We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable and friendly stay”
Review of Guesthouse Mary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Mary
Ranked #134 of 488 Speciality Lodging in Dubrovnik
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“comfortable and friendly stay”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I stayed here for one week, and used the area as my base. A family run guesthouse I felt very welcome and enjoyed my chats with Nada and Miska(and the Croatian beer). Mary didn't speak English but she was always smiling and very friendly. My room was very spacious and comfortable and wasn't too warm, very comfortable. The bathroom was always spotless. Although high on a hill, the number 6 bus stopped a minute from Guesthouse Mary. Restaurants, shops the beach and promenade are only a few minutes walk away and the area is nice and quiet and very clean. The old town just a 15 minute bus journey away. I can't recommend it enough, and really suit young people on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
7
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Charming little Guesthouse, very quiet and private, out of the main town, but a short easy bus ride away from Dubrovnik old town. We were greeted from the bus station which was really kind, and had a lovely stay in a spacious room with air con machine and a beautiful little balcony!
No kitchen facilities, but a fridge to keep beer and snacks in, was really useful! Lovely, freindly, family run place, perfect for a relaxing short break, a real treat and a break from the madness of hostel living! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 454Jasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is a great guesthouse for the budget traveller. The location is within walking distance of several beaches and close to a bus route that is good for the rest of the city and the old city. The rooms are clean and the facilities are adequate. There is no air conditioning in the rooms but all do have fans, although this may not be quite adequate in the heat of summer. Mary ad her family are very friendly and helpful. For a reasonable price I was picked up from the airport and during my stay I was given lifts to the old city and the bus station. On arrival I too was offered a drink and was given some advice on what to see and where to go.

A great little guesthouse with very friendly and helpful hosts.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCh908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Since Dubrovnik was not a particularly attractive/available prospect at the height of the summer season I opted to stay in nearby Lapad...The Guesthouse Mary proved to be a very sound choice - On arrival I met with Mary and her son Niska and was offered a welcome drink, together with detailed information on the local area (maps/guidebooks)...Located about 3km from the 'old town' of Dubrovnik the main attractions are not too far away...Those of Lapad are all within easy walking distance and a regular bus service (no.6) runs into central Dubrovnik, from just outside the Guest House and drops passengers just outside the old town gates.

I had a clean and well-presented room with access to shared facilities, all of which were of a high standard...The room was decorated and furbished in a fresh, contemporary style and included a stand-up fan and a small desk. Note that rooms vary massively here...Larger rooms have balconies with lovely sea/land views whereas smaller rooms have a view of a rear patio that contains trees, shrubs and what appear to be assorted building materials. The rooms would all really benefit from air-conditioning, especially in the summer months...It was very difficult to sleep despite the use of a fan. The location (at the top of two of Dubrovnik's many steep hills) would also be enough to make some think twice, despite the frequency of the local bus connections...Local shops/bars/restaurants and practically all other amenities are located about 10 minutes away (downhill naturally).

During my stay Mary and her daughter Nada did my washing for me for a modest charge and also invited me to sample some fruit from their garden (which was both delicious and nutritious). The whole family were really kind and hospitable and this is what really made the difference for me...The guest house is clearly a family run business and great pride is clearly taken in the quality of the service provided to its international visitors and I genuinely felt most welcome. Overall I was a satisfied customer and would consider staying again if ever I find myself stranded in the 'Pearl of The Adriatic'...If ever I do I just hope that it's not in August.

Room Tip: See above - Go for a larger room with a balcony...I wish I had done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRonaldSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Before few days we went to Dubrovnik and had a really nice welcome. The room and the bathroom were perfect clean. We also had a balkonie with a really nice view around Dubrovnik. As well they were good host because they look before our arrival informations together (map etc.). We were very happy with everything and would come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My family and I went to Dubrovnik for a family wedding, and as I was by myself I did not want to pay an obscene price to stay in the Lapad hotel where the rest of family were staying as a single room usually costs the same if not more that a twin/double room. I found Guesthouse Mary online and I was so surprised when I got there. I received such a warm welcome from the proprietors, who offered me drinks and fruit while I checked in. The rooms were clean and tidy, as were the bathrooms. I started in a single room, but it was so hot in there with just a fan so I asked to be moved to an air con room which they agreed to immediately. The second room was bigger and much cooler. The view from the second room was amazing. I had a small balcony, and the view at sunset of the port was lovely. Fridges were supplied in the hallways so I could put my water in there over night/ while I was out. The walk up the hill to the Guesthouse was a bit of a challenge but I was glad of it really after all the food I consumed. I found a shortcut through the local streets so I didn’t walk on the road at all. My first day I did get a bit lost trying to explore the short cut but whoever I asked for directions were more than helpful, even if they didn’t speak English. The family who runs Guesthouse Mary also gave me directions / tips regarding the area. I couldn’t have asked for a better place to stay on a budget in Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: Ask for an Air Con room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Guesthouse Mary is located at the hill and has amazing views from the balcony on which you can have breakfast. I booked a single room, but was offered a larger room for the same price, and my room was very nice and clean. It was very close to the city and a bus stop was 200m away. The hosts were very welcoming and helpful, they went out of their way to make my stay pleasant and comfortable, so I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: My room was on the 2nd floor with a large, very clean shared bathroom. It was a double room, with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.8 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#27 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.8 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Mary

Property: Guesthouse Mary
Address: Mostarska 2b, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 488 Speciality Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and HostelWorld so you can book your Guesthouse Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing