrovnik, grab this place, we can highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Book early (only 3 rooms) and ask for one of the rooms with balkony, it's worth it!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in october. Room was clean, and had a huge balcony with great views over gruz harbour. The old town is a rather hilly 20 minute walk away, but there are regular buses which were our preferred option. I booked this on a hostel booking website for an incredibly cheap price, but dont let that put you off - this is far superior to a hostel. Ivan is very knowledgable, contacted us personally after making the booking to arrange a transfer from the local bus station. Spot on, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed at Villa Ivan for 2 nights whilst we were travelling in Dubrovnik and can't recommend it enough. Ivan is such a lovely man, he couldn't do enough for us. He gave us loads of information, advice about trips and his wife even took us to our next hostel in Lapad at the end of our stay. Such lovely people and the homemade lemonade is to die for!
There was a bit of a mix up with our room-we had booked an ocean view but we got the triple room at the back of the apartment but to compensate Ivan gave us free air con and free breakfast on both days which was lovely. We still got to enjoy the stunning views and sunsets from the communal terrace. The room we had was fine, very clean as was the ensuite bathroom.There is a kitchen which is shared between the 3 rooms and is spotlessly clean, good sized fridge and lots of good utensils and cooking equipment.
There's a great value pizzeria within walking distance called La Luna which has quite a basic pizza/pasta/ menu with a view meat dishes and salads but the food is really good and very cheap. One of the large pizzas would be more than enough for two! There's also a small local shop and a few bakeries which seem to stay open until really late. The buses run whenever they feel like it from a stop near the the pizzeria and bakeries into the old town, takes about 10-15 minutes.
Would definitely recommend Villa Ivan, great hosts and great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestgateWonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The most important thing to mention about Villa Ivan is how perfect it is. The rooms are lovely and spotless, the air con, if you want it, cools the room beautifully and is inexpensive at €5 per day. The view from the balcony is beautiful, especially so at sunset and this is Villa Ivan's big draw. Admittedly it is not in the centre of the old town and is around a 20 minute walk. But the bus runs from the bottom of Ivan's road which can take you there and back again. There are also some lovely little restaurants and bakeries very close to Villa Ivan if you don't want to head into town. Ivan and his wife were absolutely lovely, booking all our trips for us and always offering us tea, coffee and ice cream. They couldn't have been any better. Combine this with how cheap this accommodation is and you'd be mad not to stay here!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Nilesheyohyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
S&L Guesthouse
S&L Guesthouse
#5 of 181 in Dubrovnik
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Petra Marina
Hostel Petra Marina
#28 of 501 in Dubrovnik
41 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hostel Angelina Old Town
Hostel Angelina Old Town
#3 of 501 in Dubrovnik
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Old Town Dubrovnik Apartments
Old Town Dubrovnik Apartments
#90 of 501 in Dubrovnik
24 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Kate Dadic
Villa Kate Dadic
#50 of 501 in Dubrovnik
37 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Elly Apartments
Villa Elly Apartments
#33 of 501 in Dubrovnik
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ivan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ivan

Address: Cilipska 21a, Dubrovnik, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 501 Speciality Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £33 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ivan 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Villa Ivan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing