We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Are Cheerleaders!”
Review of Apartments Laptalo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dubrovnik
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Apartments Laptalo
Ranked #14 of 179 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
Danville, California
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“We Are Cheerleaders!”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Give me an L!
What’s that mean? LAPTALO!!!
What’s that mean? LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!!!

We were fortunate to spend 2 nights at Kristo and Angela’s one of two offered apartments. Hands down or even up you cannot beat this location with its expansive terrace overlooking Dubrovnik’s Old Town spires. Baro and Maro, the 2 bronze figures ringing the hourly bells in the clock tower, are almost your neighbors. Sitting at sunset with an inexpensive, quality Croatian wine watching the lights slowly bath the Old Town in a silhouetted splendor is priceless. The cable cars carrying passengers up Mount Srd pass silently by in an amber glow only 200 meters away giving a feeling of sitting at a ski resort, après ski! In our case, après wall walking!

We arrived in our buggy close to noon. GPS is very helpful because you do not want to pass by their villa. The busy road is one way and getting back for a redo might take awhile! The villa is on the left where the lower garages flank a tall parking pay station. Just pull in front of the pay station where parking is free. We rang the bell and Angela came down to greet us. She confirmed our parking spot and in we went. Provided are beer, wine, instant coffee and multiple snack items (how refreshing a “mini-bar” that is not a profit center). The room is spotless with your own outside table and chairs resting in front of the large window. This is where Angela leaves her very early morning baked good treats for your awakening pleasure!

Kristo soon arrived to also greet us. Where upon we heard the first of a few admonishments (true) that our short stay of 2 nights is not nearly enough time! So we leapt into action!!! Our exploration began by walking to The Ploca Gate entrance (10 minutes). Just follow the main road past the cable car terminal to the main road intersection and down the “hidden (key)” steps where vendors first sell cable car tickets (buy them at the cable car terminal, no price differential). We used Rick Steves excellent travel guide (Croatia & Slovenia) walking tour for our initial outing with a very good lunch at Kamenice and its offering of mussels. Wall access closes at 7PM. We came back at 5PM (best light) to do our wall walk and explore St Lawrence Fortress which was an excellent strategy. Kristo recommended Dubravka 1836 outside the Pila Gate where we made an 8:30PM reservation during our afternoon walking tour for a wonderful front table overlooking the lit wall fortifications and the cove below. Pizza and pivo were a perfect combination before heading home to be seen via the lively night scene along the Stradun!

The next day after our morning Angela treats we motored off for a Day Trip to Montenegro and the Bay of Kotor. Again we followed Rick Steve’s narrative while driving the entire gorgeous perimeter of the Bay and enjoying a fine dining lunch at Stari Mlini. We also toured the Old Town, but passed on the steep wall climbs up the side of the mountain. We returned in time to take the cable car at 7PM for the sunset on top of Mount Srd. Beautiful views of the Northern Islands (not charged to gain access to museum roof area for best views). Then one final descent back inside the gated walls enjoying some music at a couple of clubs!

Leaving the next day for Sibenik (Krka NP), post treats, we again followed the Rick Steve’s longer driving narrative through the mountain area of Bosnia and a visit to “complicated” Mostar. Well worth the adventure!


Molte Grazie – Kristo e Angela!!!

Room Tip: Either room is terrific!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StrandsDanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
48
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Wow. What a welcome to Dubrovnik. We simply pulled up outside the apartment on the off chance there would be a vacancy and they squeezed us in. The apartment was so clean it put my own house to shame. I felt we could ask for anything. Our big landy couldn't fit in the garage so we unloaded and parked it empty elsewhere and they looked after all our belongings for us. Just very helpful and friendly. Thought I was getting a weak wi-fi but they reset and sorted it all out. Lots of useful information to leaf through in the apartment. And thank you very much for the morning treats!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StrawberryOxford_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincili, Owner at Apartments Laptalo, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thanks Antony and Samantha and our best regards to your kids (still hard to belief).
Kristo and Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We spent a week in Dubrovnik and enjoyed our apartment as an excellent retreat from the city (5 minute walk) with every convenience we could ask for. We chose it because of views, location and parking and found it met our highest expectations. Since we were driving from Split, Kristo met us outside town and escorted us to the apartment to avoid the confusion of a new city. The apartment was stocked with everything we needed, including beer, wine, candy, soft drinks, etc. Every morning we found fresh pastry on the table of our large covered patio. We also had a huge uncovered patio overlooking the city. When we left Kristo drove us to the airport for free. We felt lucky to have such friendly, helpful hosts as Kristo and Andela.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steve33327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We spent one week in the Apartments Laptalo, having read all the great reviews on Tripadvisor. The location, apartment and hosts, Kristo and Andela, are all excellent. The large terrace with hammock etc. overlooks the Old Town and is very relaxing. The apartment is only two flights of steps down to the Old Town or a gently sloping walk back up the road. The location is perfect for visiting Old Town restaurants in the evening. The terrace overlooking the town and sea is such a haven to return to after the busy tourist areas. However, its all the little 'extras' provided by Kristo and Andela that make this the place to stay. We were picked up at the airport, we had fresh produce left for us every morning for breakfast from the local bakery, the fridge had jam, butter, wine etc. on arrival and tea, coffee, and biscuits. Andela provides clean sheets and towels and looks after everything while you enjoy your holiday. Kristo also gave us a 2 hour tour of Dubrovnik and outlying areas in his car. Their attention to detail is what makes these apartments special and we would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation. We hope to return!

Room Tip: Both apartments are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Diane191277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We first choose this apartment among the available mainly for it’s location. We don’t easily trust on internet opinions. But once we saw the apartment, we realized everything was just as good as previous visitors described! It was all beyond expectation!

The apartment has got a huge patio with a view on the old-town and the sea, it’s great place for a peaceful breakfast, lunch, appero, dinner or just admire the mid-night fresh air! Inside, the apartment is spacious enough, absolutely clean, there’s everything you need to cook, bathroom is perfect. Everything in the apartment seems to be new and unused!

The apartment is perfectly located, out of the noisy old town but close to it, and few minutes’ walk from the only sand beach.

Beside the apartment it-self, it’s the couple of owners who makes your stay that good! Kristo came to pick-up us at the airport (so did he for the return). His wife Angela brought a patisserie/croissant every morning for the breakfast (we used to wake-up at 6’30 a.m!!!) We booked for a 6days stay and Angela kept the apartment clean during the 6days! Both of them were always available but never intrusive! They surprised us with many other nice things, but we prefer to let them the pleasure to surprise their guests. We really felt at home, away from home!

So if the apartment is available for your dates, go for it with a peaceful mind!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincili, Owner at Apartments Laptalo, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thanks for the nice review and as I said before it was a real pleasure to have you as a quests.
thanks again and all the best
Angela and Kristo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

After going through the horror of realising we had booked our Dubrovnik accommodation for the month after we would actually be there, the hunt was on to find decent and reasonably priced accommodation a day before we arrived!

We came across Apartments Laptalo on Tripadvisor and we emailed Kristo immediately to which he responded within the hour. After then speaking with Kristo we decided we were happy with the price, location and just the general information we received we confirmed our booking.

We let Kristo know what time we would be arriving and he offered to come pick is up from the airport at no cost. He was even thoughtful enough to send us a photo so we knew who to look for.

When we got to the airport, Kristo was there with a sign to pick us up. Along the way to his place he told us some history and we asked some questions about Dubrovnik.

When we arrived to the apartments, his wife Angela came down to meet us too. I have to say when we were shown our accommodation we were stoked! It was better than what we had read about and better than what was originally booked. It's a self contained apartment which is spotless and meticulously looked after. There was a fridge, stove and sink and it is stocked with some basic essentials.

Every morning Angela would leave a pastry for each of us on the terrace which was basically our breakfast, which was very thoughtful and yummy to boot!

The apartment is at the top of a set of stairs which lead to the Ploce gate to Old Town and is a two minute walk to the Cable Car. It is also about a five minute walk to a different entrance to the Old Town.

There is only one other apartment and the place is nice and quiet and you are advised against bringing back visitors.

I would have no problems recommending these apartments to anyone who is thinking of staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didi1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincili, Owner at Apartments Laptalo, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Many thanks for the wonderful and detailed review.
Best regards for both of you hoping that you are enjoying the rest of your vacation.
all the best
Kristo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joensuu, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We had our one week holiday in the end of July and everything was perfect, including the weather.
The aparment was fabolous and very clean. Quiet enviroment and with a fantastic sea wiew and location (about 200 meters to the old town and the old harbour).
Our host Kristo and he`s wife Angela were very nice; we felt us as relatives. Everything was perfect and they would help if you need any assistant at all. Every morning Angela had put fresh pastries on terrace table! Kristo picked us from the airport and leave back ( with sighseeing tour) without extra cost!
We recommend this apartment to everybody. See surely you next year ( if there is apartment then available...! )

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank VirpiAri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,087 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
0.5 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#16 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,174 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,868 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Laptalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Laptalo

Property: Apartments Laptalo
Address: Petra Kreshimira IV 13, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 179 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing