We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food. Excellent service.”
Review of Restaurant Posat

Restaurant Posat
Ranked #72 of 373 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food. Excellent service.”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Our hotel recommended this restaurant and it was very good. Just outside the pile gate. The food was very good, with a lovely view. We had calamari for an appetizer and grilled fish for our main. The waiter was the best we've ever had and we have travelled all over the world and have eaten at some of the best restaurants. A very good experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    133
    75
    36
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Outrageous prices”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is the place that our hotel like many others recommends for dinner in Dubrovnik. It's right outside of the city walls with good views. The staff was warm and friendly.

The food was fine, nothing special. The prices made me feel like I was in Switzerland or Stockholm. They come out with a nice selection of fish and only quote prices by the Kilo. We had the cuttlefish ink pasta to start which was average followed by a whole fish that we shared paired with a local white wine. They ended up charging me over 500 Kuna (nearly 100 USD) for the fish.

There is really just no reason to go to this tourist trap.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clubcoco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rude and arrogant”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had just arrived in Dubrovnik and did not realize Old Town was full of restaurants

We were hungry so tried this place as it was away from the main gate to Old Town and quieter

We took a look at the sandwich board in front of the main door and decided to try it

A gentleman was standing in the door so we said for two - he started walking up the stairs and said to me - Do you have a reservation? I said no do we need one? He said I'm sure I can find a spot

Well there was two other tables being used out of maybe 15!

He showed us to a table
I asked if we could have the one overlooking the street - he said if you come back tomorrow for dinner I will give you that table!

Fine we sat down -gave us menus - we ordered two beers
Looked over the menu - some very expensive items just for lunch

He also showed us his tray of what fish were being served that day.

He came back - I could not decide on what I wanted - reminded him that we had ordered two beer - he relatively said once you place your food order we will get you your beer!

Well we ate - but will not go back to this restaurant

I found him to be rude and arrogant

Welcome to Dubrovnik I said to myself

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RetireeKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We had a very delicious dinner with first class seafood with tigerprawns and some other nice from the sea. The service was excellent and the view over the city wall was a great backdrop.

Helpful?
3 Thank Staffan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
82 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Too expensive for quality”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had dinner at Posat on a warm October evening outside--all very nice. However, I would not recommend the restaurant. We had a pasta dish which claimed to have truffle, but no truffle taste was there. We also had fresh fish, bream and snapper. The fish was overcooked and dry. The price was about $50 per person for the fish alone. Not worth it. We had much better fish at other restaurants in Croatia and the price was not as high.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Posat also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Restaurant Posat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing