We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better the second time around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartments Baltazar
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Even better the second time around”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Fantastic apartment
Fantastic view from the balcony
Fantastic host...

Everyone should get the chance to meet the best Croatian couple, Ivo and Marija.

This was our second time in Dubrovnik staying at Apartment Baltazar and we loved every minute of it. It's become our favourite place to be and we can't wait to go back.
Susan & Chris UK

Room Tip: Both apartments are the same with modern decor and a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisgriff6191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
63
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Where do I start? There is so much to say about Baltazar and in particular the host Ivo, so please bear with me as I ramble on trying to explain why it is simply the best. The location of the apartments are excellent with amazing views and sunsets, there are some 375 steps up from the old town, but if that is too much the number 3 bus is perfect and almost stops right outside. The apartments are impeccably clean and have everything you could ever want. Clean towels every 2nd day, bed changes after a few days, the beds are comfortable, there is nothing to improve upon.

The apartments aside and as great that they are, the real gem is Ivo, the owner. In all our travels we have never felt so welcome and part of the family as we did with Ivo. It all started with being met at the airport by Ivo, it was like we were long lost friends. We arrive at the apartment, but not to go to our room, but instead sit on the lovely terrace and have drinks with Ivo as he tells you all about Dubrovnik and Croatia. It really is true, Ivo is your guide book, just forget what you have read and be guided by him.

Each morning we enjoyed a beautiful breakfast right next door, and despite the late night Ivo had after chatting and having drinks with you, there he was with a smile as bright as can be.

No matter what time of the night you return to your apartment you know that Ivo will be there on the terrace waiting for you with a drink and much fun and conversation. He clearly is very passionate about Dubrovnik, and we enjoyed many nights listening and learning and laughing.

There is absolutely nothing that Ivo cannot do for you, organise a tour, get beach towels for you, tell you where to find the best gelato, and much more. On our last night he had organised a wonderful night out for a group of us to go with him to a fabulous traditional Croation restaurant, and when I say organise, he sorted transport, the wine, the menu, the stop at the top of the hill for the view, he organised everything, and all we paid for was the meal.

We met some people who returned to stay with Ivo, and we can absolutely understand why you would come back to apartments Baltazar again and again. We had an incredible time in Dubrovnik, and while Dubrovnik is absolutely beautiful, the real reason for such a fantastic experience was Ivo and apartments Baltazar.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim-Boz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

It's been over five weeks since we visited Croatia but I am still smiling while I write this long overdue review. We stayed at Apartments Baltazar for a full week in late July. Even before we arrived I was impressed at the tone of Ivo's emails where he provided great suggestions and even offered to do our washing as we had been on the road for several days beforehand. While I certainly enjoy staying at nice hotels for a week long stay I wanted something where it felt more like home. Apartments Baltazar worked out perfectly.
I had originally thought of staying inside the Old City but decided not to which was a good choice as I later heard that inside the walled city during the peak season there was lots of noise from late night discos followed by early morning deliveries and garbage pick up since no vehicles are permitted inside after mid morning.
Anyway Ivo picked us up at the airport late Sunday evening after we flew in from Venice. He was friendly and very passionate about the wonders of Croatia and had many useful suggestions. Our apartment was convenient and had great views of the Adriatic. It is not a luxurious four star resort but rather a clean comfortable apartment with great amenities. My only minor suggestion would be to provide more pillows.
It is about a 15 minute walk into the walled town but be warned it involves 300+ steps each way but we didn't mind the exercise plus each afternoon Ivo would offer some much needed chilled beer.
One of the highlights was a street party Friday evening where an entire lamb was roasted and music played late into the night. I imagine if you were staying for one night it would be annoying but since we had stayed for a full week it was a great opportunity to celebrate with new found friends.
Speaking of which the owner of Villa Klaic next door - Milo - where breakfast was offered each day was equally charming and gracious.
A definite recommend.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BlairYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Well, what can you say about these apartments...pardon the essay.

You are welcomed by a spacious bedroom off the main hall way. Beds were put together for me and my girlfriend. Very comfortable! The smell of the rooms and bedding was great too. Ivo and /or his wife popping in every other day to change sheets and towels for us. Cleanliness was number one from Ivo for us.

The bathroom and open plan living space are exactly what you are after and super clean, with air conditioning. You then have a balcony with a sea view and you can make out near by Lokrum Island and catch the edge of the city walls from there. It is not just the apartments that leave an impression on you though.

Ivo and his family are the opitimy of hospitality. After the slight hiccup of pick up arrangements at the airport (make sure Ivo has your flight details) we made our way to the apartments and we're greeted with beer, wine and grapo (local brandy) as a welcome. He began by asking about where we were from and taking in us as people. He then showed us the local sights and sounds to visit and urged us to throw our Rough Guide away and his suggestions were ideal for what we were after!

Villa Klaic next door played a part in our marvellous stay, as breakfast and an evening meal were served here, with a beer tap and pool to boot we also had use of this. Thank you Milo!

Ivo arranged a meal for all the guests between the 2 apartments at a beautiful restaurant up on Mount Srd and took us to the panoramic platform for pictures of the sunset and Lokrum in the background. Ivo also himself cooked for me and my girlfriend and asked us to eat with him and his family during a national holiday. Just superb hospitality.

And to top it off, he invited me to play football with him, Milo and his friends one evening and that was a great surprise!

I guarantee you will not be disappointed by your stay here. We cannot speak highly enough of the service and friendly atmosphere of Ivo and his family and I very much look forward to staying again in the future.

Thank you Ivo!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanO533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband and I spent seven nights at Apartment Baltazar in July. We have stayed in many different villas and apartments in different countries over the last ten years. None has come close to the quality of service that we received at Apartment Baltazar. Ivo and his wife Marija and their two gorgeous daughters and his friend Milo ( ladies - he looks like a Croatian George Clooney!!) were exceptionally friendly and helpful and truly the perfect hosts. We felt like part of the family from day one and were genuinely sad to leave them when we had to go.
The apartment has a great view and a balcony to enjoy it from. It is well fitted out, very clean and well maintained. There are a probably a number of other apartments in Dubrovnik that can make these claims but none of them have the unique advantages of being hosted by Ivo and Milo. These guys provide seven star service!! Nothing is too much trouble for them and they arranged everything we needed. They were incredibly generous with their hospitality. From breakfast in a great room with spectacular ocean views to free drinks on the terrace to sharing homegrown tomatoes and homemade olive oil and Ivo preparing a delightful lunch for us on our last day- you would not get this sort of service anywhere no matter how much you pay! This is why we call it seven star service and intend to return with our friends and family in 2014.

A great big personal thank you to Ivo & Milo and families. We hope to see you again soon. Sally & Ed

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyZ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and were blown away by the hospitality, help and assistance that we received whilst on our holidays here. We were picked up from the airport and then brought to the lovely apartments to meet Ivo and his neighbour (Milo) who immediately made you feel welcome by discussing places to visit and see whist sitting in their courtyard and taking in the beautiful views of the coast and the Old Town. The apartment rooms were excellent and extremely well looked after. The breakfast is also provided each morning and consists of a lovely selection of fresh fruit, meat, cheese, bread, cereal and an array of warm and cold drinks - This sets you up well for your days adventure! Ivo made some fantastic suggestions of places to go to during the day and booked us into a selection of delightful restaurants in the evenings. Each day is amazing because you are walking distance to the impressive walled city and each meeting with Ivo is entertaining and helpful. As we left to move to our next stop on our travels, Ivo made the travel arrangements for us to get to our first island visit which was very kind and took any 'worries' from our travels. We would definitely recommend for people to stay here when visiting Dubrovnik. We are looking forward to planning our next visit to these apartments. Thank you Ivo, Milo and family - Evo and Gabby.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabby E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights in July. We only wished once we left that we were staying much longer. From the moment Ivo picks you up from the airport you are made to feel really welcome. Throw away your tourist guide books as Ivo will suggest on things to do from a locals eyes, places to eat and everything in between. We stayed in the 1 bed apartment. It was immaculate and had a great view. Location wise it was great. A nice walk down small sided streets, it took a very leisurely 15 minutes to old town taking photos along the way. My partner who was pregnant found it easy as well for the walk back. A good way to burn some kilo joules as well. Our stay here although short was truly memorable and will be remembered for many years to come. Ivo provides that level of service which most hotels cannot provide. Cannot wait until we return to see "our friend".

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,451 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,777 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#21 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 67 in Dubrovnik
2,083 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 67 in Dubrovnik
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Baltazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Baltazar

Property: Apartments Baltazar
Address: Shumetska 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 490 Speciality Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartments Baltazar 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Apartments Baltazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing