We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean studio apt with friendly hosts”
Review of Jele Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jele Rooms
Ranked #28 of 179 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
UK
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nice and clean studio apt with friendly hosts”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Wife and I stayed in Jele's for 6 nights last week. We booked a studio apartment and were given No 6 on the street level. There were some pros and also a few cons to be aware of.

Pros:

1. Apartment and bathroom were very clean and reasonably spacious.
2. Kitchen equipment, utensils etc. were very new.
3. Shower was good and hot water tank contained sufficient water for both of us.
4. Hosts (grandma, mum and daughter/son-in-law) were all friendly people.
5. We were left alone to get on so the hosts weren’t intrusive in anyway.
6. The place was reasonably quiet. The road right outside was a minor road so there were only residents' traffic.
7. There were a pizza eatery, a new agent and 2 bakeries (both 24 hrs!) and a bus stop down the road (2 minutes walk). A few supermarkets within 20 minutes walk.
8. The hosts can pick up and send you off to the main bus station on your arrival and departure if you ask.

Cons:

1. Quite far from old city (25-30mins with many steps). But it was easy to catch the No8 bus from a bus stop just outside the bakeries (3 minutes walk). A ticket costs 12Kuna from newsagent. It was a bit nearer to the harbour and main bus station (20 minutes walk and also a bit less steps). We used the bus from old city back to Jele’s on 2 evenings and the rest of time we walked and it was good to do so.
2. It could be a little difficult to find Jele’s if you were walking from the main bus station after your arrival from the airport. But people there were very friendly and helpful – an elderly lady took us almost all the way there as she was returning home from shopping!
3. There were 2 electric hobs in the kitchen but no oven/grill - so restricting the usefulness of the kitchen.
4. A few key utensils were lacking in the kitchen – bread knife, chopping board, decent sized bowls.
5. Quiet a number of the light bulbs were blown, should really be checked and replaced before the customers arrive.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay in Jele’s and Dubrovnik very much. The weather was excellent for mid October (after a couple of night rains at the beginning) and there were still people swimming in the sea! The day excursion to Montenegro (Perast, Kotoe, Budva, St Stafan) was interesting and the views were fantastic. The 3 island hopping boat trip was also very good. We received good discounts for booking both with an agent by harbour outside the old city wall (one should always ask about this anywhere). The half day trip to Cavtat by local bus (No 10, 45 minutes) was well worth doing.

If you don’t mind a bit of walking and are not looking for evening entertainment (clubs, discos..) and prefer moving around independently then I’d recommend Jele’s.

Room Tip: There were a couple more studio apartments above the street level, perhaps the views would be nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SC168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    27
    6
    2
    10
See reviews for
5
35
25
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Spent two weeks at Jele rooms in September. The accomodation was excellent, very reasonable price, very clean with ensuite.
There is also use of seperate kitchen area, a garden terrace which we often used.
We looked around the other apartments and all looked just as good. (Some have their own kitchen)
Grandma Jele speaks broken English but she is very helpful and caters for all your needs. The rest of her family who come and go speak perfect English and are just as obliging.
The apartments are 15 mins walk downhill to the bus station, where there is a big supermarket and Gruz Harbour.
The old city is a 30 mins walk (hilly) away. There is a regular bus service but we enjoyed the walk.
Grandma Jele will pick you up from the bus station if you phone her upon arrival. Or a transfer can be arranged before hand with her for around 30 euros.
If we ever go back to Dubrovnic we will be straight to Jele rooms as we absolutely loved it there.
We couldn't have been made to feel more welcome.

Room Tip: All rooms looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GELLIOTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Although the hostel is about 30 mins walk from the main bus station, I suggest the travelers taking No. 8 at the main bus station. Getting off at the Pizzeria la Luna, depending on your energy level, you can either climb the stair on the left (then turn right and walk ~20M); or walk straight and turn left at the first corner (walk uphill for ~50M). You will then see a small sign "Jele Rooms". The hostel is not easy to find and hope the above helps.

I stayed at grandma's apartment for three nights. The studio room is clean and large. The location is good, just short bus ride to the old town and to the beach. However, do check the bus schedule as it's not that frequent.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank axto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

had a very pleasant 3 night stay in mid-september. studio Room was clean & well presented multi-channel tv, nice shower and fully equipped kitchen.

Jele rooms is located a nice stroll or short bus journey to the old town or to lapad beach. 2 bakeries, pizzeria and supermarket close by.
Transfer to the airport can be arranged and in our experience was cheaper than those into town when we first arrived.
staff were very welcoming and informative ensured our visit was relaxing and hassle free.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eatcheeseplenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

The thing about Dubrovnik is that it isn't necessary to stay near the Old Town, which is the most common mistake tourists make. Jele Rooms has fully-equipped rooms on both sides of the bay, each an easy bus ride from the Old Town on Dubrovnik's efficient bus system. (You can buy tickets at the Old Town Square, Viktoria; a ticket costs 12 kuna.) Lile and her mother run Jele Rooms and it's not a hotel--you should phone ahead or email to make sure they know what time you're coming. The apartments are clean, large, and mine had a superb view (I was in the Hektorivica apartment). Lile is warm, professional, and knowledgeable about everything from the Dubrovnik Card to what bus you take to get to the bus station. Her restaurant recommendations were spot on. The cost was less than half what it cost me for a small dank room near Viktoria Square the last time I stayed. I learned a lot more about Dubrovnik staying at Jele Rooms than I would have, had I stayed near the Old Town.

Room Tip: Ask for the Cvijica apartments if you want to be closer to the bus station. Ask for the Hekorivica a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickdevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madurai, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

It is a family run residence.
It was a mixed experience. When we arrived, there was no one to welcome you. After few minutes of waiting and trying to find some one in the residence, and no one to pick up the phone number displayed, the neighbors helped. Then we realized that we have to go to another hotel, Lele rooms, which is run by the daughter of Jele. It was bit far from old city and lots of stairs for the luggage. Though they helped to transfer to the new place, there was nothing much in terms of service. The family is busy, and may to be available all the time.
The apartment was very good at Lele rooms, and the kitchen was nice. Bus number 4 connects you with the old city, and no 7 to the bus station or port. The frequency of bus is not very good, may be every 30 min to 1 hr. Remember that the tickets bought outside the bus (in counter) is costs 12 Kuna, while in the bus it is 15 Kuna. The ticket can be used for 1 h or 2 trips. There are some shops, bars and restaurants near by. Enjoy Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank VinothKhandelwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.6 mi away
Guesthouse Lile
Guesthouse Lile
#19 of 179 in Dubrovnik
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guesthouse Victoria
Guesthouse Victoria
#30 of 179 in Dubrovnik
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Orka Apartments
Orka Apartments
#33 of 499 in Dubrovnik
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Kate Dadic
Villa Kate Dadic
#42 of 499 in Dubrovnik
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rooms Niko
Rooms Niko
#63 of 179 in Dubrovnik
5 reviews
1.1 mi away
Apartments Mia
Apartments Mia
#58 of 499 in Dubrovnik
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jele Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jele Rooms

Property: Jele Rooms
Address: Stjepana Cvijica 1, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 179 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jele Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jele Rooms is a stone house with garden full of flowers and various domestic fruit.... It's located near the Port of Gruz and the main bus station. We are open all year around. Few rooms are with balcony, few are with terrace. Free of charge: Welcome drink, info and maps to navigate the city, towels, soap and bed linen, 24 hour hot shower, luggage storage, refrigerator, use of kitchen, use of outside barbecue, parking place, FREE INTERNET. Check in time is 00-24. Check out time is 10 00. All taxes are included in price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Jele Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing