We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value accommodation in a delightful city”
Review of Villa Amfora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Amfora
Ranked #141 of 183 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Dubrovnik is a bit of a tourist trap, so finding reasonably-priced accommodation can be a bit of a challenge. Villa Amfora is therefore a bargain you really should consider.

It's located about 3km from the old city. Via public transport (e.g., the airport bus - 30 minutes), you should come to the main bus terminal from where Villa Amfora is 10 minutes' walk - it's very easy to find. Travelling to the old town and back is simple, with a cheap and regular bus service literally at the front door.

Villa Amfora is a café bar with a restaurant at the back (more of this later) and rooms above. This is no-frills accommodation, so there's no room service or breakfast included, but if you prefer to save your money for other things, and will settle for a clean and safe place to stay at a very low price, this is ideal.

I can't fault Kristian and his other English-speaking staff. Their service is second to none, and provided in a friendly yet courteous way. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble, and they were very flexible in helping me with my travel arrangements. Expect e-mail contact after you've booked.

The hidden secret to Villa Amfora is the recently-opened restaurant, with a Mediterranean theme. I can't praise the quality of the food too highly - it was simply superb, and after eating here one night there was no reason for me to try anyway else. Highly recommended, including of course for non-residents.

Thank you to all involved for a memorable visit. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PurpleHankyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villa_amfora, Owner at Villa Amfora, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

We greatly appreciate your kind comment. We are doing great and we are eagerly expecting the season to introduce tourists to our passion - great food lovingly prepared from fresh Croatian ingredients. Hope you visit us again..

Best regards,

Kristian Korda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

Could not be faulted. The location is great – short walk from the bus station, or the ferry terminal, short bus ride to the old town, or if you are feeling energetic, a nice walk. The rooms are at the back of the very nice bar and restaurant area. Upstairs and at the rear – away from the noise of the street, and with a great view of the mountains. The rooms themselves are spotless, in great condition, fresh, airy and light.There is an upstairs dining and lounge area, which is great to relax in with a drink after a day of sightseeing! The staff are great, friendly, helpful, attentive. I would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation, and would definitely book this again if I am able to return to Dubrovnik!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyG_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My Partner & I stayed in Villa Amfora for 7 nights..we would highly recommend it!! Kristian & all his staff were unbelievably nice & so helpful when we needed to know anything. It is just across from the beautiful harbour where you can sit & watch the sunset..The villa has a lovely restaurant to eat or just sit & have a drink & watch the world go by. Again we can't recommend this highly enough..we will certainly be back. Kristian if you are reading this, a big thank you from us, we look forward to coming back to your beautiful country. Julie & Kevin. (Scotland) :)))))

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villa_amfora, Owner at Villa Amfora, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Hi Julie and Kevin,

Thank you so much for your kind review and I apologize for taking so long to respond. I just registered my account on tripadvisor. Hope both of you are doing well. We are also doing good. Had a stable winter and got a fine clientele for our cuisine. We are especially proud of our lunch specials and how the charcoal grill is doing its wonders. Hope to see you again some time.

Best regards,

Kristian Korda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Stayed in Villa Amfora 3 nights with my girlfriend. The location was good, close to the harbour and with the busstopp outside the door. 10 min ride to the old town with bus, and 20-25 walking. The rooms were nice and clean.

Kristian , the owner gave us excellent service and was very helpful with everything!! When we came there, they had just opened up, but the bar &restaurant was lovely. The second day, they hadd a opening party. The drinks in the bar was free, and we had a great party there with Kristian and the bar staff :)

We will strongly recommend Villa Amfora to our friends and family!! ( Kristians father drove us the the busstion when he saw us on the street looking for a taxi!!!)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EdvinIsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We visited Villa Amfora twice for three days in July and three days in August. Both times we were greeted by the friendly owner , Kristian Korda who was unbelieveably helpful, kind and attentive. A real plus is that he speaks at least 3 languages (Croatian, German and English) and for us- his communication in English was excellent. When we arrived in July with our bicycles, we discovered that a part on my friend's bike had been damaged in the flight. He contacted many people and even drove my friend to look at the bikes available in Dubrovnik. I cannot think of anywhere in the world where you would be treated so well. Kristian treated us like family and old friends.

The staff was also friendly, attentive and helpful. Not only are the staff great but the food is incredible- a real treat to your palate. Kristian takes real pride in the fresh food and there is the option of sitting on the terrace outside, the dining room inside, the bar, or tables at the side of the street.

The accommodation is reasonably priced and pristine with ancient artifacts, great art. and a marble stair case. It is located close to ferries, boats, and the bus is right outside the door. This makes it easy to get to old town, or to neighbouring islands for the day.

Overall, this was the best Villa in Dubrovnik and I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elsparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Christian, owner and manager of Amfora Villa was an instrumental part of our phenomenal vacation in Croatia. He helped us get oriented to the city and the country. He has recently opened a first class restaurant in his villa. His expertise not only in the culinary arts but as a wine sommelier ensured us our best meal during our 3 week vacation in Croatia. Although travelling in a foreign country where we did not know the language, we felt very much at home and catered to.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlotteA056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Really lovely B&B. Nice, clean room with a fridge & tv. Rooms cleaned every day. Great Value for money. Nice location & not too far from Dubrovnik centre.
Kristian was absolutely fantastic. So friendly, warm, helpful, excellent English & went out of his way to make sure you had a great stay. This is his business & it means a lot to him. As well as making sure his guests enjoy their stay at his hotel & in Dubrovnik. Thanks for a great welcome to Croatia! Annabelle & Andy :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annabellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
853 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cocoon Hostel & Apartments
Cocoon Hostel & Apartments
#148 of 516 in Dubrovnik
43 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hostel Angelina Old Town
Hostel Angelina Old Town
#4 of 516 in Dubrovnik
186 reviews
1.5 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Amfora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Amfora

Address: Obala Stjepana Radica 26, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £51 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Amfora 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 100 m from the Ferry Port, Rooms Villa Amfora Dubrovnik features a locally popular restaurant and offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi and TV. This family run guesthouse is 50 m from a bus stop and a 10-minute bus ride from the UNESCO-protected Old City. A fridge and a small seating area are standard facilities in all rooms at the Amfora. The private bathroom comes with shower and a hairdryer. Mediterranean and international cuisine is offered at the on-site restaurant, and a selection of local drinks is available at the bar. Guests can relax with a drink or a meal on the terrace. A green market, a cash machine and tourist agencies can be found within a 3-minute walk from the guest house. All beaches in the town can be reached in a 15-minute bus ride. Rooms Villa Amfora Dubrovnik is 2 km from the Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Amfora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing