We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ante and his beautiful house”
Review of S&L Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
S&L Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 183 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 2 nights in the little but fine independent apartment. No harbour view from the window but nothing to share with others (e.g. kitchen) and a very loungy and shady terrace. 10 steps away, a beautiful roof terrace with harbour/sea view and loads of sun.
Ante is tall, strong, tanned, friendly, helpful and he can talk for hours. Listen to his comments very carefully while he draws arrows all over the city map.
And keep in mind BUS 8: drives along the harbour, till the roundabout, second stop after the roundabout, up the stairs, here you are haha...
We loved his restaurant suggestion Wanda in the old city... that was perfect!
So nice that he drove us up the mountain with other nice guests from London so we can enjoy the breathtaking view for free. He explained a lot about his country. Very interesting. He surely doesn't count his time if he can help.
We wish him and his family all the best and lots of friendly and thankful guests.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veroline66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

Ante was a brilliant host, providing loads of useful info about Dubrovnik and going above and beyond for us to have an enjoyable stay. We spent our evenings enjoying the sunsets from the comfort of our patio. Couldn't ask for anything more :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tl7smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The guesthouse is located a little bit far from the old city of Dubrovnik and this is probably the only minus....on the other hand it is located uphill and in a quite area so you can sleep very well and and a wonderful view on the city and on the port. THe rooms are clean and nice, recently renovated with style and passion. The owner is very friendly and helpful. He drove us to the old city giving us a short tour through the city and the history. He is available for a free pick-up at the airport too. There is a kitchen available fully equipped in case you stay for several days and you want to prepare your breakfast, lunch or dinner. Bakery, supermarket and restaurants are nevertheless in the neighbourhood. Overall I would say this place value is 3,5 but unfortunately I have to choose between 3 and 4 so I choose 3 because of the price for a one night just sleep like we had.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights during our minimoon and agree entirely with the previous positive reviews. I was a little anxious after reading the reviews as we like to keep ourselves to ourselves generally but the hospitality and friendliness at the guesthouse was amazing and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it or return again. Ante was incredibly helpful, knowledgeable, friendly and made us feel extremely welcome - taking us into town for the first time, dropping off and giving tour of the mountain along with bus routes, recommended restaurants and lots more. His English is perfect.. We also met his wife who too was lovely. The room had an amazing view of the port and a balcony to enjoy it. Didn't really need it but had air con. Although we didn't spend much time in it there is a lovely communal room with TV, laptop and internet (good wifi too), and cooking / fridges etc along with ample seating - the whole area has a contemporary feel and had we time we would have enjoyed relaxing here. The whole place is clean, safe and secure. Thank you for making our trip for us

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1girlonamission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Family owned guesthouse. Ante, the owner, as everybody say, is very helpful and knowledgeable. His warm personality is one of the reason for the success of the business!
The place is clean, the room is comfortable. If you are staying a few nights, you can buy some groceries and prepare your own breakfast in the guests' kitchen. Wi-Fi is free. Room with air conditioning.

Ante gave us a ride to Old Town and we used public bus to come back at night. It was fast, easy and safe. We stayed only one night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robipat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed at S&L Guesthouse for three nights during a self-devised tour of Croatia and we were so pleased that we chose here. Ante was so welcoming on our arrival – he helped us with our baggage and showed us to a lovely room complete with adjoining fitted kitchen. He told us all about the area, what to do, where to go, where to catch the bus etc and then the next morning he took us up to a view point above the old town (saved us buying cable car tickets) and gave us a tour of the area, talked about some history of Croatia and dropped us off at the old town.

S&L is located on a hillside above the new harbour where the ferries and cruise boats dock. The views are lovely over the harbour and the Lapad peninsular and our room had a balcony overlooking the harbour. The room was spotlessly clean and to a cosy high standard with finishing touches that made it feel like home – but better. The adjoining kitchen was also good for making a morning cup and preparing a snack if needed. At night the area is quiet and there was not a sound so you certainly get a good night's sleep aswell. If you want to go to the old city, it is about 30 minutes walk downhill but be aware it is the same back but uphill. However, there are numerous reasonable priced buses.

Nothing was too much trouble for Ante and he is obviously very enthusiastic about the business and his guests and this makes for an extra warm and caring welcome. If you want any information, Ante always had a happy smiling face and she speaks very good English. If you arrive by hire car and cannot find S&L, call Ante and he will come and find you on his moped and guide you to the guest house. Nothing is too much trouble for him to make the guests welcome and he goes beyond what other hosts do to make your stay special.

We loved S&L and the hospitality we received and really felt sad to leave. We will return again and certainly fully recommend it to anyone. It is well located in a quiet friendly area, has a great host an is simply the best in Dubrovnik.
Lee and Jayne

Room Tip: We had a double room with shared bathroom (shared only with one single room). It had a balcony overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkleytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I highly recommend this guesthouse as it is home away from home. Spotless toilets and common areas. Location is good and owner is very knowledgeable and helpful. Ante (owner) took the time to take us to a nice viewing point for us to see the beautiful old town and surroundings.

Room Tip: Double beds are big and rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudia e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,984 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kazbek
Hotel Kazbek
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
394 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
923 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,135 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hostel Angelina Old Town
Hostel Angelina Old Town
#4 of 516 in Dubrovnik
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to S&L Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S&L Guesthouse

Address: Antune Gustava Matosa 26, Dubrovnik, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £46 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Would you like to visit princess of Adriatic coast -DUBROVNIK- and if you are looking for a quite , safe spot what value for your money than choose our clean , safe and friendly home.Within few minutes walk from ferry or main bus station ,Guesthouse S&L is practicly located in the middle of the city.We are not huge noisy property but quite homelike comfortable guesthouse . Every room has it own key.The guesthouse has two terraces and balcony from where you have perfect view at sea and Elafiti Islands.There is nice garden all around the house with a lot of flowers and fruits.Everybody can use the kitchen wihich is very well equiped. INTERNET (no password),SAT TV,AIRCONDITIONS -FREE .Our Standard double bed private ensuite is a apartment with separate entrance and it has room,kitchen, bathroom and wide terrace with garden in front.There are A/C and SAT TV in the apartment.Another double bed private ensuite has kitchen in comunity.It is spacious kitchen very well equiped.It also hes nice view at sea and marina.Turist and exscursion boats are in distance of 150 m so if you like to see Elafiti Islands or Natiolal Park Mljet it is very easy.There is bus stop near the house.It is 4 min by bus to the old town and beaches or twenty min walk.We would be very pleased to have you visiting us.Distances:bus stop 50mnearest shop 20mnearest restaurant 70msea 150mtourist boats 150mtourist info 300mbanks 200mseveral supermarkets 300mferry port 400mmain bus station 600mold town 1,5 kmbeaches 1,5 kmOut of charge :INTERNETPICK UP SERVICE FROM FERRY OR MAIN BUS STATIONcity maps and all posible infolocal phone callstowels and bed linenair conditionrefrigeratorall taxes included in priceWe charge :pick up from or to the airportlaundry servicePlease note that we only accept payment in cash on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your S&L Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s And l Guesthouse
s&l Guesthouse Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing