We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it at all.”
Review of Restaurant Antunini - CLOSED

Restaurant Antunini
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not worth it at all.”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is a play you definitely want to avoid, the price is outrageous for what you receive, and there are so many better options for less money just steps away. Additionally, the alley smells like cat piss. I got a cheese plate, and it came with the most pathetic cheeses, I couldn't believe it was so expensive. I ordered a chardonnay, and it smelled like musty mushrooms, and tasted terrible. The oysters were difficult to force down. Just, ugh.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    29
    15
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Cold veg and a thin, over-cooked fillet”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

If you are strolling down the restaurant strip on Prijeko and craving fish, I suggest walking another 100 metres down the street and getting a table at Moby Dick, who served up a slightly dearer fillet the day before that was thick and juicy and simply better value. Antonini's high point is a welcoming drink of some sort of clear liqueur. The fish fillet was about 4 mm thick and cooked to the point of pointlessness. It was paired with the bland boiled potato-spinach blend that is served up in Dubrovnik, but these veg were at around 15 degrees, i.e., cold. A Greek salad was light on feta, the olives were sort of nasty, and it was fleshed out with lettuce. I was really underwhelmed, but the diners at the tables next to us who chose steaks seemed happy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MisterForbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a shame”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We were staying in an apartment close by and walked past this place. Convinced to go in by a waitress with the promise of a free bottle of house wine, we are what was very tasteless food. Polenta? More like porridge. Vegetables cooked to death. And the free bottle of wine??? "Oh you chose a Rose. That wasn't included!" Hmmm. You could have told us when we ordered it. A real shame because the setting is lovely. AVOID this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danoir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“True authentic Croatian lunch!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I spent a day in Dubrovnik whilst on a cruise and wanted to experience a true Croatian seafood lunch (as they are known for good seafood). We went to one restaurant first but they weren't serving lunch yet so the owner told us to follow him and took us through quite a few alleyways and stairs to Antonini's. We were so grateful for him bringing us to this place as we had one of the best lunches ever on our holiday! We ordered a seafood platter for 2 with a side of potatoes and greens and everything tasted absolutely fantastic. We also wanted to try some Croatian wine but weren't sure what to choose so the woman serving us (can't remember her name but she was lovely) brought us a delicious white wine and also gave us Croatian vermouth on the house! This did not feel like a tourist restaurant either which is a big plus for us. We left Dubrovnik with beautiful memories and will never forget our delicious lunch at Antonini's.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Visited to get out of the heat......”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Visited to get out of the heat......and very glad we did!
The restaurant is in a shady side street, away from the boiling main street.
It's a nice spot, out on the pavement. We had the complimentary welcome drink and then very good lunches, served by Ana the manager.
Definitely recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CNHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Antunini also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing