We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious fresh food”
Review of Restaurant Posat

Restaurant Posat
Ranked #75 of 380 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious fresh food”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was the 1st place we stopped at to eat upon arriving in Dubrovnik, based on our driver's recommendation.

It did not disappoint.

You are sitting across from the city walls and can see all the people coming and going below you, without being too close.

Our server Danyel was very friendly and polite.

We had the catch of the day, fresh grilled sea bass and it was delicious.
We also had a nice Caprese salad, a nice fresh glass of local rose. Yumm!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    138
    76
    37
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food. Excellent service.”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Our hotel recommended this restaurant and it was very good. Just outside the pile gate. The food was very good, with a lovely view. We had calamari for an appetizer and grilled fish for our main. The waiter was the best we've ever had and we have travelled all over the world and have eaten at some of the best restaurants. A very good experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Outrageous prices”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is the place that our hotel like many others recommends for dinner in Dubrovnik. It's right outside of the city walls with good views. The staff was warm and friendly.

The food was fine, nothing special. The prices made me feel like I was in Switzerland or Stockholm. They come out with a nice selection of fish and only quote prices by the Kilo. We had the cuttlefish ink pasta to start which was average followed by a whole fish that we shared paired with a local white wine. They ended up charging me over 500 Kuna (nearly 100 USD) for the fish.

There is really just no reason to go to this tourist trap.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clubcoco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rude and arrogant”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had just arrived in Dubrovnik and did not realize Old Town was full of restaurants

We were hungry so tried this place as it was away from the main gate to Old Town and quieter

We took a look at the sandwich board in front of the main door and decided to try it

A gentleman was standing in the door so we said for two - he started walking up the stairs and said to me - Do you have a reservation? I said no do we need one? He said I'm sure I can find a spot

Well there was two other tables being used out of maybe 15!

He showed us to a table
I asked if we could have the one overlooking the street - he said if you come back tomorrow for dinner I will give you that table!

Fine we sat down -gave us menus - we ordered two beers
Looked over the menu - some very expensive items just for lunch

He also showed us his tray of what fish were being served that day.

He came back - I could not decide on what I wanted - reminded him that we had ordered two beer - he relatively said once you place your food order we will get you your beer!

Well we ate - but will not go back to this restaurant

I found him to be rude and arrogant

Welcome to Dubrovnik I said to myself

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RetireeKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We had a very delicious dinner with first class seafood with tigerprawns and some other nice from the sea. The service was excellent and the view over the city wall was a great backdrop.

Helpful?
4 Thank Staffan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Posat also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Restaurant Posat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing