We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mildewy smell and irritable owner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B Villa Dubrovnik Garden
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mildewy smell and irritable owner”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The good part about this place is there is free parking, which is very hard to find for a reasonably-priced room near Dubrovnik, but I would not stay there again. The owner was helpful at first, but then became irritable and unpleasant. He seemed as if our questions were bothersome and he was short with us about everything after we had paid our bill. The room was also a basement room, very bare, and constantly smelled of mildew. Our clothes and linens never dried- we couldn't wait to get out of there.

Room Tip: Definitely make sure you're not on the lower level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    13
    12
    8
    7
See reviews for
5
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Location is ok - about 15 mins walk up many stairs from the old town.

After one week private travel in the region, we joined a tour group in Dubrovnik that had chosen this accommodation for us. Therefore, cannot accurately judge value for money but think there are better options closer to old town for the same or less. The 7euro breakfast is poor, with instant coffee and tang (or something similar) for orange juice. There is free wifi only on the breakfast balcony or travel agent downstairs.

As soon as we arrived, we wanted to change rooms/accommodation, but being in a group we couldn't. Simply put, our room was a cave with a window at eye level. The benefit was it was cool and we didn't need aircon (there wasn't any). Our travel companions in other rooms complained of insufferable heat at night, so we were lucky in this regard. We asked for another room but were told by the travel agent who runs the B&B that there were none available that orthe next day (we found out later that wasn't try as another person ending their tour that day checked out of a double room the next morning).

We were desperate for laundry so paid the 10 euro fee per bag, and were shocked to return home late in the afternoon to a bag of wet laundry on the floor. Not cool, especially given there was a huge washing line a few metres from our door.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qweruioper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2011

There are really too many complaints to write about specifically (ex: actually being yelled at by the owner when we meantioned nicely that our room hadn't been cleaned in the three days we had been there-- 4 spiders in their webs on our beds).

The rooms are dirty, smelly, basic and do not have real windows (unless you get a suite). You have to search hard to find anyone at this place to help you with anything, let alone get you a real blanket (all we had were sheets).

if you don't like dragging your luggage up about 70 stairs, don't stay here. The rooms are not where the reception are, but up a hill that you have to walk to everytime you leave (as well as the hotel is up high on the hill and far from the city--meaning if you are not in good shape, you might have to take a cab up, which is a real pain here).

Basically, it really ruined our stay here and there are plenty of other hotels closer in town, so I would suggest not risking it here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktpie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dubrovnik hotels

Iwade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We happened upon this villa as we went to ask advice at a travel agency and the agent just happened to be the owner...... we stayed for 2 nights and it was perfectly fine no frills accommodation with a walled garden the guests can use about 5-10 mins stroll from the old town. There were lots of steps there and back but we viewed that as a challenge! The breakfast on both days which was served on a terrace near the travel agants was fantastic (mmmm the cheese pastries) and the owner gave us lots of tips on where to go and what to see.... it wasn't cheap £125 for the two nights but Dubrovnik isn't cheap.... so I guess that means it was reasonable!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joolz1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We stayed here for three days and thought that value for money it was excellent. Basic bedding and bathroom but all was clean and there was lots of room. Had breakfast on the premises one morning which was okay but there is a bakery down the road (turn left) and probably a better proposition. Yes there are lots of steps but think of the excercise. The owner was a charming and helpful man.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyMaisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

It says a lot about Dubrovnik if this was the cheapest place I could find for a one night stop over in August. Not a proper hotel, just rooms in someone's house - clean with powerful aircon but no fridge.Appallingly overpriced breakfast option which I was stupid enough to order,little food,orange squash not juice and very cheap coffee.There are over 160 steps to walk up from the Pile gate bus stop which was a nightmare with two suitcases.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okram1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

I stayed here with a small tour group for 2 nights in a twin beds room. The bathroom was VERY tiny - good thing I'm not over 130 lbs, otherwise I wouldn't be able to get the door shut once I got in! Shower drain was already clogged when I got there. Unfortunately the owner only had one key to the room; there were 2 of us staying there and liked to come and go at different times so this was an inconvenience. It was nice that they offered a light breakfast, but for 7 Euros this was a ripoff considering the numerous cafes just 15 minutes walk to the old city. When I went to ask a question about the breakfast before it started, the lady preparing the breakfast was very rude to me (in Croatian, I could not understand). To its credit the place was clean. Not too quiet; neighbours screamed and fought with each other for 2 hours one day! Yikes.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discerningdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Antica Ragusa
Antica Ragusa
#31 of 174 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rooms Raic
Rooms Raic
#12 of 487 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartments Deranja
Apartments Deranja
#232 of 487 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
House "Boninovo"
House "Boninovo"
#9 of 487 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Dard
Villa Dard
#20 of 487 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kazo Apartments
Kazo Apartments
#61 of 487 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Villa Dubrovnik Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Villa Dubrovnik Garden

Property: B&B Villa Dubrovnik Garden
Address: Zagrebachka 50, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 487 Speciality Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Dubrovnik Garden is a recently reconstructed typical Dubrovnik stone house,located above the beautifull old town of Dubrovnik-just 5 minutes walking distance to the old city , beaches , shops , resturants , etc.... It is ideal either for a long holiday or for a short stay.The rooms are furnished in the characteristic Dubrovnik style including all modern conveniences : air conditioning, private bathrooms with hair dryer,hair & hand shampoo , body milk,.....The house is in absolutely quiet and silent position , surounded by stone wall and a nice mediteranian garden .The atmosphere is cozy, welcoming . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your B&B Villa Dubrovnik Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing