We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Jele Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jele Rooms
Ranked #28 of 182 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We have just got back from a week in Dubrovnik. Jele, the owner of the rooms, was very welcoming. She didn't speak much English so my husband and her spoke in German. The ensuite studio with kitchenette was very clean and adequately fitted out (although no microwave!). We had our own private terrace. Air conditioning also worked well. The bus station was a twenty minutes walk away or we could get a number 8 bus. It was also a twenty minute walk into Dubrovnik or via same bus. Jele was able to give us information about best trips and we could book them through her. We chose to use the local ferry instead. There was a small supermarket next door and a bakery literally down the street. The Pizzeria La luna - 2 minutes away was a great place to eat in the evening. We wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a balcony from which we think you would be able to see the port of Gruz.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in June 2012 before heading off for a 7 day island cruise. The owners(family) are simply amazing! We arrived in Dubrovnik after midnight having gotten lost on the way back from Sarajevo (6 hours late thanks to my husband who thought it was 'just up the road'!!) and were met and led safely back to our accomodation. We had the studio at the end of the main house which was wonderfully private with a great kitchen and bathroom and free Wifi was an added bonus. This is very much a family business and Grandma Jele is amazing!..so helpful and a very funny lady with her broken English 'sayings'! There's a bus stop just outside and it's a just a 5 minute ride to the walled city. Thank you so much for your kindess and hospitality Jele Rooms, and so very sorry for the late response!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally McM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My partner and I booked these apartments in June '13 on the basis of the reviews on tripadvisor. We didn't have the same experience as the favourable reviews suggest others did.. When we arrived the owner (an elderly lady) couldn't speak English and we couldn't speak German so this was a problem until the lady rang her Daughter. We booked a room a month in advance and when we arrived we were told the apartments were overbooked. we were offered a much smaller room without a personal kitchen for ten euros less (was initially 80 they offered 70 euros per night). The next day we were told that we had to pay 75 euros. However this was negotiated to 70 euros a night.

We were initially underwhelmed by the room. In spite of all this I would say the owners were very accommodating with requests to book excursions and always offered us water or juice which in the heat was a nice gesture. Overall Dubrovnik can be expensive so it was fairly reasonable all things considered.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We had a great welcome by the lady who owns this place. She took extreme efforts to communicate with us English. We were impresses with grandmother,s energy to maintain the facility and its garden. The facility was very comfortable with all the amenities that a tourist would need. The place was very clean, provided with TV, A/C unit and a fully furnished kitchen. The only exception was the poor Internet connectivity. The place is very close (walking dist.) from the harbor, which connects to Mljet, Split etc. One of the largest grocery store (Konzume) is also walking dist. The landmark of 'La Luna' pizzeria is so popular that locating this place while driving was very easy. Niño, the grandson of owner, is also a great help, very courteous, extends helping hand at any time of the day to insure guests needs are met with immediately. His mother also visited us to explain everything in English about this unit and also about Dubrovnik. In short, it was very pleasant experience and would highly recommend any one either for a weekend getaway or a longer stay in Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: Improve Internet service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ssonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

If you're looking for a clean inexpensive place to stay within walking distance or bus line to the old city, this is the place. The owners are honest...When I quoted what I believed was the price of my room that I had reserved on line (i didnt have the print out) they corrected me and showed me the price i had reserved was $ 25 usd cheaper. How honest was that! The accomodations are clean and basic with no frills. So if you want a quiet place to lay your head at night, this suits the bill. We were also upgraded to an apt. without asking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toridon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at Jele Rooms in Dubrovnik the middle of September, 2012.
Upon arrival we walked to the back of the house and was met by the grandmother and given a nice drink. Shortly after the daughter showed up and said we would be staying in an apartment where she lived. I followed her in my car to the apartment. Even though it was crowded, there was a place to park. There were a fair number of steps up to the apartment which were fairly well lit.
The daughter was very nice and gave us another drink. The apartment had private facilities and was really nice and new. For Dubrovnik this was a very good people and the people we dealt with were excellent.
The negative was that it did take us extra time to get re-settled to the new apartment. When I arrived the place was hard to find. I had emailed twice asking for directions with no reply. I finally hired a taxi to follow to Jele Rooms. That worked out great. I highly reccomment Jele Rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank konejos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Wife and I stayed in Jele's for 6 nights last week. We booked a studio apartment and were given No 6 on the street level. There were some pros and also a few cons to be aware of.

Pros:

1. Apartment and bathroom were very clean and reasonably spacious.
2. Kitchen equipment, utensils etc. were very new.
3. Shower was good and hot water tank contained sufficient water for both of us.
4. Hosts (grandma, mum and daughter/son-in-law) were all friendly people.
5. We were left alone to get on so the hosts weren’t intrusive in anyway.
6. The place was reasonably quiet. The road right outside was a minor road so there were only residents' traffic.
7. There were a pizza eatery, a new agent and 2 bakeries (both 24 hrs!) and a bus stop down the road (2 minutes walk). A few supermarkets within 20 minutes walk.
8. The hosts can pick up and send you off to the main bus station on your arrival and departure if you ask.

Cons:

1. Quite far from old city (25-30mins with many steps). But it was easy to catch the No8 bus from a bus stop just outside the bakeries (3 minutes walk). A ticket costs 12Kuna from newsagent. It was a bit nearer to the harbour and main bus station (20 minutes walk and also a bit less steps). We used the bus from old city back to Jele’s on 2 evenings and the rest of time we walked and it was good to do so.
2. It could be a little difficult to find Jele’s if you were walking from the main bus station after your arrival from the airport. But people there were very friendly and helpful – an elderly lady took us almost all the way there as she was returning home from shopping!
3. There were 2 electric hobs in the kitchen but no oven/grill - so restricting the usefulness of the kitchen.
4. A few key utensils were lacking in the kitchen – bread knife, chopping board, decent sized bowls.
5. Quiet a number of the light bulbs were blown, should really be checked and replaced before the customers arrive.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay in Jele’s and Dubrovnik very much. The weather was excellent for mid October (after a couple of night rains at the beginning) and there were still people swimming in the sea! The day excursion to Montenegro (Perast, Kotoe, Budva, St Stafan) was interesting and the views were fantastic. The 3 island hopping boat trip was also very good. We received good discounts for booking both with an agent by harbour outside the old city wall (one should always ask about this anywhere). The half day trip to Cavtat by local bus (No 10, 45 minutes) was well worth doing.

If you don’t mind a bit of walking and are not looking for evening entertainment (clubs, discos..) and prefer moving around independently then I’d recommend Jele’s.

Room Tip: There were a couple more studio apartments above the street level, perhaps the views would be nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SC168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.6 mi away
Guesthouse Lile
Guesthouse Lile
#20 of 182 in Dubrovnik
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
S&L Guesthouse
S&L Guesthouse
#5 of 182 in Dubrovnik
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guesthouse Victoria
Guesthouse Victoria
#27 of 182 in Dubrovnik
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa Gloria
Villa Gloria
#12 of 182 in Dubrovnik
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Katarina Rooms
Katarina Rooms
#58 of 182 in Dubrovnik
20 reviews
0.9 mi away
Guest House Vulic
Guest House Vulic
#53 of 182 in Dubrovnik
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jele Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jele Rooms

Address: Stjepana Cvijica 1, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £32 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jele Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jele Rooms is a stone house with garden full of flowers and various domestic fruit.... It's located near the Port of Gruz and the main bus station. We are open all year around. Few rooms are with balcony, few are with terrace. Free of charge: Welcome drink, info and maps to navigate the city, towels, soap and bed linen, 24 hour hot shower, luggage storage, refrigerator, use of kitchen, use of outside barbecue, parking place, FREE INTERNET. Check in time is 00-24. Check out time is 10 00. All taxes are included in price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jele Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing