We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The paradise of tranquillity in Dalmatia!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Konalic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Konalic
Ranked #288 of 488 Speciality Lodging in Dubrovnik
monza
2 reviews
“The paradise of tranquillity in Dalmatia!!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

If you're looking for a little paradise on earth, then come to Villa Konalic! The place has everything you need for your vacation in Dubrovnik: chill rooms, a bathroom with everything you need, clean and fresh towels, warm water, a clean shower, comfortable beds, refreshing and chilling air conditioned, a small kitchen with everything you need, a sat tv and a magnificent view for the outside rozat bay. The place is so calm and romantic in the night.. You won't hear typical city noises but only the good sounds of nature. Staying here is like going to paradise. But the most interesting and entertaining thing you can do here is to speak with Slana (hope the name is correct), the house holder! She is a very nice person with a great culture and it is a real pleasure to talk with her! You can stay a long time sit at the tables near the entrance with her and you won't be annoyed!! Never! People in this place is so good.. They still bring the scars of the war in the soul, and you can feel it when you talk to them.. This is the only thing that made me a little bit sad but for the rest, Dubrovnik and Villa Konalic is the best! And don't forget to say hello to the dog! He's more human than you can imagine!! Thank you Dubrovnik! Thank you Hrvatska! By the way this is only my first day of vacation!!!! ;)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fioz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    11
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

No fuss guesthouse, about 10 km from Dubrovnik. A great location if you want to avoid the hassle of staying in town. Easy to find (despite the roadworks), private parking, views over the water, and very quiet. We had a simple 'apartment' on the second floor, nothing special, but clean and comfortable. Friendly owner.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVSMIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

First, I don't think that I've ever given a hotel a "poor" rating before, but this experience was notably unpleasant. I've read reviews on tripadvisor like mine before and thought that the writer was being a bit dramatic. As you read this, I ask you to try to stand in our tired, frustrated shoes and then choose a different place to stay. We booked this hotel because we were looking for something at the last minute that was easy to find on the internet and many of the other accommodations were already booked. This should have been our first indication of potential problems.

After driving from Dubrovnik to Kotor and back that day, we arrived to the area of Villa Konalic around 7:15 at night. Our problems began when we tried to turn off onto the frontage road where the property is located. The road was closed and under construction, which the owner failed to mention in her email. So we traveled further down the highway in search of a different access road to the frontage road. Apparently there was a sign and an early turn-off, but we didn't see it, so we traveled 5 km or so to the next street where we could turn. This took us to the frontage road, which was winding, narrow and literally on the waterfront. However, we only made it about 2 km back towards the villa because the road was under construction. So we parked illegally in someone's small lot and headed to the villa on foot to try to figure out where to put the car. The initial few blocks of our walk were through mud and clay, so by the time the construction was over, our shoes were destroyed. As we walked (now on concrete again) we kept asking people where the villa was, but no one had heard of it.

Finally, 3 km of walking later, we arrived at the villa. We entered and rang the bell, but no one was home. There was a sign saying to ring the bell OR call a phone number if no one was home, and since our phones don't work in Europe, we were not able to call. We waited about fifteen minutes for someone to come. My husband went to try to find another route to the hotel by car while I continued to wait. He found a route, so we decided to walk back (the 3 km) to move the car.

We again drove the distance on the white knuckle frontage road, then along the highway again and finally to the villa. We went back and rang the bell, and still no one was there. As we were leaving to try one of the sobe next door, a young man arrived. He said that the owner told him we emailed saying we would arrive at 9:30 (the current time). I told him this was untrue. He was helpful and checked us in as promptly as possible. However, it was obvious that this was not part of his normal routine. We asked him where we could get dinner, since we hadn't eaten and he informed us that all of the restaurants were already closed. So, we did not have dinner that night.

Then, when we got to the room, we found old candy wrappers on the night stand and garbage in the garbage can. Ordinarily, this wouldn't really have bothered us, but on the heels of two hours of frustration, trashed shoes and no dinner, we were both irate.

In the morning, the owner was still no where to be found and a different, very rude young man informed us that he was very busy and that he did not have time to help us, but that he would take our payment.

That was the icing on the cake. We were traveling on the cheap and this was the most stressful and most expensive accommodation. It is not located anywhere near Dubrovnik. In fact, this villa is located off the old main road to Dubrovnik, but since they built a bridge this route has become obsolete and truly inconvenient. If you want to stay outside of Dubrovnik and take the bus, I'd recommend Mlini or Cavtat both much better and more picturesque options.

This place is not professional.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kk0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed here in June 2012. The accommodation is very nice, clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. There is a bus stop a few minutes away where you can get a bus into Dubrovnik but after a few days of this it becomes a bit of a chore. Its you are just staying for a few days it would be ok. Also there is only one restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uk2011uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Beautiful location, 20 min from bus station (ticket cost from shp 15kn on bus)with minute walk from bus stop. Fantastic service, only too happy to help. Comfortable rooms with all the basics. Well worth the price. great place to stay

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spicebom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
133 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We were here two couples for only two nights. The rooms were just ok and the full English breakfast was great.
This place is not in the center of Dubrovnik, it is situated in Mokosica, close to the bus station. With the bus we've made approximately 20 minutes to the center of Dubrovnik (the Old City).
The owner of the villa is a very nice and helpful woman. She helped us with information, with reserving the cruise to the three islands, with advices and even in-house treatments for some echinus stings. She is just lovely and very friendly and cheerful.
If going back again in Dubronik, I'll certainly stay here again because, even if there are 20 minutes to the Old City of Dubrovnik, the place is really nice and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreeaConstantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We booked 2 double rooms and we stayed for two nights. The pension house is located in Mokošica, a district of Dubrovnik, right beside the sea inlet and accross the ACI Marina Dubrovnik. The premises are clean and neat and the owners are quite friendly, helpful and speak good English. Villa Konalic is located a mere 5-minute walk from the bus stop. From there Line 1A and 1B provide a quick link to the Old Town (approximately 15 mins). The overall opinion was that this is a quiet place run by friendly people. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank eugenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
3.8 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
3.9 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
1,815 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
547 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
3.8 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 66 in Dubrovnik
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Konalic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Konalic

Property: Villa Konalic
Address: Rozhat Donji 47, Dubrovnik 20236, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 488 Speciality Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Konalic 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Konalic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing