We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pride and joy”
Review of S&L Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
S&L Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 179 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pride and joy”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My fiancee and I stayed here for 3 nights after booking purely based on reviews here. Everything that other reviewers have written about Ante is absolutely correct and I have experienced it. He is a giant of a man, but such a gentle giant. Extremely kind, polite and one of the most helpful individuals I have ever met, always willing to do a bit extra for his guests. If he ran into us when we were on the way out, he would always offer to drop us off to where ever we were going (provided he wasn't waiting for new guests to arrive etc).

Listen carefully to Ante's recommendations when it comes to activities, restaurants, bus/ferry routes and times, and just about anything else - his tips were very useful for us.

We stayed in the garden view room which we thought was a comfortable size and convenient as it has it's own private ensuite. The rooms are very spotless and are given a complete clean / makeover even if the guests stay for one night only (I was able to witness this as a couple of the rooms were booked for one night only during our stay).

The location is a bit far (as in, not walking distance to Old Town), but you will not find anything closer for less money. Either way, if you want to get around the different areas of Dubrovnik (e.g. Lapad peninsula, beaches in the east etc), you will have to use the buses. We didn't mind the 5-10 minute bus trip to and from home. Public transport functions very well in Dubrovnik and we felt safe at all times, even when we walked around to and from bus stops at night (after 10-11pm).

We also used the laundry service, which was very convenient as the clothes come back dry and smelling great (they do not use washing powder, but rather a special liquid washing detergent which is gentle on the clothes and smells fantastic).

Free wi-fi was also useful as we could keep in touch with family back in Australia via Skype.

Highly recommend this place - it is Ante's pride and joy and I am pretty sure he will do just about anything to ensure his guests have a pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twisted300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    25
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
134
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We've only been here for 2 nights, it's our first stop in Croatia, and it's set the bar very high!

Ante is FANTASTIC. He met us at the bus station, took us to the top of the mountain at 8am, and took us back to the station all free of charge. As well as this he explains everything clearly to ensure you can make the most of your stay.

The view from our balcony was breathtaking - it instantly relaxes you. Small supermarket (think Tesco Express) is 30 secs away, and a 24-hour bakery is 60 secs away. The port is 5 mins walk (go to restaurant Amfora - delicious), and the Old Town is a longer walk (20 mins), or a short bus ride (it's v easy!).

This place is astonishing value for money, and maybe the perfect place to start your holiday in beautiful Croatia. We want to stay longer...!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here in July 2014 for 2 nights. Ante the owner is an unbeatable host, he knows everything about Croatia and even took us to see a few sights on the way from the airport! The guest house is ideal, so clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast is not included but there is a supermarket practically next door or a bakery a short walk away. It's about a 40 minute walk to the old town but bus number 8 gets you from the bus stop 2 minutes walk from the house straight into the old town for about £1.50. So to sum up if you want value for money, a top class host and a clean and comfortable experience, stay here!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawsie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had a fantastic stay at S&L Guesthouse.

As indicated by the other reviews Ante ensures your stay is memorable, he:
- Picked us up for free at the bus terminal upon our arrival
- Gave us a detailed overview of the city and public transit along with fantastic restaurant recommendations
- Drove us down to the city on our first night to explain where to catch the bus back to the B&B
- Drove us up to the cable car (felt like a free private tour as he provides great historical insights)
- Drove us to the airport for our departure at approx. 6am for an extremely reasonable price

Additionally, due to an air strike we arrived a day late. Even though we could not provide adequate cancellation notice Ante refused to charge us for the night we missed.

On top of this amazing customer service, the rooms are very clean and in a good location with proximity to the port and the historic downtown. We would highly recommend S&L Guesthouse, thank you Ante for an amazing stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller201408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The S&L guesthouse provided the perfect base from which to explore Dubrovnik - situated a 10 minute bus ride from the Old Town and right next to Gruz port from which you can catch boats to some of the beautiful surrounding islands. But echoing the words of so many other reviews, what makes staying at S&L guesthouse particularly special is the owner Ante, who goes above and beyond to ensure his guests enjoy their stay. We were so impressed with the time and care he put into making sure we knew how to get around, which buses to take and where to visit. His local knowledge made our trip much better and he shared his stories and personal experiences of Dubrovniks history with us. We highly recommend S&L guesthouse - thank you Ante!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 987Gwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here for three nights as part of short break in Dubrovnik. Prior to the stay Ante (the Guesthouse owner) promptly answered my numerous questions about Dubrovnik and kindly offered to pick me and my friend up from the airport for a very reasonable price. Ante drove us to the guesthouse, taking a minor detour to show us the stunning views from the top of the cable car. Here he highlighted the best places to visit and explained some local history. Upon arrival, Ante went out of his way to provide hints and tips on where to eat and how to get around. The facilities in the guesthouse are excellent. As a guest you are able to take advantage of air conditioning, free wifi, use of a laptop, and a well-equipped kitchen. The house is set on the side of the hill overlooking the Dubrovnik mariner and is a 25 minute walk or 10 minute bus journey (15 HKR) from the Old Town. Ante and the guesthouse exceeded all of my expectations. I cannot recommend this guesthouse highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichMcKenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moycullen, Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here three nights at the beginning and end of a two week holiday. Ante is a great host with a big heart. He is really helpful and goes well out of his way to ensure that you enjoy your stay. The facilities are spotless, with welcome access to kitchen facilities. The house is set in a pretty garden on the side of the hill overlooking the port in Dubrovnik. The view from our bedroom was spectacular. We arrived from the airport in the shuttle bus which terminated at the port minutes from the guesthouse. On leaving we caught a 9am ferry, which was again minutes by car from the B&B. Ante is a great chauffeur and ensured we were collected and delivered well in time. I would thoroughly recommend this guesthouse.

Room Tip: The double room with shared kitchen at the front of the house has an incredible view. Do not attemp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,174 reviews
1.4 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#26 of 68 in Dubrovnik
810 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
938 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to S&L Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S&L Guesthouse

Property: S&L Guesthouse
Address: Antune Gustava Matosa 26, Dubrovnik, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 179 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Would you like to visit princess of Adriatic coast -DUBROVNIK- and if you are looking for a quite , safe spot what value for your money than choose our clean , safe and friendly home.Within few minutes walk from ferry or main bus station ,Guesthouse S&L is practicly located in the middle of the city.We are not huge noisy property but quite homelike comfortable guesthouse . Every room has it own key.The guesthouse has two terraces and balcony from where you have perfect view at sea and Elafiti Islands.There is nice garden all around the house with a lot of flowers and fruits.Everybody can use the kitchen wihich is very well equiped. INTERNET (no password),SAT TV,AIRCONDITIONS -FREE .Our Standard double bed private ensuite is a apartment with separate entrance and it has room,kitchen, bathroom and wide terrace with garden in front.There are A/C and SAT TV in the apartment.Another double bed private ensuite has kitchen in comunity.It is spacious kitchen very well equiped.It also hes nice view at sea and marina.Turist and exscursion boats are in distance of 150 m so if you like to see Elafiti Islands or Natiolal Park Mljet it is very easy.There is bus stop near the house.It is 4 min by bus to the old town and beaches or twenty min walk.We would be very pleased to have you visiting us.Distances:bus stop 50mnearest shop 20mnearest restaurant 70msea 150mtourist boats 150mtourist info 300mbanks 200mseveral supermarkets 300mferry port 400mmain bus station 600mold town 1,5 kmbeaches 1,5 kmOut of charge :INTERNETPICK UP SERVICE FROM FERRY OR MAIN BUS STATIONcity maps and all posible infolocal phone callstowels and bed linenair conditionrefrigeratorall taxes included in priceWe charge :pick up from or to the airportlaundry servicePlease note that we only accept payment in cash on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your S&L Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s And l Guesthouse
s&l Guesthouse Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing